Tuesday, July 3, 2012

Review: Devil's Hand by M.E. Patterson

A Las Vegas poker ace with supernatural luck is swept into a world-ending conflict between fallen angels and otherworldly shades, in a thrilling debut novel for readers who enjoy Dean Koontz, Jim Butcher, and Tim Powers.

The lone survivor of a tragic plane crash, Trent Hawkins inherited a mysterious lucky streak that made him famous, and hated, in the poker circles of the City of Sin. It wasn't long before the eyes in the sky threw him on the blacklist and chased him out of town. Now, after years away, Trent returns to Las Vegas, and walks right back into trouble.

As a serial kidnapper terrorizes the city, Trent and his wife, Susan, rescue a strange, thirteen year-old girl, only to find themselves caught in a fallen angel's plot to cleanse Las Vegas with an unholy blizzard.

As the neon dims and the city freezes, Trent is forced to make terrible sacrifices in order to protect his new charge, and learns dark truths about himself and the creatures plotting against mankind. Poker-playing demons, fallen angels, and otherworldly shades all vie to enlist his strange luck, and Trent must choose his role in the coming War, or watch our world fall to ruin beneath a blanket of shadow and ice.



Received for review.

This was frankly quite unusual. The story was a bit complex (religion plus Vegas) but it was quite well written with a nice flow. I didn't particularly care for or about the characters as individuals but they served their purposes well.

Overall this relatively quick read is a solid start to the author's promising career and I recommend it to those looking for something a bit different. I look forward to reading future releases by the author.

★★☆☆ = Liked It



1 comments:

Ryan said...

Not sure if this is something I would have normally picked up, but color me curious. Thanks for the review.

Post a Comment