Monday, November 28, 2011

Giveaway Reminder: Beth's Book Reviews Bookmarks

This is your weekly reminder to enter if you haven't yet.

I wanted to share a little something with my readers so I ordered some bookmarks.  They came out super cute, if I do say so myself.

I'll be giving away one a week to a random reader who enters his or her name in the nifty little form below.

This is an ongoing giveaway so you can enter at any time and you only need to enter once!

The contest is only open to readers with a US mailing address (but it can be a PO Box!)









Sunday, November 27, 2011

Featured Book: My Blood Runs Blue by Stacy Eaton



My Blood Runs BlueOfficer Kristin Greene has always felt that something was missing from her life. Although her job with the Fawn Hollow Township Police Department keeps her busy, she still feels like there is something else out there for her. She soon finds herself investigating a homicide where a young woman has had her throat ripped out. As she begins to dig for the answers, she finds herself thrown into a world she didn’t know ever existed. When the two strong and silent men walk into her life, she finds herself being pulled into a love triangle that has been going on longer then she has been alive. Who are they and why do they keep calling her Calista? Join Kristin as she fights to learn the truth about the recent murder, the two seductive men who have entered into her life and the real truth about herself.




About the author:

The author Stacy Eaton is a police officer and business owner. She lives in Pennsylvania with her husband, two children and her dogs, Dakota and Garda. She is an avid photographer and enjoys reading and community service.




Monday, November 21, 2011

Giveaway Reminder: Beth's Book Reviews Bookmarks

This is your weekly reminder to enter if you haven't yet.

I wanted to share a little something with my readers so I ordered some bookmarks.  They came out super cute, if I do say so myself.

I'll be giving away one a week to a random reader who enters his or her name in the nifty little form below.

This is an ongoing giveaway so you can enter at any time and you only need to enter once!

The contest is only open to readers with a US mailing address (but it can be a PO Box!)









Sunday, November 20, 2011

Featured Book: How to Live the Good Life by Arthur Jackson



How to Live the Good Life: A User's Guide for Modern HumansA note of caution: This is not an easy read. Nor is it for the detached, uninvolved person.

The author invites readers to accompany him on a journey of self-discovery, and provides a road map to boot, rarely presented in such a clear and comprehensive way. The breadth and depth of Arthur Jackson’s knowledge and experience become obvious early on as he presents a plethora of views from well-known and lesser-known philosophers, psychiatrists, psychologists, mathematicians, and others who influenced modern Western ideologies…. This is a compendium of knowledge and insight nonpareil—truly a masterwork!

—Adrienne Juliano, member, Foundation for Mind-Being Research

Arthur Jackson’s book is the product of his 40-year struggle to find a naturalistic alternative to traditional folk religions (like Christianity, Judaism, Hinduism) capable of providing comparable emotional support. This effort led to what is now recognized as a Science of Religion and Ethics—a religion of wisdom providing guidance to any person interested in making moral and ethical choices. “I believe that until a concrete science of religion and ethics exists and organizations to apply its findings, humanity will continue to struggle to create these things.”

How to Live the Good Life is a fascinating and eye-opening guide aimed at helping people experience more joy and achieving their full, positive potential.



About the author:

Arthur M. Jackson was born in Oregon and currently resides in San Jose, California.

He holds a BS from Oregon State University and a Master of Education from the University of Oregon.

He has been active in the American Humanist Association for over 40 years and has been serving in various administrative capacities ever since.




Monday, November 14, 2011

Giveaway Reminder: Beth's Book Reviews Bookmarks

This is your weekly reminder to enter if you haven't yet.

I wanted to share a little something with my readers so I ordered some bookmarks.  They came out super cute, if I do say so myself.

I'll be giving away one a week to a random reader who enters his or her name in the nifty little form below.

This is an ongoing giveaway so you can enter at any time and you only need to enter once!

The contest is only open to readers with a US mailing address (but it can be a PO Box!)









Sunday, November 13, 2011

Featured Book: When Brooklyn Was Heaven by Stan Levenson



When Brooklyn Was Heaven: A Memoir From Brooklyn to L.A. and Places In-BetweenStan Levenson was a poor, fatherless kid with few aspirations during the Great Depression and World War II – aside from getting into trouble. So it might come as a big surprise that this self-described “goof-off” went on to make an international name for himself helping school districts around the world reap millions of dollars. When Brooklyn Was Heaven lovingly chronicles a 30-year (1931-61) journey through Brooklyn neighborhoods rich in history and culture, the Borscht Belt of the Catskills, small college towns in upstate New York, military duty in the United States Navy, and a lifestyle that crisscrossed a continent and the globe. Through determination and chutzpah, Levenson graduated from one of the roughest vocational high schools in New York City, attended college, earned advanced degrees including a Ph.D., and transformed fundraising in the public schools. But not before playing the lead in a number of memorable misadventures. A vividly detailed portrait of stickball games, scrap-metal drives, Coney Island capers, Catskill mountain highs, college classics, awkward gropes, Naval adventures, L.A. dreaming, and sheer grit. When Brooklyn Was Heaven is a must read for anyone with a New York connection, those who are fascinated by this joyful place, and all others who are intrigued by the places in-between.








About the author:

Fundraising guru Stan Levenson is the author of four books on education, including Big-Time Fundraising for Today’s Schools (Corwin Press, 2007), How to Get Grants and Gifts for the Public Schools (Allyn & Bacon, 2002), Readings in Foreign Languages for the Elementary School (Blaisdell/Ginn) and Exciting Bulletin Board Ideas for Reading and Language Arts (T.S. Denison and Co.). His articles have appeared in American School Board Journal, Principal Leadership, The School Administrator, TESOL Quarterly and more. He holds a Bachelor of Science degree from the State University of New York at Oswego, a master’s degree in School Administration from U.C.L.A., and a Ph.D. in Leadership and Human Behavior from United States International University (now Alliant International University) in San Diego. Levenson lives in San Diego with his wife Kay Pantelis. Visit him on the Web at www.stanlevenson.com.




Monday, November 7, 2011

Giveaway Reminder: Beth's Book Reviews Bookmarks

This is your weekly reminder to enter if you haven't yet.

I wanted to share a little something with my readers so I ordered some bookmarks.  They came out super cute, if I do say so myself.

I'll be giving away one a week to a random reader who enters his or her name in the nifty little form below.

This is an ongoing giveaway so you can enter at any time and you only need to enter once!

The contest is only open to readers with a US mailing address (but it can be a PO Box!)









Sunday, November 6, 2011

Featured Book: Utopia Texas by Betty Byrd



Utopia TexasAuthor Betty Byrd has seen it all-including drilling her very own oil well! She now brings her unique vision and experience to Utopia Texas, a riveting tale of Brya Harrison, a woman created by chance and circumstance. Part gambler, part geologist, Brya knows that in the West Texas oil country upbringing may not matter, but status is everything. She has worked hard to secure her position, but she finds her plans unravel when she discovers that her daughter, Olivia, is somehow "different," and is forced to face the unfathomable-one startling revelation at a time. Drawn into a maelstrom of events fueled by her daughter's indiscretions, Brya sets out to cover each one up-whatever the cost. But will she be able to combat the demons plaguing her daughter as skillfully as she is able to face down her competition in the cutthroat world of big oil?

In this stunning followup to the author's debut novel, Trinity's Daughter, Betty Byrd has woven a brilliant tale of wealth, greed, love, and the pursuit of power-and how one particular woman holds her own in the male-dominated oil business.











About the author:

Betty Byrd is one cat that has truly lived nine lives. The first life was that of a jock, where Betty found herself excelling as a competitive swimmer, field hockey player and cheerleader. Through college, she began to realize that her creativity was too strong to ignore. After graduating from the University of Arizona with a Creative Writing degree, Betty packed up her cowgirl life and headed to Ohio to pursue graduate work at Ohio State University. She put her degree to use quickly when she landed jobs as an editor for The Spectator, Ohio’s largest weekly newspaper, and freelancing for a national men’s magazine. After having some success as a writer, Betty yearned for another creative outlet, that of a performing artist. Blonde locks in tow, she left her mid-west roots for Southern California. Hollywood took a liking to the spunky blonde actress who’s resume includes a role on the television series Gunsmoke, as well as featured roles in numerous films, mini-series, and commercials. Betty took a bow as the curtain closed on her acting career when she decided to take on the hardest challenge yet, that of a mom. Once her daughter was in high school, Betty once again felt that creative itch. This time she picked up a pen and returned to writing. Her first novel titled, Trinity’s Daughter, was well-received as she traveled throughout America on a book tour and was honored back at home in San Diego. She is also a recipient of a first place award for her new novel, Utopia, Texas at the prestigious Santa Barbara Writer’s Conference. She is still featured in newspapers, television and radio talk shows, although now as an established author.

Betty Byrd contently lives in San Diego with her husband and German Shepherd, constantly creating and never letting the pen leave the page.

To learn more about Betty Byrd and her upcoming projects and events, visit her on the Web at bettybyrd.com