Sunday, August 25, 2013

Review: Uptown Girl by Holly Kinsella

Emma Hastings has it all - a successful career as a fashion model, a flat in Kensington and now she may have even found her leading man, the wealthy and charming Jason Rothschild who ticks all the right boxes.

Her days are filled with photo shoots and shopping trips. Her evenings are spent at dinners and glamorous launch parties.

She is seemingly living the dream.

But dreams can so often turn into nightmares.

After a number of chance encounters with the car mechanic William Flynn, Emma starts to evaluate what it means to truly live and love.

'Uptown Girl' is a romantic comedy full of womanly wit and wisdom.

For fans of Jane Green, Jane Austen - and Billy Joel!



E-galley received for review.

A rich London fashion model with boy problems may sound like a tough sell, but the author pulls it off brilliantly in this novella!

This light, fluffy, yet heartfelt romantic comedy feels like the missing London Sex and the City cousin. It is well written with an insightful, intelligent style. The characters, while one may not want to meet them in real life, are believable and quite well developed for such a brief work.

As a bonus, it is also short enough to read in a single sitting if desired, or the short chapters provide convenient pausing points.

Overall I was quite impressed with this new addition to the Chick Lit genre and look forward to future releases from the author. If you're looking for a fast, fun read, this is an excellent choice.

★★★★ = Really Liked It



0 comments:

Post a Comment