Friday, January 31, 2014

Book Spotlight: Molly Gets Her Man by Julie Rowe

When flaky Las Vegas hairdresser Molly McLaren overhears hears a Russian hit man planning to kill a US congressman and take out Hoover Dam in the process, she becomes a target for murder. Now, on the run from the assassin and a dirty cop, she winds up in an eighteen wheeler with an ex-cop sporting a bum leg, a bad attitude, and a body built for loving.

Grey Wilson just wanted to be left alone. No more Las Vegas. No more casinos. And no more floozy women like the one his best friend sent him to pick up on the side of the road. She talks fast, but her endless curves and sensuous nature make him want to slow down. Which is not in the cards. Grey knows he needs to unload his excess baggage. And quick.

But when someone tries to kill the Vegas beauty, Molly captures his heart with her backbone of steel, and brains to boot. Now in order to grasp the future that had once seemed impossible, Molly and Grey need to keep Hoover Dam, the congressman, and their love from being blown sky-high.



Excerpt

Oh god, they were going to shoot her.

Molly McLaren took a deep breath and tried to calm her rioting nerves as she peeked around the car tire. Two hulking men scanned the parking garage at the end of the row of cars. Another stood fifteen feet away, a gun in his hand tucked behind his leg.

Petrov Grozney.

Why couldn’t he have picked a different hair salon to have his hair cut and colored in today? Or been assigned to a hairdresser who wasn’t an out-of-work translator as fluent in Russian as she was in English and who had understand every word he’d said?

But then, this was Las Vegas, where anything could and often did happen.

Footsteps echoed closer and Molly pressed herself close to the car she’d crouched beside, her tight capris cutting off the circulation to her lower legs. But that was nothing compared to what would happen if the Russian mob caught her.

There were worse things than getting shot. Just thinking about those things made breathing next to impossible.

The footsteps stopped, then moved away. Molly forced herself to take in a breath.

I can do this. I can do this. I have to do this.

She had to get out, but the only escape from the underground parking garage was an exit ramp several feet way. All it would take to be discovered by would be for one of the mobsters to turn her way.

She focused on her goal, sucked in as much air as she could, and made a run for it. Halfway to the exit, she ducked behind another tire. No gun shots, no yelling. Safe, so far. She tried to calm her breathing, but the echo of footsteps got louder again.

Blast. Grozney or one of his goons must have heard something and was coming back to investigate. Think. She glanced around and spied a small piece of cement on the concrete floor, next to her foot. She picked it up, then threw it as hard as she could toward the furthest corner of the garage.

A car alarm wailed and screeched. Grozney and his two hired goons ran toward it.

Molly dashed to the ramp and up into glaring sunshine.



About Julie:

A double Golden Heart finalist in 2006, Julie Rowe has been writing medically inclined romances for over ten years. She’s also a published freelancer with articles appearing in The Romance Writer’s Report, Canadian Living, Today’s Parent, Reader’s Digest (Canada) and other magazines.

Julie is an active member of RWA and its subchapters, Heartbeat RWA, Calgary RWA, The Golden Network, Hearts Through History and RWA Online. She coordinates Book In A Week, and online workshops for Heartbeat and Calgary RWA.

Julie is now teaching for Keyano College in her home city of Fort McMurray, AB, Canada. She teaches a variety of workshops for the Workforce Development department at Keyano College.

Julie enjoys teaching and volunteering, and is a passionate promoter of life-long learning. She’s the owner/moderator of the Announce Online Classes email loop, which promotes online classes hosted by a large number of writing organizations, for writers on a wide variety of topics and skill levels, taught by some of publishing’s best writers and writing instructors.




Guest Post: Susan Shumsky author of The Power of Auras

Susan Shumsky, author of the book The Power of Auras, stopped by to share with us a piece she wrote.






About the book:

Are you a psychic sponge? Do external influences drain and deplete your energy? The Power of Auras shows you how to cleanse, strengthen, lift, and expand your aura and experience greater energy, love, and happiness through simple, proven, and effective methods.

Thousands of people have found this book invaluable—especially those in the holistic health field who use its methods in their daily practice. This new edition will bring the message of self-sufficiency to even more people who desperately need greater strength during this time of change.

With this book, you will learn how to:
  • See or sense auras
  • Develop spiritual self-defense and protection
  • Increase power, balance, focus, and clarity
  • Heal and release dense vibrations
  • Release attachments and addictions
  • Cut psychic ties and cords


About the author:

Susan Shumsky, DD, author of eight books published by Simon & Schuster, Random House, and New Page Books, has spent more than 45 years teaching meditation, yoga, prayer, affirmation, and intuition. Her book titles include Exploring Meditation, Ascension, Miracle Prayer, Instant Healing, Divine Revelation, The Power of Chakras, and How to Hear the Voice of God. A long-time close associate of Maharishi Mahesh Yogi--founder of Transcendental Meditation and guru of the Beatles and of Deepak Chopra--Dr. Shumsky is a highly acclaimed and greatly respected spiritual teacher, award-winning author, retreat leader, tour guide to sacred destinations, and founder of Divine Revelation®--a unique technology for clearly hearing and testing your intuition. Her website is divinerevelation.org.




Thursday, January 30, 2014

Review: The Mesmer Menace by Kersten Hamilton

Welcome to the Amazing Automated Inn, home of twelve-year-old inventor Wally Kennewickett, his genius scientist parents, and his dashing dog, Noodles.

From the lightning harvester on the roof to the labs full of experiments in the dungeon, the inn is a wonderful place for a curious boy and his loyal dog to live.

That is, until President Theodore Roosevelt himself calls the elder Kennewicketts away, leaving Wally and Noodles to face the evil Mesmers, horrible hypnotists bent on controlling the minds of powerful people.

It seems the inn is their first stop on the way to world domination . . . and only an ingenious boy, a staff of automatons, and a brave dachshund stand in their way!



E-galley received for review.

I wanted to like this, I really did. It sounded good, but the reality fell well short of expectations.

Essentially this is a cobbled together collection of elements of a Lemony Snicket and The Invention of Hugo Cabret with a dog narrator. Don't get me wrong, I love a dachshund narrator as much as the next person and Noodles was cute, but not cute enough to save the book.

As if the Lemony Snicket style of defining "difficult" words wasn't annoying enough the author unfortunately had a fondness for alliterations which she used again and again and again.

While this is thankfully a short read it doesn't do much for the reader and is mildly amusing at best.

☆☆☆ = Just Okay



Wednesday, January 29, 2014

Guest Post: Nick Redfern author of For Nobody's Eyes Only

Nick Redfern, author of the book For Nobody's Eyes Only, stopped by to share with us a piece he wrote.






About the book:

Under the terms of the Freedom of Information Act, government agencies have declassified millions of pages of documents on numerous subjects. But there are other files, many of a far more intriguing nature than those the government has already released. They’re the ones that agencies haven’t released. For Nobody’s Eyes Only picks the locks to the secret vaults “they” don’t want any of us to see.


About the author:

NICK REDFERN works full time as an author, lecturer, and journalist. He writes about a wide range of unsolved mysteries, including Bigfoot, UFOs, the Loch Ness Monster, alien encounters, and government conspiracies. His previous books include Monster Files; The World’s Weirdest Places; The Pyramids and the Pentagon; Keep Out!; The Real Men in Black; The NASA Conspiracies; Contactees; and Memoirs of a Monster Hunter. He writes for many publications, including UFO Magazine, Fate, and Fortean Times. Nick has appeared on numerous television shows, including Fox News; The History Channel’s Ancient Aliens, Monster Quest, and UFO Hunters; VH1’s Legend Hunters;National Geographic Channel’s The Truth about UFOs and Paranatural; BBC’s Out of this World; MSNBC’s Countdown; and SyFy Channel’s Proof Positive. He can be contacted at http://nickredfernfortean.blogspot.com




Tuesday, January 28, 2014

Author Q&A: Gary Douglas Publisher of The Penny Capitalist by James J. Hester

Gary Douglas, publisher of the book The Penny Capitalist by James J. Hester, stopped by for a Q&A.



The Penny Capitalist is one of the books that influenced my life a great deal. It’s like when I first read it, I had been buying things. I had been looking to have better things in my life but I hadn’t looked at the idea that what you spend you actually create your future. So if you are spending today to create a future and what happens when you get to the future you end up having more and you have something you can sell.

So The Penny Capitalist is brilliantly done. It’s got succinct information that will help you in determining what works for you and will give you the awareness even if you don’t have a lot of money you can begin with where you are. You don’t have to save up, get lots of money or anything else to create wealth you would like to have in the future.


So I guess it’s brilliance is why you’re bringing back a book today that was published in 1979?

I’m bringing it back because in 1979, the economic conditions were not dissimilar to now, they weren’t quite as extreme as they are now, but they not dissimilar. It was a time when it was an economic downturn and people were getting rid of things that had value for no money because they were trying to create some money. They had no idea what they were selling. Most people didn’t even have any idea of what they were buying. But in that moment I realized that wow, you have to use your awareness and what you are aware of and what you know to determine what can be valuable to you or what can be valuable to your future. I bought things because they were aesthetically pleasing and in 1979 was right after one of my kids was born and I had no money. When you have a kid and you are trying to work and nothing is working the way you want it to. I had almost no money but I knew I wanted to have a greater life. I wanted to have more in the future. So I started doing what I could to create a future and what I could to have a nice place to live and to have beautiful things around me. The words of wisdom in Mr. Hester’s Universe are quite amazing. I personally had the opportunity to meet with him and it was amazing to see a man who is in his eighties, I think he is 88 now, but he still functions from these principals of looking forward to how you create your future, not looking at what you had or what you gotten as though that is your future.


What does the title actually mean, The Penny Capitalist?

It means you start from where you are with the pennies you have available to buy something rather than trying to come up with millions of dollars to create. You take the pennies you have available now and start creating. And if you start creating from pennies you have today, in the future you will have hundreds. And if you keep functioning from the future, the hundreds pretty soon will be thousands and if you function from thousands, pretty soon you will have hundreds of thousands. This is the way you create your future from the fact that people always throw things away not knowing what they are. Your awareness will create your future if you’re willing to use it.


The book was written so long ago. Since then there has been so much new knowledge and education, why is it relevant ahead of its time?


Well because it was ahead of its time. And it looks at the pragmatics of where you are now. He has written another book published by another company and that book is about hedging your bets against inflation and all the economic downturn. He talked about the economic downturns in that book before they occurred. It’s like, in reality, everything that is actually worth knowing about has been written about at one time or another. You need to look at the ones that actually work for you and see how this applies. It’s not about the time. It’s about the energy of how things are created. The times may be different, the creation is the same.


Who do you think the book is for?

Anybody who is smart enough to have money.


What are the top three things people can do to build a small fortune right now from nothing?

Be aware of what is actually worth money. Be aware of what is intrinsically valuable which means it’s what other people think are valuable. Learn as much as you about what people think is valuable so that you know what you’re looking at when you see it.


So from stocks to properties to …

You need to be able to look at a property and go, wow, this is a good price, not is perfect, not is everything I want and how much will it cost me to fix this up to make it worth more money? How much will it cost? Educate yourself on the cost of change and renovation. Educate yourself about different things. