Saturday, October 23, 2010

Guest Post: John Edward author of Infinite Quest

John Edward, author of the book Infinite Quest: Develop Your Psychic Intuition to Take Charge of Your Life, stopped by to share with us a piece he wrote.



Love vs. Fear: Motivators for Change

By John Edward,
Author of Infinite QuestDevelop Your Psychic Intuition to Take Charge of Your Life

During these turbulent times there appears to be a greater polarity than ever before between two major energetic forces. Although you might assume at first that I am talking about Good vs. Evil, but the two motivating forces that I believe drives us are much more complex: Fear and Love. In my new book, Infinite Quest, I discuss "The Fear Principle" and "The Love Principle" at length in the hope that I can assist those who want to grow spiritually how to change the fear factor into a love dynamic. Fear is powerful motivational tool exploited by just about anyone who thinks they can profit from it including politicians, advertisers, the media, and even religious leaders. We are relentlessly inundated with these negative messages, and it affects us energetically, especially when we are not paying close attention.

Thankfully, love is an extremely potent motivating force as well, but somehow similar to the way good news often takes a back seat to bad news, fear tends to be louder, spreads quicker, and sells more. So what happens to your energetic wiring as you pick up and absorb the energy around you? Are you approaching life from a fear perspective, frequently trapped in worry or doubt? Or are you adopting a more panoramic loving view that is rooted in living intuitively from your heart? As you might imagine, flipping from an outlook based on fear to one based on love is not always easy and takes awareness and practice. The process can get even more complicated as you apply it to your everyday life. A person can have the best of intentions that originate from a place of love and yet quickly assume a fearful posture when confronted with anything out of their comfort zone.

I realize that fear is sometimes a very useful motivator and during moments of survival and crisis it is an instinct that can literally save your life. But as a general rule when I think about all the clients I have seen over the years, it is clear that fear tends to paralyze more than empower. The fear of failure and the fear of rejection are extremely potent deterrents, and although there are times when it is wise to heed these fears, more often than not they just stop you from reaching for your dreams. It is normal and healthy to weigh all our options and explore every opportunity or potential, both negative and positive.

False Evidence Appearing Real
The glitch in the system occurs when fear gets in the way and creates a blockage of some sort. When we stop our energy from flowing we become stagnant, just like putting a car in park. Some of us sit idle, perhaps waiting for something to happen, and then eventually run out of gas. The obstacle of being caught up in self-doubts or endless questioning is a game that people play with themselves. They are allowing fear to keep them void of a direction. Just move. Move in a direction and stick with it. Center yourself and listen to your heart.

There is no one right way to go about switching over to the Love Principle; it's a shift of perspective that will take some practice and patience, but if you try it out for a couple of weeks you will begin to see an amazing ripple effect. Make a game out of it by thinking of ways to reframe your fear into love. For example, perhaps you are fearful about the future of the planet and find yourself worrying about global warming and dwindling resources. Fear immobilizes you and has you inaccurately believing that there really isn't anything you can do.

But, Love wouldn't say that. Love rolls up its sleeves and looks for a way to help. Next thing you know you are volunteering to clean up a local park and meeting like-minded people that are making a positive difference in your community. Not only do you feel better about your neighborhood, you feel more empowered and connected with your heart, no longer alone and feeling hopeless. Where love is concerned the possibilities are endless.

The Power of Love
Being in control and creating balance in your life is key for your personal growth. Developing into the best YOU possible, and utilizing your intuition can help you to understand the energetic flow of the Universe and how it impacts your life. If you disconnect from the restrictive powers of The Fear Principle and shift your thinking, The Love Principle will begin to immediately transform within and therefore evolve all around you. When you find yourself on the brink of fear remind yourself: "I am surrounded by the white light of love and divine protection."

© 2010 John Edward
author of Infinite QuestDevelop Your Psychic Intuition to Take Charge of Your Life
 


About the book:

 Best-selling author John Edward has captivated audiences worldwide with his unique and powerful psychic skills. Now, in his long-awaited new book, he shows people how they too can tap into their psychic selves.

Infinite Quest will help readers to develop their intuition and renew their own latent powers, so they can confidently take chances and make choices. By following certain guidelines and intuition-building exercises, we can learn to get in touch with our Spirit Guides and identify the psychic energy around us on deeper levels. Edward also discusses how technology can work with our “sixth sense,” and explains how to use divination tools. Like his new eponymous website, Infinite Quest is truly a “portal to all things metaphysical.”


