Wednesday, December 31, 2014

Review: Bread Revolution by Peter Reinhart

Renowned baking author and instructor Peter Reinhart has always been on the forefront of the bread movement—from his seminal work, The Bread Baker’s Apprentice, to today. In Bread Revolution, he explores the cutting-edge developments in bread baking, with fifty recipes and formulas that use sprouted flours, whole and ancient grains, nut and seed flours, alternative flours (such as teff and grape skin), and allergy-friendly and gluten-free approaches.

A new generation of bakers and millers are developing innovative flours and baking techniques that are designed to extract the grain’s full flavor potential—what Reinhart calls “the baker’s mission.” In this lushly photographed primer, Reinhart draws inspiration from these groundbreaking methods to create master recipes and formulas any home baker can follow, including Sprouted Sandwich Rye Bread, Gluten-Free Many-Seed Toasting Bread, and Sprouted Wheat Croissants.

In many instances, such as with sprouted flours, preferments aren’t necessary because so much of the flavor development occurs during the sprouting phase. For grains that benefit from soakers, bigas, and sourdough starters, Reinhart provides the precise guidance that has made him such a trusted expert in the field.

Advanced bakers will relish Reinhart’s inventive techniques and exacting scientific explanations, while beginning bakers will rejoice in his demystification of ingredients and methods—and all will come away thrilled by bread’s new frontier.



Received for review.

Admittedly I'm not one for sprouted anything but I simply cannot pass up a cookbook when I see one, especially one about bread, so I was excited to get right into this.

This is certainly not for traditional bread bakers who will be horrified to see many French breads "improved" with the use of sprouted and whole grains.  I almost fainted myself when I saw the recipe for Sprouted Wheat Croissants.  That just seems cruel to me to do that to a perfectly innocent croissant.  There is also copious use of sourdough starter.  So, this is certainly a shock for many bakers.

The recipes themselves are very "crunchy granola", but seem to be still edible, if only marginally so.  There are lots of seeds involved, as well as agave syrup and other non traditional ingredients.  There are also numerous gluten free recipes which will be welcome for those with dietary restrictions.

Overall, this was an enlightening read.  I don't feel particularly compelled to make any of the recipes, but the pictures were beautiful and the recipes well written and easy to understand.  If you're looking for a non-traditional bread baking book this is it.  It would also make a lovely gift for those who enjoy alternative bread options.

★★★★ = Really Liked It



*This post may contain affiliate links*



Friday, December 19, 2014

Featured Book: It Takes a Fool by Sasha Dreams



About the book:

Life couldn't be sweeter for ten year old Sasha...

She's the darling of her fifth grade class and her best friend always has her back... just like a sister. But simmering beneath the beautiful life are the dark secrets her parents harbor, secrets that slowly wind their way around the heart of the family, choking the life from Sasha. Helpless, afraid and alone, she fights the only way she can but her desperate quest for survival could lead to her own destruction!

It Takes a Fool explores the darkest depths of poverty, addiction and bullying, and how even the innocence of a child can be twisted into something monstrous. Sasha will do all she can to survive a nightmare she can't wake up from, but in protecting herself, she might just destroy everyone around her.



About the author:

Sasha Dreams is a no one from nowhere, pregnant with dreams. She dreams of hope, ambition, fulfillment and success. Sasha has learned from the mistakes of her childhood and transformed her weaknesses into strengths. Sasha believes wholeheartedly that writing is healing. At times throughout her writing process it was painful, but now that the tears have dried and the past forgiven, a horribly beautiful story has emerged. Follow Sasha on her journey as a writer, business woman, wife, daughter, sister, mother, and friend. Watch as her dreams come true.



Thursday, December 18, 2014

Featured Book: Angel Guides by Jan Porter



About the book:

Your Angel Guides are waiting to formally meet you! Communicate and allow your Angel Guides to flow comfort, love, insights and inspiration. A wonderful life path and to fulfill your soul’s purpose, is your birthright. The best of your ancestors and the magic of the cosmos is in your DNA! 

Table of Contents:

  • Introduction 
  • Chapter 1. Your Happiness Is Sacred: Sacred Space, Your happiness is sacred 
  • Chapter 2. Spirit World Power: Stress management ~ Journaling ~ Expect good changes ~ Sharing your story ~ Stuck points and new skills ~ Higher healing concept ~ Forgiveness ~ Responsibility ~ Fear and adversity 
  • Chapter 3. Earth Angel 101: Let go and uplift ~ Soul purpose 
  • Chapter 4. The bigger picture: Angel Love ~ Good feelings versus bad feelings ~ Information and the power of thought ~ Sacred space ~ Free your mind and spirit ~ Grief ~ Addictions ~ Relationships ~ Sex versus lovemaking ~ Assertive personal power ~ Personal responsibility and control issues ~ Spiritual guide; from stress to happy 
  • Chapter 5. Soul Boosters: Soul boosters ~ Self-awareness ~ Treasure hunt ~ Affirmations ~ Intuition and spiritual principles ~ The power of love ~ Toward a better life ~ Goal setting ~ Spiritual growth 
  • Chapter 6. Angel Guide Journey: Overview; connecting divine flow and communing with Ancestors, Guides and Angels ~ Prayer invocation ~ Guided meditation journey 
  • Chapter 7. Alternative Resources, Bibliography, Author’s Bibliography, Other Books, Note.





About the author:

Jan Porter finds the magic of the past and cosmos within every day human conditions to share with you. A philosophical ponderer of human nature, quantum physics, spirit world, nature and of the cosmos, hence she does not hold to any one particular tradition as a one higher truth or one size fits all. Viva la diversity! Jan aims to share thought provoking human conditions, touch on that bigger picture of spirituality, mystical, ancient traditions or quantum physics to offer you your soul freedom through the ancient art of storytelling; real people, unsung unlikely heroes and a touch of the magical.

www.inspiredsoulworks.com




Wednesday, December 17, 2014

Featured Book: Soul Skin by Jan Porter



About the book:

Soul Skin
1000 lifetimes, 100 sacred dream journeys,


A journey, with a life of its own

'Soul Skin' is one of those books that you wish would never end. like a 3D movie on the inside of your eyelids. You read, stop, digest, and are hungry for more.

"Mid life crisis Navi communes with her dead Grandmother and a mysterious soul skin man. Doomed to marital heartbreak, she clumsily follows a shamanic path, all the while coping with a child's cancer, spirit world intrusion, church doctrine, menopause, a dark shadow nemesis, and job loss. All of these,rudely slamming her into a dark night of the soul.

Sacred ancient sisterhood teachings via dream journeys ensue in a Nazi death camp, a pre-civil war deep south, early indigenous North America, and as Joan of Arc. Also, as audience with Lord Byron and as a wolf mate.

Navi explores life in a thought provoking and amusing commentary of social, cultural and religious ideals, allstirring controversy.It is the love of daughter, Gran, nature and soul skin man that carries her forward."

There is a naturally evolving powerful force of self-love, honour and intuition


Within each and every one of us there is a naturally evolving powerful force of self-love, honour and intuition. It is an inner wise consulting intuitive soul compass that when followed, naturally flows divine love, inspiration, passion and creativity. An individual's spiritual journey is as unique as a fingerprint and holds no ties to one faith, path, culture, modality or era. Yet, like the mysterious powerful forces and will power that is threaded throughout Navi’s journey, it is our individual connection to our own soul and spirit that ultimately, when we open our minds and allow, makes us 'One' with each other and the all that is."






About the author:

I find the magic of the past and cosmos within every day unsung heroes, sheroes and the human condition to share with you. I am a philosophical ponderer of human nature, quantum physics, spirit world, nature and of the cosmos, hence I do not hold to any one particular tradition as a one higher truth or one size fits all. I aim to share thought provoking human conditions, touch on that bigger picture of spirituality, mystical, ancient traditions or quantum physics through the ancient art of storytelling; real people, unsung unlikely heroes and a touch of the magical.

www.inspiredsoulworks.com



Monday, December 15, 2014

Featured Book: Sacred Space by Jan Porter



About the book:

The Sexual Abuse Survivor’s Sacred Space

An Inspiring Body Mind Soul Guide for Healing of Sexual Abuse.
Dedicated to all of those who seek healing, wholeness and inner peace from sexual abuse and for those who support and care for them. The author's sensitivity for healing of sexual abuse journey, includes soul freeing insights, perspective, tips and resources for overcoming sexual abuse, case samples. The philosophical spiritual insights are integrated with the healing path with reference to modern science.

Gain comfort and peace of mind

The journey out of the pain of sexual abuse to wholeness is in boldly allowing insights and inspiration to bring forth authentic empowerment, fulfillment and inner peace. "The Sexual Abuse Survivor's Sacred Space" offers insights and resources from those who have been there and bounced back better than before. The power of your ancestors and the magic of the cosmos is in your DNA!

Finding sacred space after sexual abuse is a journey process of discovering, reclaiming, sifting and sorting of boundaries, likes, dislikes, preferences, talents, competencies and letting go of all painful thoughts, beliefs, habits and emotions that no longer serve their higher good. It often takes courage to risk being disliked, criticized, judged and disapproved of, and being proud of who you already are.

Anyone can awaken the power within, by following these Steps:

  • How can Your Happiness be Sacred
  • Understanding Sexual Abuse/Assault
  • The Healing Process: Stress Management, Journaling and more
  • Working through Key Issues, Transformation
  • How to Let Go and Uplift
  • Learn Daily Living Skills
  • Self-Awareness Exercises, Soul Boosters
  • Communing with your Ancestors, Guides and Angels
  • Alternative Resources
Awakening the power within

This guide encourages awakening the spiritual power within, the strength and wisdom that is already inside you. The empowerment work involves learning to become aware of and overcome fear, anger, dissociation, body numbness, and so on.








About the author:

Jan Porter is a published author and survivor with over thirty years experience in human services who specializes in empowerment and inspiration. InspiredSoulWorks.com



Friday, December 12, 2014

Featured Book: What a Ride! by Barry Libman



About the book:


This is my first book and as the title says, “What a Ride”. 

I never thought my life to be extraordinary, but when I was encouraged to write this book by so many people, I just started doing it—and this is the result of that effort. 

I was actually surprised what a life I had lived when I looked back and put it all together. 

So this is the story of my life, my accomplishments, my challenges, my travels and my sharing it all with the love of my life my extraordinary wife Carmen. 

I hope you have as much fun reading as I did writing about the people, places and events that have become the fabric of my life, a life well lived.



About the author:


Barry Libman is a retired successful businessman who lives with his wife Carmen and their two dogs in the hills of the American southwest. He built a thriving multi-state distribution enterprise from very humble beginnings. He has seen a lot and touched many lives in his days, let him share those rich experiences with you.

*This post may contain affiliate links*



Thursday, December 11, 2014

Featured Book: A Reason To Kill: Collected Mystery Stories by John D. Ottini



About the book:

This book contains three mystery stories which were previously published as individual e-books. The individual e-books are available for purchase in the Amazon Kindle Store.

My Journey to Hell

Having survived an unhappy childhood with an absentee father and an alcoholic mother, and having lived through a failed marriage, all Joel Simon wants, is to be left alone. It's taken years to heal the emotional scars; control his alcoholism, reconcile his feelings of failure and begin to live a productive life. Everything seems to be under control, until a strange telephone message sets in motion a series of events that have the potential to destabilize Joel's fragile mental equilibrium. Will he overcome this final, life-threatening challenge, or is his world about to unravel?

A Fool and His Money

Unlucky at love, unemployed and drowning in debt, Thomas O'Connor is a man in need of salvation. When an unexpected gift arrives from an unknown source, Tom is confused, yet elated about his new-found fortune. His luck continues when he runs into an old flame he hasn't seen in years and sparks begin to fly. Strange how a man's fate can change when he least expects it - one moment he's miserable and struggling to make ends meet, and the next he's back on his feet and looking forward to a bright future... or so he thought. Then Tom's rediscovered love reveals the shocking skeletons in her past, and he must decide to forgive and forget or turn his back and walk away. If he chooses to stay, he must find a way to live with the violent action required to keep her in his life. An innocent search on the Internet unveils a problem that could stand between Tom's good fortune and ultimately, the love of his life.

The Object of Your Desire

As a professional psychiatrist, Dr. Stanley DeMarco is well equipped to assist his patients in identifying and controlling their addictions. Although he's considered one of the finest doctors in his field, that doesn't provide him with immunity from the follies of human nature. An ill-advised sexual liaison with an unstable associate leads to a world of lies, heartbreak and harassment. In a desperate effort to save his marriage and his practice, he attempts to hide the affair from his wife and daughter. Unfortunately, affairs are a messy business and rarely remain concealed. When the body count begins to mount and the list of murder suspects dwindles, the finger of guilt points directly at Dr. DeMarco. When every attempt to establish his innocence without exposing his ruinous affair proves disastrous, Dr. DeMarco is forced to reveal the truth to his ailing wife and live with the consequences of his foolish acts.



About the author:

John D. Ottini was born in Northern Italy, raised and educated in Canada and currently resides in Central Florida where he is employed as a Geographic Information System Senior Technician.

When he is not working or writing, he enjoys reading, bowling, travelling and spending time with his wife and mischievous cat named Bella.



Giveaway: North of Boston by Elisabeth Elo

Dennis Lehane meets Smilla’s Sense of Snow: a big discovery in the world of female suspense, about an edgy young woman with the rare ability to withstand extreme conditions

Elisabeth Elo’s debut novel introduces Pirio Kasparov, a Boston-bred tough-talking girl with an acerbic wit and a moral compass that points due north.

When the fishing boat Pirio is on is rammed by a freighter, she finds herself abandoned in the North Atlantic. Somehow, she survives nearly four hours in the water before being rescued by the Coast Guard. But the boat’s owner and her professional fisherman friend, Ned, is not so lucky.

Compelled to look after Noah, the son of the late Ned and her alcoholic prep school friend, Thomasina, Pirio can’t shake the lurking suspicion that the boat’s sinking—and Ned’s death—was no accident. It’s a suspicion seconded by her deeply cynical, autocratic Russian father, who tells her that nothing is ever what it seems. Then the navy reaches out to her to participate in research on human survival in dangerously cold temperatures.

With the help of a curious journalist named Russell Parnell, Pirio begins unraveling a lethal plot involving the glacial whaling grounds off Baffin Island. In a narrow inlet in the arctic tundra, Pirio confronts her ultimate challenge: to trust herself.

A gripping literary thriller, North of Boston combines the atmospheric chills of Jussi Adler-Olsen with the gritty mystery of Laura Lippman. And Pirio Kasparov is a gutsy, compellingly damaged heroine with many adventures ahead.




I have one copy to give away!
US only, no PO Boxes
Enter via the Rafflecopter form below.


a Rafflecopter giveaway




Wednesday, December 10, 2014

Author Interview: Brenda Cheers author of The Secrets of Julia Hawke

Brenda Cheers, author of the book The Secrets of Julia Hawke, stopped by for an interview.



Can you tell us a little bit about yourself?

I live in Brisbane but my heart belongs in Greece. I love art-house movies and literary fiction. I always wanted to be an ex-pat, but couldn't quite achieve it. Until recently I was a student of martial arts. I love long walks at daybreak in strange cities.


What do you do when you're not writing?

Thinking about the next story or the current work-in-progress. Walking and running. Watching movies. Reading.


When did your first start writing?

I published my first picture book at age five. I was the author, illustrator, editor and publisher. I even stapled the spine perfectly. It was the story of a car. It possessed human feelings.


Is there any particular author or book that influenced you in any way either growing up or as an adult?

As a young adult I read The Thornbirds by Australian writer Colleen McCulloch. There was something about this novel that affected me deeply. When I taught myself to touch-type, I used passages from this book for practice. It meant that the mundane was made joyful.


What inspired you to write this particular book?

An image came to me--a woman arriving at an airport in her home city, tired and distressed. She has lost the trust of those closest to her when she needs it most.It made me ask questions. The story grew wings and flew.


What was your favorite chapter (or part) to write and why?

The chapters that tell of the friendship between Julia and Rachel were my favourites to write. This theme, of friendship between women almost overtook the main theme. I wish I had a friend like Rachel.


What is best writing advice you can give?

There are two pieces of advice: 1. Write something every day. 2. Read, read, read.


Is there anything else you'd like your readers to know about the book?

The first draft was darker and very edgy in parts. Two of my trusted beta-readers said it went too far. I used the Stephen King method--taking notice if more than one person gives the same feedback. I rewrote four chapters.




About the book:

Julia Hawke and her friend Rachel are celebrating the end of their final year of schooling. 

They deceive their parents and embark on an adventure to the Gold Coast of Queensland.

Many years later, Julia is still keeping secrets in an attempt to hide what happened during those few, fateful days. 


A series of events force her to realise that keeping these secrets comes at too great a cost. What can Julia do to regain the trust of those she loves?

“The Secrets of Julia Hawke” explores, not only the destructive nature of secrets, but also the miracle of unconditional friendship.



About the author:

Brenda Cheers is a novelist and short story writer, living in Brisbane, Australia.

Her passions are art-house motion pictures and literary fiction.

“The Secrets of Julia Hawke” is her sixth published novel.



Featured Book: The Book of Barkley by L.B.Johnson



About the book:


L.B. Johnson knew how to get things done. She had been immersed in a world of complex puzzles, and tangled story lines of physical and governmental laws. She was quite sure she was up to the task of raising a black Labrador retriever puppy. His name was Barkley, and in being himself, he led his owner down a path of joyful discovery, loving frustration, and self-sacrifice. Their journey together will speak volumes to anyone who has ever had a beloved animal as a heart’s companion…from the gentle nuzzles that healed in moments of crisis, to the saintly patience needed to deal with a small pink ball with feet, named “Mr. Squeaky,” who interrupted many hours of sleep. It is the story of rambunctious trespasses such as “the bacon incident,” and the loving trust that bound a woman and her dog together in unspoken understanding. The Book of Barkley is a tribute and memoir that will resonate with everyone who has reached out unthinking to pet a beloved animal…only to remember that a beloved friend is no longer present. Honest, transcendent, and beautifully written, The Book of Barkley is a love story that will enrich every animal lover’s library.



About the author:


L.B. Johnson left her family home on the West Coast, where she once was fired as an elf at Santa’s Workshop, to carve out careers as a jet pilot and federal agent. She and her husband live in the Midwest, in the house that Barkley built.

*This post may contain affiliate links*



Tuesday, December 9, 2014

Author Interview: Elisabeth Elo author of North of Boston

Elisabeth Elo, author of the book North of Boston, stopped by for an interview.



Where did the idea for NORTH OF BOSTON come from?

Some years ago, I ran across a book about ambergris (i.e. whale shit)—a substance that was once believed to have all kinds of magical, curative, and aphrodisiac properties, and is still used today as a fixative in some perfumes. The story of ambergris opens all kinds of windows into the human psyche—our fears and desires, our quests for beauty and adventure, and the lengths we will go to fulfill a dream, even when that dream is actually a delusion.

How a fascination with ambergris led to writing North of Boston involved many tiny steps that I could not possibly reconstruct. But the path went something like this: ambergris, ocean, sense of smell, marine mammals, boats, perfume, the floor plans of boats, northern lands, cold. In fact, the path was more like a maze, the kind where you often end up right back where you started. Eventually, I had a whole lot of paper on my office floor. (This was back in the days before apps like Evernote, when people still printed things out.) Looking at the stacks of paper, I occasionally wondered whether I might be just a bit crazy, but I had somehow managed to develop a trust in the creative process—which is to say, in myself—so I plodded along.

At the same time, in a sort of parallel universe, I was dealing with a difficult protagonist who had a clear, compelling voice. She had been on my mind for a long time, and there was a sense of urgency in bringing her to life. I knew that part of her story took place on a boat, and that it included near-drowning. Meanwhile, she was enmeshed in various relationships—with a friend, a godson, a father. Each posed a significant challenge. At the age of thirty, she also was dealing with her failure to have found anything resembling love. She wanted to connect with people, but her aloof, independent personality got in her way. Yet she had a certain integrity. I knew she was the kind of person who needed a big adventure to find herself.

The research and preliminary drafts went along side by side for a while, not connecting with each other very well. Eventually, I had about fifty pages of a novel, but every time I tried to get beyond that point, the whole thing fell apart. Finally, with relief and dismay, I abandoned the project. But Pirio didn’t go away. She seemed to be living right on my shoulder. So several years later, when things in my life opened up a bit, I took up her story once again.


I think writers often feel as if they’re in the dark, out on a limb, on thin ice—pick your cliché. We’ve got to be okay with being perpetually off-balance. I’ve come to realize that if I’m not feeling a bit anxious about whatever I’m working on and a bit unsure of my ability to do it, I’m probably not risking enough.


Why did you choose to write a thriller?

Because I love the strong protagonists. It’s ironic: people tend to think of thrillers and mysteries as being “plot-driven” instead of “character-driven.” But nothing could be further from the truth. In thrillers there tend to be a lot of secondary characters, settings, and plot points—the protagonist is the one who holds everything together and drives the action. She or he has to be tenacious, observant, and morally centered (with humanizing flaws thrown in) because a weak character could not ride the bucking plotline with any success. In the best thrillers the protagonist doesn’t simply follow the clues as they emerge; she bends the plot to her will. It’s her creative and powerful impact on the book’s events that makes the mystery come out right in the end.
I think the real contribution of the thriller (in addition to its entertainment value) is that it brings this kind of character to the forefront. In so doing, it encodes a crucial hope: That we can conquer our fears and face down the worst of what the world has to offer. That we can have an impact, make a difference. That is very strong, important stuff.


Why first-person?

In first-person narration, readers are in the protagonist’s mind the entire time: there’s no place else to be. They see what she sees, know what she knows, and think what she thinks. They are as limited as she is by her blind spots and foibles.


As an author, I find first-person narration constraining and dream about the wide open vistas of the omniscient third. But I also know that one of the great powers of the novel (as opposed to film, for example) lies in the way it can describe the inner workings of a mind. The first-person narration is the ultimate in this kind of psychological exploration. I think it comes closer than any other art form to portraying what it really feels like to be a human being. Because we are all, always, in first-person mode—able with diligence to change ourselves but never to escape ourselves. So while we may be quite different from the protagonist superficially, on the existential level, our experience is the same. We are trying to develop our strengths and talents and overcome our weaknesses and biases, while simultaneously trying to figure out which is which. Witnessing the struggles of a first-person narrator teaches us about our own.


Your protagonist, Pirio Kasparov, has been described as remarkable. What do you like about her?

Her heroic qualities. These are the same the world over and across every epoch: courage, perseverance, a practical intelligence, integrity, shrewdness, honesty, justified compassion. The problem is that, though we all have access to these qualities and display them at various times in varying degrees, we cannot always or reliably find our way to them. We have shortcomings. And those are the same the world over, too. The list of Pirio’s shortcomings is long and varied: mindless rebelliousness, a bit of laziness, misanthropy, reflexive anger, confusion about love and sex, cynicism, aloofness, and recklessness. Bless her heart. I like her as much for her shortcomings as I do for her strengths.


The ocean is a very strong force in this book. Do you have a special relationship with the sea?

I spent a good portion of my childhood trailing after three older siblings who were fanatic sailors. Many of my most exciting and dreadful childhood memories take place on boats. In high school a summer job at an aquarium on Cape Cod gave me a chance to work and swim with two dolphins named Salty and Spray who had been together in captivity for over a decade. At the end of one summer Salty died of a skin infection, and Spray went to the bottom of the tank, rarely surfaced, and refused to do the shows that she had enjoyed for years. She died in a few months’ time. Whatever the medical reason, it was clear to the people who cared about her that she’d died of a broken heart. What I learned about marine mammals from that experience never left me.

As an adult, I lived for many years close to the water in Newburyport MA, a beautiful seaport town about thirty-five miles north of Boston. My house was just a few blocks from the water. The ocean’s many moods affected my own. Its peace was comforting; its rage was frightful. I’ve had both dreams and nightmares involving the ocean. It has some kind of direct route to my psyche.

Newburyport has a modest fishing fleet. (The real fishing industry is in Gloucester, further south.) I passed by trawlers and lobster boats every day. I always thought they were ugly, but I found them fascinating as well. A friend of mine, a lobsterman, died suddenly, not in any nefarious way, but it was a tragic death, as he was only in his thirties and left behind twin girls. I had lost both my parents before I was twenty-five, so I often thought about these girls and wished I could help them fill a gap that I knew would never be filled. You see these concerns coming out in Pirio’s relationship with Noah, and in her struggles to accept the early loss of her mother and her father’s illness.


How did you become a writer?

I didn’t start writing fiction until my early thirties—after a short professional career in magazines, advertising, and marketing; and a long stint in graduate school where I wrote dull papers analyzing literary texts. At that time I was a new mother and part-time adjunct professor and found myself for the first time since high school with unstructured time on my hands. Ironically, graduate school had really turned me off from fiction, and I had no particular ambition to write it. I intended to become a freelance science writer. So imagine my surprise when I got up one Sunday morning and wrote the entire first draft of a short story that had been given to me whole and complete as I slept. Then imagine my even greater surprise when I had no trouble placing it in a respected literary journal.
Fiction writing grabbed me that Sunday morning and hasn’t let go since. But it’s a treacherous road, not one for the faint of heart. Unless you’re one of the lucky few who rockets to success right away, you have to put in a long apprenticeship and get beat up quite a bit along the way. Fortunately, I’m fairly stubborn.


Any plans for another book?

This summer I spent a few weeks in Yakutsk, a city of approximately 200,000 in the Sakha Republic of northeastern Siberia. It has a ballet, an opera, and a university. In the winter the average temperature is -40 degrees Fahrenheit. I traveled from Yakutsk to a small village called Cherkeh, on the other side of the Lena River, about a five-hour drive on deeply rutted, sparsely populated roads. The Siberian meadows are very green in summer, dotted with clear glassy lakes and tumbling streams, and the shaggy Sakha horses roam and graze where they will, without fences, and return to their homes of their own accord. The people in Siberia greeted me warmly and gave me a glimpse into their lives. My next novel will be set in Boston and this region. It will involve ballet dancers, political intrigue, and diamond mines. Stay tuned.




About the book:

Dennis Lehane meets Smilla’s Sense of Snow: a big discovery in the world of female suspense, about an edgy young woman with the rare ability to withstand extreme conditions

Elisabeth Elo’s debut novel introduces Pirio Kasparov, a Boston-bred tough-talking girl with an acerbic wit and a moral compass that points due north.

When the fishing boat Pirio is on is rammed by a freighter, she finds herself abandoned in the North Atlantic. Somehow, she survives nearly four hours in the water before being rescued by the Coast Guard. But the boat’s owner and her professional fisherman friend, Ned, is not so lucky.

Compelled to look after Noah, the son of the late Ned and her alcoholic prep school friend, Thomasina, Pirio can’t shake the lurking suspicion that the boat’s sinking—and Ned’s death—was no accident. It’s a suspicion seconded by her deeply cynical, autocratic Russian father, who tells her that nothing is ever what it seems. Then the navy reaches out to her to participate in research on human survival in dangerously cold temperatures.

With the help of a curious journalist named Russell Parnell, Pirio begins unraveling a lethal plot involving the glacial whaling grounds off Baffin Island. In a narrow inlet in the arctic tundra, Pirio confronts her ultimate challenge: to trust herself.

A gripping literary thriller, North of Boston combines the atmospheric chills of Jussi Adler-Olsen with the gritty mystery of Laura Lippman. And Pirio Kasparov is a gutsy, compellingly damaged heroine with many adventures ahead.




About the author:

Elisabeth Elo teaches writing in the Boston area. She lives in Brookline, Massachusetts.



*This post may contain affiliate links*



Monday, December 8, 2014

Featured Book: Shattered Circle by Linda Robertson



About the book:


JUST YOUR AVERAGE MEGA-WITCH. . . . 

It’s tough being a modern woman, but Persephone Alcmedi has it worse than most. Being the prophesied Lustrata has kicked her career as a witch into high gear, and juggling a wærewolf boyfriend who is about to become king of his kind and a seductive vampire who bears her magical Mark isn’t easy either. 

Still, Seph’s beloved foster daughter, Beverley, is causing more trouble than these two men put together. The young girl’s been playing with a magical artifact that’s far more dangerous than she realizes. Now Seph must summon help from a mystical being so potent that even vampires fear him . . . and the cost of his aid may be more than she’s willing to pay. Seph, Johnny, and Menessos face threats from all sides—and a few from within. Will the forces of destiny cement their tenuous supernatural union, or shatter it forever?



About the author:

Linda Robertson is the mother of four wonderful boys, owns three electric guitars, and is followed around by a big dog named after Bela Lugosi. Once upon a time she was a lead guitarist in a heavy metal cover band and has worked as a graphic artist. She still composes and creates art, when time permits. Linda currently writes and rocks in northeast Ohio.

Visit her at AuthorLindaRobertson.com and @authorLinda.


*This post may contain affiliate links*



Friday, December 5, 2014

Featured Book: Arcane Circle by Linda Robertson



About the book:

Even magic can’t solve everything. . . . 

After facing down the forces of Fairy in mortal combat, Persephone Alcmedi still must deal with the aftermath. Not only does Seph now possess deadly secrets she must hide from the arcane and mundane world alike, but the dozens of magical creatures who’ve taken up residence behind her cornfield need food and shelter, and there’s still her foster daughter Beverly’s tenth birthday party to plan. 

And that’s not all. . . . Seph’s boyfriend Johnny has revealed himself as the wærewolf Domn Lup, and the ruler of the wære world is en route from Romania to make sure Johnny really is the “king” he claims to be. But Johnny’s hiding a dangerous secret: his magic is locked in his mysterious tattoos. He and Seph must find a way for him to reclaim it—fast—despite those who have no intention of letting Johnny gain his full powers. Seph knows that, in the arcane world, strength is always a necessity and power must be constantly proven, but how far is she willing to go to succeed . . . and at what cost?



About the author:

Linda Robertson is the mother of four wonderful boys, owns three electric guitars, and is followed around by a big dog named after Bela Lugosi. Once upon a time she was a lead guitarist in a heavy metal cover band and has worked as a graphic artist. She still composes and creates art, when time permits. Linda currently writes and rocks in northeast Ohio.

Visit her at AuthorLindaRobertson.com and @authorLinda.


*This post may contain affiliate links*



Wednesday, December 3, 2014

Featured Book: About Three Authors by Patti Roberts



About the book:

"WHOEVER SAID LOVE WAS EASY?" Not Becky Jensen!

BECKY JENSEN'S FACEBOOK STATUS UPDATE: I hate cancer! I hate my cheating boyfriend! I hate my best friend! I Hate Christmas!

When Becky Jensen's mother died on Christmas Eve a year ago, Becky stopped believing in Christmas.

When Becky’s father remarried four weeks ago, Becky stopped believing in family. An hour ago, when Becky caught her boyfriend kissing her best friend, Becky stopped believing in love.

Heartbroken, Becky makes a wish that changes her life forever…

The very next day, she is boarding a plane at Heathrow airport and flying halfway across the world to interview three authors living in Australia.

The Authors, all friends since their twenties, are now in their fifties. Not only does Becky learn about the lives of these three incredible women, she also learns a lot about herself.

Becky also discovers that all families have their secrets, and hers is no exception.



About the author:

PATTI ROBERTS was born in Brisbane Australia but soon moved to Darwin in the Northern Territory. Her son Luke was born in 1980. Patti now lives in Cairns, Queensland where she is writing the Paradox Series of books. Patti is currently working on a new teen series, Witchwood Estate, which is being published as episodic, short story fiction.  View the trailer here.

Patti also designs book covers and trailers for authors in her spare time, and it is her wish to one day own and operate a writers retreat in FNQ Australia.

Email - pattiroberts7@gmail.com
Blog - http://theangelsarehere.wordpress.com/
Facebook - http://tinyurl.com/3woe84l
Twitter - http://twitter.com/#!/PattiRoberts7




Featured Book: A Cruel Calm: Paris Between the Wars by Patricia Daly-Lipe



About the book:

What was love like in the era before annulments, reliable contraceptives, and acceptance of homosexuality? During the period between the wars, appearances counted and marriage was a life sentence without parole. From aviation to annulment, from an island in the Seine to the King of France, the Spirit of St. Louis permeates the story, but in so many different contexts.

Well researched, A CRUEL CALM, Paris Between the Wars includes Lindbergh's flight across the Atlantic; Gertrude Stein, James Joyce, Joseph Campbell and Hemingway in their own words; the Surrealist movement, lady pilots Bessie Coleman and Amelia Earhart; Black Thursday; the ravages from and newspaper clipping of the Great War; omens of a new war brewing, and much more.

A CRUEL CALM visits an era of idealism and innovation on all levels when Paris was the cultural capital of the Western world. Simple became sensational and the most treasured, intimate values became complicated and inaccessible. This is a story replete with historical detail, universal conflict, and sensational romance.

Royal Dragonfly Book Awards First Place
Best Books Award, USA Book News.com
Readers Favorite Honor Award



About the author:

Although born in La Jolla, California, Patricia spent an equal amount of time living on the other coast in Washington, D.C., the home of several generations of her mother's family. In 1961, her mother died of cancer. Patricia was only 18. She returned to Vassar College with a year at the Catholic University of Louvain, Belgium, and earned a B.A. degree in Philosophy.

Later, as a single parent of three children, she and her young family raised, raced (winning at Santa Anita, Hollywood Park, Del Mar, and Golden Gate), and showed Thoroughbred horses. After her children were grown, she completed a Masters degree followed by a PhD specializing in Creative Arts and Communication.

For several years, Dr. Daly taught English and writing to University students and adults, wrote for several magazines, and had a newspaper column with Beach and Bay Press. She now gives talks on a myriad of subjects.

Patricia now lives in Virginia with her husband Steele Lipe, MD, three dogs, two horses, and two cats, all rescues (except husband). She is the author of five books two of which have her paintings on the covers. She is past President of the National League of American Pen Women, La Jolla Branch and recently, of the DC Branch. Patricia was a 2002 winner of the San Diego Book Awards Association, recipient of the 2004 Woman of Achievement Award from NLAPW, Best Books Award Finalist, 1st runner up trophy winner of JADA Award Winning Novel Contest in 2006, VIP for Cambridge Who's Who, 2009 Golden Nib Award winner for Poetry and more.




Featured Book: Fatal Circle by Linda Robertson



About the book:


Destiny sucks. . . . 

There was a time when Persephone Alcmedi thought her life was hard to manage, what with wondering how to make sure she took adequate care of both her grandmother and her foster daughter, Beverley, whether she’d end up in the unwanted position of high priestess of a coven, and whether her wærewolf lover, Johnny, would resist the groupies who hang around his band Lycanthropia. But that was before the fairies started demanding that Seph’s frightening, unpredictable ally—the ancient vampire Menessos— be destroyed . . . or the world will suffer. Seph and Menessos are magically bonded, but that’s a secret she dares not reveal to her fellow witches lest they be forced to reject her and forbid her use of magic. And, despite the strain this casts on her relationship with Johnny, as a showdown with the fairies nears, she and Menessos badly need the wærewolves as allies. Life, death, and love are all on the line, but when destiny is calling, it doesn’t help to turn away. With the individual threads of their fates twisted inextricably together, can Seph, Johnny, and Menessos keep the world safe from fairy vengeance?



About the author:

Linda Robertson is the mother of four wonderful boys, owns three electric guitars, and is followed around by a big dog named after Bela Lugosi. Once upon a time she was a lead guitarist in a heavy metal cover band and has worked as a graphic artist. She still composes and creates art, when time permits. Linda currently writes and rocks in northeast Ohio.

Visit her at AuthorLindaRobertson.com and @authorLinda.


*This post may contain affiliate links*



Monday, December 1, 2014

Author Interview: Jo M. Sekimonyo author of Cast Away: For These Reasons: Economic Jihad

Jo M. Sekimonyo, author of the book Cast Away: For These Reasons: Economic Jihad, stopped by for an interview.



Can you tell us a little bit about yourself?

Congolese roots, American fermented, and globally bottled Ideological queer (nonconformist). If you ever run into me, within 5 minutes you will know that I am fiercely opinionated. I am allergic to badly patched arguments and people who stand complacent in the face of two major issues that pierce my heart; social injustice and economic inequality. I can be seen as eccentric, because I refuse to listen to music that I cannot find on vinyl discs, but if you look like a hobo walking the streets, you can count on me to give you my last dime. That is me in a nutshell.


What is your book about?

To reassure people who are terrified to pick up a book from the economic or political economy shelves, I shall start by saying what my book is not about. There’s no math and crazy tables. I left it to smart asses who bamboozle the world with crazy theories that does not stand the test of real life.
Cast Away: For These Reasons is a roller-coaster ride through a volcanic ash cloud of capitalism. Then, I lead the reader’s into the new 21st century paradigm that changes everything. And right at the end, I provide a real rabble-rousing solution. The only expected challenge in this book are new terminologies and concepts that I introduce to the readers that they have to adjust to, such as Ethosism.


Why did you write this book and who is it for?

What demon possessed me to write this book? Well after walking by, giving my spare change to people blinded and asphyxiated by misery, in every country I have been lucky or cursed to travel to, I asked myself repeatedly, what else can I do?! I wanted to hear the story of socio-inequality depicted humanely on the global scale. I was tired of capitalist guardians’ buffoonery, angry of the so called Karl Mark reincarnation ineptness, and tired of waiting for a superhero. From that frustration, I decided to raise hell and speak up for everyone who is fed up by the status quo and has been let down by the lumpenintellectuals. I am sincerely trying to awake the general public consciousness and throw out there a thought provoking solution to the global socio-economic plight. Let’s hope that I succeed.


How did you come up with the title?

That’s an easy one. It just reflects my reality. I got kicked out from many places by these new-era McCarthyists and booed by poor souls who cannot conceive any other way to get out of the intellectual glut in the political economy and economic field.


What sort of research went into this book?

I wouldn’t call it research, but bumping everywhere with symbols of injustice and inequality. As I put it in the book introduction, any form of expression that ceases to be an experience and becomes an art form loses its glowing divinity. In the same spirit, my book is an experience, not an artistic acrobatic exercise meant for viewing to remind you that it exists.


What do you do when you're not writing?

Other than ranting about global injustice☺ and commute to NYC for graduate studies? I do cook and travel a lot. I also find myself hunting down vinyl disc to add to my music collection.


When did your first start writing?

During my youth at college alfajiri, a Jesuit boarding school, I made a living trading my services as a romantic ghost-writer. I wrote poems for my friends to impress the girls they were trying to woo. Mind you, college alfajiri was an all-boys school, so the girls’ boarding school was right across our soccer stadium. Right there, I discovered the power of writing, and I never let that notion go.


Is there any particular author or book that influenced you in any way either growing up or as an adult?

I am a mix of a lot of author’s essences. To give you an idea, in my childhood my dad threw at me a lot of genre of authors to keep me out of trouble. At 11, I read from the little prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupery to King Leopold’s ghost by Adam Hochschild. In Cast Away: For These Reasons, it easily recognizable the tempo of an author I do admire, Malcom Gladwell. You get the same sense of the conversational style; an easy read but evokes a lot of emotions.


What inspired you to write this particular book?

My debut work is called Cast Away for These Reasons: Economic Jihad. The goal is to awaken readers to the realization of how bad things have gotten globally, and also there is an unnoticed new paradigm, ethosism, that is shifting the way commercial interaction is being done. This should make it easier for us to get rid of capitalism. What really motivated me to speak out, was Mama Vincent. She is a single mother and street panhandler that I met in Nairobi and her decaying state of hope was the ultimate blow to my conscience.


What was your favorite chapter (or part) to write and why?

Letter to Mama Vincent, because it is a really personal moment. Once I wrote it, there was no going back. This chapter set the intensity and the tone of the entire of the book.


What is best writing advice you can give?

If you want to be heard, you have to speak. And more importantly, speak up in your own voice.


Is there anything else you'd like your readers to know about the book?

Your audience might be intimidated to pick up an economics book or by my books’ subtitle Economic Jihad. Then again, some of your fans might be deeply committed capitalism supporters. All I ask of anyone is to get over their fears or prejudice and to pause for a second. Look at the world around them, and ask, ‘Can we do better? Do we need start an economic jihad for things to change? After reading my book, one will come to the realization, all over the globe, Capitalism barbarism is suffocating the poor and the middle-class, and the inherent instability is viscous to the wealthy as well; no one is safe for its furies. However, I also bring on the table a solution.




About the book:

Fifty Five Shades of Political Economy….

Economic theorists since their inception over 200 years ago, have struggled with the question of how to distribute wealth and continue to come up short. The author is not only criticizing capitalism, but finally has brought to the table, a new thought provoking alternative to the economic cannibalistic system. The author’s unconventional line of attack, will raise your heart rate and make you nauseous. By the middle of the book, you might be searching for a long rope to hang yourself with, thinking that humanity is doomed…but you will be missing out on the spectacular finale. This book is not one more economic liturgy. The author offers a thought provocative remedy to global socio-economic inequality; the rise of Ethosism.

From Nov 30th to Dec 6th you can download the book for free on Kobo.com

Or for 99 cents on Amazon or Barnes and Noble.



About the author:

Congolese roots, American fermented, and globally bottled Ideological queer (nonconformist). If you ever run into me, within 5 minutes you will know that I am fiercely opinionated. I am allergic to badly patched arguments and people who stand complacent in the face of two major issues that pierce my heart; social injustice and economic inequality. I can be seen as eccentric, because I refuse to listen to music that I cannot find on vinyl discs, but if you look like a hobo walking the streets, you can count on me to give you my last dime. That is me in a nutshell.

sekimonyo@hotmail.com.
https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/8616615.Jo_M_Sekimonyo
Or track me down on facebook.com




Author Interview: Lesley Sears author of The Foolish Sinners Guide to...Living in God's Wisdom

Lesley Sears, author of the book The Foolish Sinners Guide to...Living in God's Wisdom, stopped by for an interview.



Can you tell us a little bit about yourself?

I was born and raised in Fort Wayne, Indiana. I am the daughter of amazing parents, a wife of a terrific husband, a friend to incredible people, and a Christ Follower who has been touched by God in an incredible and inspiring way. I am an animal lover so my house is filled with critters and I love the outdoor so my yard is filled with flowers.


What do you do when you're not writing?

I have several projects going right now so it seems like I spend a lot of my time writing, which I love so it has never felt like work. Well…almost never.

When I do find myself without anything on my TO DO list, or when I hide my To Do at the bottom of my working pile and decide to ignore it for a little while. 


I enjoy reading. I love going to estate auctions to collect vintage purses, jewelry, and hats. I enjoy antique and craft show hopping with my mother. I am a Part Time business consultant for a staffing agency.


When did you first start writing?

Like so many children I used to write and illustrate my own story books when I was very young, but my true fascination with the power of the written word began when I was taking journalism classes in college. It was there that I learned that writing was truly an art and not just a bunch of words lumped together. From that point forward the art of writing has fascinated me, the ability to draw emotion from people with the words of my pen has been an ongoing quest.


Is there any particular author or book that influenced you in any way either growing up or as an adult?

WOW, that's a tough question. There are so many, from so many different genres. I read incessantly when I was young, less so now because I tend to be pretty busy, but I would say that the classics have been a great inspiration to me:  Harper Lee’s To Kill a Mockingbird, Margaret Mitchell’s Gone with the Wind, John Steinbeck’s Grapes of Wrath.


What inspired you to write this particular book?

This entire book was written because of a teaching journey I had with God. God gave me these basic principles when He told me I needed to live in my relationship with Him daily and I asked Him “HOW?”. Miraculously He answered me.


So my inspiration came from obeying God’s instruction to share these messages He blessed me with, it came from sharing these principles with others, it came from helping other’s live the life God wants them to live, and ultimately it came from a passion to see God’s Kingdom here on earth.


What was your favorite chapter (or part) to write and why?

The entire experience of writing this book has been filled with amazing times, frustrating times, and frightening times. Each principle was a journey toward the Truth. Seeing this Truth was a gift because it gave me the blueprint for living each day of my life for God. The blueprint wasn’t a difficult one but it was one that I would never have found if God had not shown me step-by-step.

Now that the book is complete it seems so organized and orderly but for much of the writing the concepts and teachings would come at me one at a time. God would show me a principle, He would display the principle in my life, He would reinforce my accurate understanding of the principle and He would correct me when I was mistaken. During the early times of God’s teachings I felt so inadequate and awkward. But somehow God managed to take each of these concepts and use me, a completely inadequate vessel, and bring them all into alignment. 


All I wanted to know was more, more, more and God had to reign me back to learn the principle He had in front of me at that moment. Letting God conduct the teachings His way, having the patience required, was one of the hardest but ultimately most rewarding aspects of writing this book.


What is best writing advice you can give?

The best writing advice I can give is WRITE!!

As you write, you struggle to accomplish things with words that require skill to achieve. As you strive to build this skill you begin to pay attention to things you haven’t noticed before. You begin to hear sounds differently, then attempt to attribute a word to that sound, using the letters that form the sound you hear. You begin to see actions, then attempt to bring them to life in your writing. You begin to feel emotions, then dig into those emotions and write them in such a way that those reading can feel them too. Being a great writer is a lifestyle, it takes over and drags you along for the ride.


Is there anything else you'd like your readers to know about the book?

I would like readers to know just how profoundly the principles God gave me have changed my life. If you’re seeking to know God more deeply, to understand the Holy Spirit, to build your faith daily, to discover God’s purpose and assignment for you then these principles will change your life too.



About the book:

The journey that inspired this amazing book started with questions from God. Questions that started with…”Why do you call yourself my follower?” As God pushed for answers, and the author had none to give, she finally reached toward Him and asked “HOW?” This began a year and a half long teaching during which God answered that “HOW?” question. God showed her how to strengthen her relationship with Him every day. He gave her basic principles that helped her develop her relationship with the Holy Spirit, build her faith, and discover her God given purpose and assignment in His Kingdom. Then He told her to “write it down” and share it with the world. Thus, “The Foolish Sinners Guide” series began, and it is with this first book, “Living in God’s Wisdom” that Lesley Sears is being obedient and following the assignment for her life.




About the author:

Lesley Sears is a former journalist. She had always considered herself a Fiction writer until God changed her plan and assigned her to write the Non-fiction Foolish Sinners Guide series. She is about to release Churchies a Christian fiction dramatic book serial and weekly podcast, that pulls back the curtain on the trials and tribulations of a fictional church in Northern Ohio; and a new edition in the Foolish Sinners Guide series that studies what will happen to God’s animals during the Rapture. You can find her at www.foolishsinnersguide.com or www.316publishinggroup.com.



Featured Book: Hallowed Circle by



About the book:


And you think beauty pageants are scary? 

Persephone Alcmedi has been persuaded to compete for the position of High Priestess of the Cleveland, Ohio, coven — now that the former priestess, Vivian Diamond, has strangely gone missing. Unfortunately, there are a few small problems with the idea. Not only does Seph know rather more about Vivian's disappearance than the other witches realize, but the epic struggle she's just survived has left her with some highly unusual powers — ones that could be dangerous to reveal. Despite her reluctance, she agrees to participate, if only to prevent snooty Hunter Hopewell, an obnoxious but talented witch, from ending up in the winner's circle. Can Seph hide her secrets — including her connection to the master vampire-wizard Menessos — from the terrifyingly wise judges? Plus, there's her rock 'n' roll werewolf boyfriend, Johnny, and some angry fairies to deal with.... Once the competition begins, a finalist turns up dead. It looks as if one of the contestants is willing to do anything — including murder — to win. Suddenly Seph has even more on her plate than she thought: from solving a murder to working out what her new powers really are...and exactly why they're creating so much havoc in her love life.



About the author:

Linda Robertson is the mother of four wonderful boys, owns three electric guitars, and is followed around by a big dog named after Bela Lugosi. Once upon a time she was a lead guitarist in a heavy metal cover band and has worked as a graphic artist. She still composes and creates art, when time permits. Linda currently writes and rocks in northeast Ohio.

Visit her at AuthorLindaRobertson.com and @authorLinda.


*This post may contain affiliate links*



Sunday, November 30, 2014

Review: She Effin' Hates Me by Scarlett Savage

Molly has arrived home from Vassar to reveal that she has an important announcement to make. Her mother, Suzanne, is convinced that Molly’s news is history repeating herself — and that she’s about to become a thirty-six-year-old grandmother. Suzanne’s mother, Ava, develops a case of impending great-grandmother fever—that is, when she’s not spying on the new next-door neighbor, Buddy McKinley, who turns out to be a blast from her past. 

Decades earlier, Buddy was the business partner of Ava’s late husband, as well as his best friend during the Vietnam War. Ava feels she has good reasons for hating Buddy—she blames him for the fall of their business, an Irish pub that was a staple of the community. The loss not only destroyed her husband but also pushed her headfirst into the vodka bottle. 

Suzanne eventually finds out that Buddy and Ava’s past goes back much further than either has admitted. She begins to wonder whether Ava truly hates Buddy, or whether her feelings are much more complicated, as are her own when Molly announces that she’s not pregnant, but gay. 

Based on the award-winning play, She Effin' Hates Me is about three women relearning to love one another for who they are … and more importantly, for who they’re not.



Received for review.

Despite a promising premise this turned out to be pretty standard Chick Lit featuring whiny and thoroughly unlikeable women.  The "big reveal" that Molly had to announce was just obnoxious.  There was no love or warmth from any of these annoying women.  I was sick of them by the end of the very first chapter.  I continued, hoping that they would grow or change, but they didn't.  They remained miserable and selfish right to the end.  

The character who annoyed me the most was Molly who thought she was supposed to be so special because of her announcement.  Really?  What she announced didn't make her special or a better person it just made her sound like an uberbitch for thinking it made her so much better than everyone else.  I kept hoping she'd get over herself but, of course, she didn't.

This was a total disappointment and I really cannot recommend it unless, of course, you enjoy reading about greedy, selfish, miserable women.

★★☆☆☆ = Just Okay


*This post may contain affiliate links*



Saturday, November 29, 2014

Featured Book: The Millionaire Within Us by Chris Carley



About the book:

From down and out, laid off airplane factory whistleblower to multi-millionaire. She broke all the rules in network marketing and never looked back. Overweight and depressed, Chris visualized a world of abundance for herself and brought it to life.

Starting with a small $79 loan from her father, Chris strategically promoted her network marketing company with handmade flyers, turning her into a millionaire in less than 5 years. Since then she has gone on to make over $25 million in an industry that only a few people fully understand. Along the way she has been a key note speaker and has helped mentor and teach thousands of her marketing strategies. 


For the first time ever she has put her knowledge in a book “The Millionaire Within Us”.

  • Chris shares her no-nonsense approach to putting the customer’s needs first
  • Teaches you the 3 words you must know to win the sale
  • How to instill faith and confidence in your customers, no matter the product
  • What it takes to make your life happy, healthy, and profitable
  • The 5 marketing secrets every business should know (Yes, you network marketing people are in business) 
  • Why everyone in business needs to empower their customers in order to increase their revenues
  • Plus so much more.
Chris Carley leaves no stone unturned in this phenomenal book on marketing, advertising, and life. Enjoy and learn more at www.TheMillionaireWithin.Us



About the author:

Chris Carley is a world renowned speaker and business expert. She has delivered her message of mastering the entrepreneurial spirit in 70 different countries. From her humble beginnings as factory worker making only $10.50/hour to becoming a millionaire in less than 5 years, Chris Carley knows what it takes to work “smarter not harder”.

Her journey to becoming a multi-millionaire was not a straight path, but with the help of her father’s $79 loan, her library card, and her deep desire to fulfill her dreams, she has helped thousands to achieve theirs.




Review: Sniper by Vaughn C. Hardacker

Overview When a sniper kills four people on Boston Common, Boston homicide detective Mike Houston and his partner Anne Bouchard are sent to investigate the case. Amidst the blood and terror, Houston discovers similarities, likenesses—the killer’s positioning, his choice of victims, and his code of ethics—between the crime scene and his own training as a US Marine scout and sniper. And with the staging of the scene set for prime shock value, Houston has to wonder what it is this murderer intends to accomplish. 

The connection is confirmed in the worst possible way when the sniper strikes again, this time killing Houston’s ex-wife, severing what’s left of the bond between Houston and his estranged daughter, Susie. It’s personal now, and as the death toll rises, Houston and Bouchard will stop at nothing to find the cold-blooded sniper who’s making a mockery of their department. In a final gesture of cat and mouse depravity, the killer kidnaps Susie, luring Houston to an island on a remote lake in Maine for a deadly, sniper-to-sniper showdown.



Received for review.

This was an interesting read and perfect for those intrigued by military fiction.  The sniper angle takes it more from detective fiction into the military fiction range despite Houston and Bouchard actually being detectives since it features a sniper and lots (and lots) of sniper and military discussions.

The story was well written and contained plenty of action and suspense but I never really connected with either Houston or Bouchard so it wasn't quite as engaging as it could have been.

Overall though this was a good read and I certainly recommend it.

★★★☆☆ = Liked It


*This post may contain affiliate links*



Friday, November 28, 2014

Featured Book: Vicious Circle by Linda Robertson



About the book:

A girl's got to do what a girl's got to do.... 

Being a witch doesn't pay the bills, but Persephone Alcmedi gets by between reading Tarot cards, writing her syndicated newspaper column, and kenneling werewolves in the basement when the moon is full — even if witches aren't supposed to mingle with wolves. She really reaches the end of her leash, though, when her grandmother gets kicked out of the nursing home and Seph finds herself in the doghouse about some things she's written. Then her werewolf friend Lorrie is murdered...and the high priestess of an important coven offers Seph big money to destroy the killer, a powerful vampire named Goliath Kline. Seph is a tough girl, but this time she bites off more than she can chew. She needs a little help from her friends — werewolf friends. One of those friends, Johnny, the motorcycle-riding lead singer for the techno-metal-Goth band Lycanthropia, has a crush on her. And while Seph has always been on edge around this 6'2" leather-clad hunk, she's starting to realize that although their attraction may be dangerous, nothing could be as lethal as the showdown that awaits them.



About the author:

Linda Robertson is the mother of four wonderful boys, owns three electric guitars, and is followed around by a big dog named after Bela Lugosi. Once upon a time she was a lead guitarist in a heavy metal cover band and has worked as a graphic artist. She still composes and creates art, when time permits. Linda currently writes and rocks in northeast Ohio.

Visit her at AuthorLindaRobertson.com and @authorLinda.


*This post may contain affiliate links*