About the author:


John Edward, author of Infinite Quest: Develop Your Psychic Intuition to Take Charge of Your Life, is an internationally acclaimed psychic medium, author, and lecturer. On his internationally syndicated talk shows, Crossing Over with John Edward and John Edward Cross Country, he captivated audiences worldwide with his unique abilities to connect people with loved ones who have crossed over to the Other Side. John has appeared on many other talk shows, including the Today ShowOprah!, and The View, and has been a frequent guest on CNN's Larry King Live. He is a regular guest on morning radio, including New York's WPLJ and Los Angeles' KROQ. John has been featured in articles in the New York Times, the Los Angeles TimesPeople, and Entertainment Weekly. John is the author of several New York Times best-sellers, including Crossing Over: The Stories Behind the Stories and What if God Were the Sun? He conducts workshops and seminars around the world, and is the founder of the metaphysical website InfiniteQuest.com. John lives in New York with his family.

Please follow the author on Facebook and Twitter.





Friday, October 22, 2010

Review: How to Mellify a Corpse by Vicki Leon

In How to Mellify a Corpse, Vicki León brings her particular hybrid of history and humor to the entwined subjects of science and superstition in the ancient world, from Athens and Rome to Mesopotamia, the Holy Land, Egypt, and Carthage. León covers subjects as diverse as astronomy and astrology, philosophy and practicalities of life and death (including the titular ancient method of embalming), and ancient mechanical engineering. How to Mellify a Corpse of course invokes legendary thinkers (Pythagoras and his discoveries in math and music, Aristotle's books on politics and philosophy, and Archimedes' "Eureka" moment), but it also delves deeply into the lives of everyday people, their understanding and beliefs.

A feast for the curious mind, How to Mellify a Corpse is not only for those with an interest in the experimental: it's for anyone who's inspired by the imagination and ingenuity humanity uses to understand our world.


Received from the publisher for review.

This was originally a four star review until the author's irreverent attitude became unbearable as evidenced in this rude gem:

Rome's first aqueduct was built by a guy nicknamed Appius the Blind. An attempt at Roman humor? Possibly.

This one gets three stars. There were some genuinely interesting stories and lots of great illustrations that help you visualize the text but the author's vaguely condescending tone of "look at what these silly people thought" is more than a bit off-putting. Overall this is interesting, but not comprehensive. This is certainly not for those who have done any amount of study on the societies covered. This would make a nice gift for those mildly interested in the subject, but the book is thin on academic value so pass on it for more serious friends.

★★☆☆ = Liked It



Thursday, October 21, 2010

Guest Post: Linda Byler author of Running Around (and Such)

Linda Byler, author of the book Running Around (and Such): Lizzie Searches for Love, Book 1, stopped by to share with us a yummy recipe.



Whoopie Pies
By Linda Byler,
Author of Running Around (and Such): Lizzie Searches for Love, Book 1

Makes about 4 dozen whoopie pies 
2 cups sugar 
1 cup oil 
2 eggs 
4½ cups flour 
1 cup dry cocoa powder 
½ tsp. salt 
1 cup sour milk 
2 tsp. vanilla 
1 cup hot water 
2 tsp. baking soda 
FILLING: 
4 cups confectioners sugar, divided
2 egg whites, beaten 
1 tsp. vanilla 
½ cups vegetable shortening 
1. To make pies, cream sugar, oil and eggs together thoroughly in a large mixing bowl.

2. In a separate bowl, sift together flour, cocoa powder, and salt.

3. Add these dry ingredients to creamed mixture alternately with sour milk.

4. Stir in vanilla.

5. In a small bowl, dissolve baking soda in hot water.

6. Stir into batter until smooth.

7. Drop batter by rounded teaspoons onto cookie sheets.

8. Bake 8-10 minutes at 400º

9. Remove from oven and allow to cool.

10. While pie tops/bottoms are cooling, make Filling.

11. In a medium bowl fold 2 cups confectioners sugar into beaten egg whites.

12. Stir in 1 tsp. vanilla.

13. Beat in shortening until smooth.

14. Beat in remaining 2 cups confectioners sugar until smooth.

15. Assemble pies by spreading a dab of filling over a cooled bottom and topping it with a second cookie.

The above is an excerpt from the book Running Around (and Such): Lizzie Searches for Love, Book 1
 by Linda Byler. The above excerpt is a digitally scanned reproduction of text from print. Although this excerpt has been proofread, occasional errors may appear due to the scanning process. Please refer to the finished book for accuracy.

Reprinted from Running Around (and Such). Copyright © by Good Books (www.goodbooks.com). Used by permission. All rights reserved.  


About the author:

Linda Byler
 grew up Amish and is an active member of the Amish church today. Growing up, Linda loved to read and write. In fact, she still does. She is well known within the Amish community as a columnist for a weekly Amish newspaper. Linda and her husband, their children, and grandchildren live in central Pennsylvania.

For more information please visit www.goodbooks.com.




About the book:

A romance novel by an Amish writer, based on true experiences! It isn't that Lizzie doesn't want to stay Amish. There is just so much to figure out. What will become of Lizzie? Is she too spirited, too innocent and almost too uninhibited to be a young Amish woman?








Wednesday, October 20, 2010

Review: Rasputin's Legacy by Troy Matthew Carnes

What if the two most ruthless mass murderers in history wanted you dead?

Giorgi Lazarov is only a young boy, but he can predict the future. Until recently, only one person on earth knew that Giorgi's remarkable gift was passed down from his famous grandfather Grigori Rasputin. But now the two most dangerous men in the world know of his special power.Adolf Hitler learns of him through SS Reichsführer Heinrich Himmler's most gifted witch, and Joseph Stalin finds out when an insane prostitute languishing in an asylum claims to have borne Rasputin's child. She is in fact Giorgi's grandmother.

Now,as the Nazi war machine invades the Soviet Union, launching the bloodiest conflict in human history, both Hitler and Stalin want him desperately. They send their most capable assassins to find the boy and either claim his power for their cause or make certain that he does not live to be used against them.When the Germans capture his village, Giorgi is separated from his parents, and he finds himself in a world of madness and utter evil where it seems there are only killers and corpses.

The people of the Ukraine can see no hope for salvation, but Giorgi can see everything...


Received from the author for review.

I've always been fascinating by czarist Russia and I enjoy historical fiction so this immediately intrigued me and I was not disappointed!

This one gets four stars.  It was beautifully written and draws you right in and keeps you engrossed.  I kept thinking "Just one more chapter!" and looking up a hour and many chapters later as if no time had passed at all.  The entire story felt very real, with an almost non-fiction quality to it.  You could almost believe that it might have happened.   Although the text is incredibly densely packed in this 425 page tome - think Stephen King's The Stand - it is well worth the time investment.  The Russian names were a bit difficult and distracting at first, and the German names a bit more familiar, but you quickly adjust as you are drawn into the story.  I was surprised that this beautifully written, detail rich story was the author's first book.  It is a wonderful read and I am certainly looking forward to the author's future works.  This is definitely highly recommended!

★★★★ = Really Liked It



Tuesday, October 19, 2010

Review: The Key of Life by Randolph J. Rogers

"The Key of Life" is a true story about who we are, why we are here and how we are all connected. This thought-provoking book inspires readers to interpret the synchronicities in their own lives, as author Randy Rogers takes you along on his riveting journey investigating past lives, present events and reincarnation. Randy proves that "ordinary" people can experience the extraordinary when they open themselves to the possibilities.

What if you could clearly read the "signs" that are constantly surrounding us and in the process unlock the meaning of life - present, past and future? "The Key of Life" will open that door for you!


Received from the publicist for review.

This one gets four stars.  It was extremely well written and immediately draws you right in and keeps you engrossed throughout.  You definitely have to be open to reincarnation and general spirituality to read this and you simply must check your reservations at the door.  I found it quite fascinating and genuinely enjoyable.  It does purport to be a true story, which one can choose to believe or not.  Regardless of the fact or fiction of the story it is well worth a read for those even remotely interested in subjects such as reincarnation, energy fields, and synchronicity.

★★★★ = Really Liked It



Monday, October 18, 2010

Review: Confessions of an Ex-Gun Dealer by Ludwig Sawicki

An entertaining look into both sides of the glass counter in a gun store, CONFESSIONS OF AN EX-GUN DEALER details the memoirs of Ludwig Sawicki who, in the 1980s owned one of the largest gun stores in the United States. Here you will meet memorable characters such as Uncle Al, Bull Frog Bob, Adolph the eccentric gunsmith, and Charlie of the blow-up doll fame. You will relive along with Ludwig and his friends the hunting trips in search of big game and the safari trips to Africa. You will learn the inner workings of a Chicago gun store what it takes to start one and how to keep it running the various guns that have passed over the counter and the people who bought and sold them. Here are the fascinating details of a gun store that was not only a place of business but also a "home away from home" for a number of interesting people-all of whom make for entertaining read. You will come away with a truer understanding of the inner workings of an institution that does not exist much anymore-the truly personal gun store, its proprietor, and its many patrons. As Ludwig says, "Long story. Short...."


Received from the publisher for review.

As I am quite obviously not a plaid wearing NRA member I wasn't sure if this was for me and I was right.  The world is simply completely foreign to me and actually quite repulsive.  The culture shock was on par with an episode of Wife Swap and the pictures of dead animals, shot not for food but for sport sickened me. 

This one gets three stars.  Despite the subject matter the presentation and quality of the narrative was good.  It was well written and the numerous photos were a nice addition to the text.  I cannot agree with the subject matter, but the quality of the book itself was good.  Unless you are a gun aficionado or a hunter this is simply not for you.

★★☆☆ = Liked It



Sunday, October 17, 2010

Guest Post: John Edward author of Infinite Quest

John Edward, author of Infinite Quest, stopped by with an article he wrote.



Five Ways to Create and Manifest Positive Change
By John Edward,
Author of Infinite QuestDevelop Your Psychic Intuition to Take Charge of Your Life

When I first started doing psychic readings for clients, my grandmother used to get so frustrated when she would hear me say to my clients that they didn't need to see me, because they could learn to pay attention to the signs and symbols all around them, instead. I often suggested that they study metaphysics, meditate, or just learn to listen to their own intuition. My grandmother would exclaim, "Why are you saying that? You are not going to have any business!" I always laughed because I believed that it was my responsibility to pass this message of self-empowerment on to my clients. I can't help but smile to think what she would say now [twenty-five years later] about my latest book, Infinite Quest, in which I share how to develop their own intuition. Bearing in mind I am only a teacher, I can't change your life. You must create and manifest that positive change. How? My guess is that you instinctively already know, but tapping into that knowledge is the key. Here are a few suggestions to get your intuition flowing.

1. Update Your Attitude

I know some of you are rolling your eyes right now, but even though it sounds so simple, changing your attitude can be tricky for everyone at some point in their lives. In fact, many people never seem to be able to break free from outdated or negative thought patterns. Observe your reactions and pay attention to the messages you give yourself and others. You might be surprised at how often you criticize yourself, or how much energy you waste worrying about what will go wrong. Decide to make a conscious change in attitude. and then practice, practice, practice. Look for the adventure out of every experience and encounter. Live passionately and be a force for the universe to use.

2. Take Back the Remote Control

What are you watching on your mind's TV? What songs are you singing internally? What old tapes are still playing from your childhood? It's critical to be aware of the ways you are programming your mind, consciously and unconsciously. Turn off the news if you find yourself getting upset, stop watching violent shows before you go to sleep, and kindly excuse yourself from the office gossip. Start programming in your mind's eye what you really enjoy and want for your life. You are the writer, director, and star of the show. Program your station with positive affirmations, songs of joy, visions of a fulfilling future, and things that make you laugh.

3. Law of Attraction: The Boomerang Effect


Think of it like this: Like attracts Like. For example you are stuck in a negative thought pattern then [unfortunately] until you change it, more negativity will follow. You will start to find that that there will be people in your life who are willing to confirm or exploit your fears. Raise your energetic vibration and attract more positive energy. Look for the best in the people you meet, your experiences, and maybe most importantly, yourself. Instead of listing all that is wrong with something or someone, name three things that are right. The more effort you put into this lifetime the more you will extrapolate from it. Don't ever forget, whatever you send out energetically will find its way back to you.

4. Honor What You Feel Not What You Fear


I am not saying to deny the feeling of fear and pretend it is not present; instead I am suggesting that you embrace it and then let the fear go and move forward. Choose to use The Love Principle as much as possible. Keep in mind that Fear paralyzes and Love empowers. You could worry that your spouse might cheat on you and then unintentionally, create an atmosphere of suspicion, or you can focus on building a marriage that is full of honesty and trust, giving the relationship the best possible chances for success. Remember, Fear is just False Evidence Appearing Real. Focus on the love you feel and not the fear.

5. The Power of Meditation and Prayer

Meditation is enormously important in the process of your psychic development and evolution. It is an essential tool to assist you in creating a life that is centered and balanced, which is the key to achieving your spiritual goals.

Practicing daily meditation can help you release stress and negativity on a conscious as well as an unconscious level. It relaxes the physical body and teaches the mind to focus for a specific period of time. When you can focus, then it is much easier to visualize--which is the basis for creating your own reality. Don't panic, it can be as simple as five minutes in the shower, a ten-minute walk in the woods, or even three minutes before you run out the door; just do it at least once a day. It helps you to build a strong foundation by raising your vibration and enabling you to be in the essence of your spirit. It allows you to quiet the physical body, work from your higher self, and open up to higher planes of energy and consciousness. The power and healing energy of prayer is something I believe in quite strongly and encourage you to include in your meditation time.

Keep in mind that you don't need to look outside yourself for what you already have within. The ultimate goal is to live a psychic life every day and to use that newfound recognition to take chances and make choices with confidence.

© 2010 John Edward
author of Infinite QuestDevelop Your Psychic Intuition to Take Charge of Your Life


 About the book:

 Best-selling author John Edward has captivated audiences worldwide with his unique and powerful psychic skills. Now, in his long-awaited new book, he shows people how they too can tap into their psychic selves.

Infinite Quest will help readers to develop their intuition and renew their own latent powers, so they can confidently take chances and make choices. By following certain guidelines and intuition-building exercises, we can learn to get in touch with our Spirit Guides and identify the psychic energy around us on deeper levels. Edward also discusses how technology can work with our “sixth sense,” and explains how to use divination tools. Like his new eponymous website, Infinite Quest is truly a “portal to all things metaphysical.”



About the author:

John Edward, author of Infinite Quest: Develop Your Psychic Intuition to Take Charge of Your Life, is an internationally acclaimed psychic medium, author, and lecturer. On his internationally syndicated talk shows, Crossing Over with John Edward and John Edward Cross Country, he captivated audiences worldwide with his unique abilities to connect people with loved ones who have crossed over to the Other Side. John has appeared on many other talk shows, including the Today ShowOprah!, and The View, and has been a frequent guest on CNN's Larry King Live. He is a regular guest on morning radio, including New York's WPLJ and Los Angeles' KROQ. John has been featured in articles in the New York Times, the Los Angeles TimesPeople, and Entertainment Weekly. John is the author of several New York Times best-sellers, including Crossing Over: The Stories Behind the Stories and What if God Were the Sun? He conducts workshops and seminars around the world, and is the founder of the metaphysical website InfiniteQuest.com. John lives in New York with his family.

Please follow the author on Facebook and Twitter.




Saturday, October 16, 2010

Review: Sustainability by Stuart W. Rose, Ph.D.

Sustainability, by Stuart W. Rose, Ph.D., describes the massive changes happening in the world, an example of a sustainable housing project, and a vision of what sustainable living will be. An architect and developer of what many consider the most sustainable housing development in the U.S., Rose introduces the exciting, ever-changing world of sustainability, a way of life that includes creating homes and communities with materials that do no harm to, and take nothing away from, the earth's resources. He reveals how sustainable living goes beyond being ecologically and financially friendly, while saving on utility bills, and leads to a different, yet more joyful quality of life. Also fascinating is the author's recounting of architectural developments leading to his innovations, such as Garden Atriums evolving from a design created 2,500 years ago. Rose has created a book that is as much an adventure as it is encouragement for everyone desiring to live a sustainable and more fulfilling life.


Received from the publicist for review.

This one gets four stars.  It was a genuinely educational discussion of the author's ideas.  While some of the statistics used were An Inconvenient Truth worthy scary, the overall message was one of hope and positivity.  While, of course, I didn't agree with all the author's suggestions there were a great deal of useful ideas that one could implement based on his or her own level of desire for living a sustainable lifestyle.  This is certainly recommended for those looking into living a more Earth-friendly lifestyle.


★★★★ = Really Liked It



FYI: Pending Posts

I'm doing some Fall cleaning of my post drafts and such today and noticed several posts that I were scheduled but never posted, so I'll be posting those today.  You may see a bunch of posts over the next day or so and then I'll be all caught up and the queue all cleaned out.

Thanks for your understanding!



Tuesday, October 5, 2010

Blog Updates

I'm making a few minor changes around the blog just to streamline things.  One of which is a minor name change to Beth's Book Reviews.  It seemed sort of redundant to have the Blog bit in the name.  I will be updating the header in the next few days to reflect this name change.

Obviously this in no way should affect your enjoyment of the blog and I expect the changes should be made with minimal down time.

Thanks for your support!



Saturday, October 2, 2010

Review: Running Around (and Such) by Linda Byler

A romance novel by an Amish writer, based on true experiences! It isn't that Lizzie doesn't want to stay Amish. There is just so much to figure out. What will become of Lizzie? Is she too spirited, too innocent and almost too uninhibited to be a young Amish woman?


Received from the publicist for review.

This one gets four stars. It was a cute little book with a nice story that was well told and easy to read. Although I obviously couldn't identify with that world the author made it accessible. This lighter romance, on par with a Love Inspired book, leaves you with a warm fuzzy feel. I'm looking forward to future books from the author. It is certainly recommended for fans of Christian fiction.

★★★★ = Really Liked It



Friday, October 1, 2010

Review: The Classics by Caroline Taggart

The thought of ancient civilizations is enough to make anyone groan. Between long hours of tedious mathematics and years of droning Latin classes, it's no wonder that the Greek and Roman societies are most often thought of as dull subjects from school. The Classics, however, flips this long-standing opinion on its head, revealing the clever humor and impressive technological and scientific advancements made by these societies. Between the ninth century B.C. and the seventh century A.D., these great civilizations thrived, leaving behind a legacy felt in every part of the world-from language to medicine, from art to architecture. 

The Classics lets you understand the importance of...
  • The Greek alphabet, from alpha to omega  
  • The history and characteristics that define Greek and Roman architecture and its influence on modern building 
  • Greek and Latin words, which make up more than 30 percent of the words in the English language, and how you can build your vocabulary by learning the roots  
  • The Greek and Roman gods, the mythology surrounding them, and the part these figures play in our culture  
  • Almost 1,000 years of Greek and Roman history, from the birth of democracy to Caesar's empire
  • The philosophies taught by Socrates, Plato, and Aristotle and what their ideas have contributed to the world we live in today  
  • How the modern cultural staples such as the Olympics were formed by classical literature, written by authors such as Homer and Cicero-what happened, what does it mean, and why is it still being read and taught today  
  • And much more!
This concise and witty text makes both a fascinating introduction to the world that became the foundation for Western Civilization and the perfect refresher course for the individual looking to brush up on years of schooling. The Classics puts the same information available in volumes of stuffy textbooks at your fingertips in one entertaining read, guaranteed to inform and delight.


Received from the publicist for review.

I was thrilled to receive this for review since I just love these valuable books from the Reader's Digest series!

This was simply packed with genuinely useful information about the classics - things that you either never learned or forgot quickly because they weren't made interesting enough to retain past exam tine.

The section on the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World was especially fun to read. Just as an FYI, the only one still standing is the Great Pyramid in Egypt.

This one gets four stars. It was a genuinely educational book and I learned quite a bit. It was presented in clear, concise language which makes the subject accessible to all those interested. The chapters are broken into smaller sections which makes it incredibly easy to pick it up, read a bit, and not lose your file when you take a break. This would make a great gift for someone interested in the subject or for a student struggling with his or her classical studies.

★★★★ = Really Liked It



Review: Cats 247 by Rick Smolan and David Elliot Cohen

Cats 24/7 each collects more than 500 intimate, funny, and charming photographs taken by professional and amateur photographers. Here are our four-legged companions at their best, up close and personal in small towns and big cities, farms and parks, kitchens and living rooms. Combining great pictures, compelling stories, and insightful essays, this lavish volume is a fitting tribute to our feline friends.




From the library.

I found this quote from the book especially interesting and it left me praising karma for the ignorant bastards dying after murdering innocent, defenseless animals!


During Europe's Middle Ages, the shoe was on the other paw.  No longer gods, cats became scapegoats, demons even, and were slaughtered by the thousands as witch's familiars.  Fewer cats meant more rats; with flea-bearing rodent populations unchecked, and estimated 20 million Europeans died of the Black Death in the 14th century.

This one gets three stars.  This was amusing at times, sad at others, and certainly not for real cat lovers.  These people may care for their cats but they don't really love them.  You can just tell.  The photographs were lovely, with my favorites being He's Naked!, Jarhead, Book Lover, Bunny Love, Eskimo Kisses, and Back-Door Buddies.  Really, this would have been four stars for the quality of the photographs, but for the anecdotes from the stupid, annoying owners.

★★☆☆ = Liked It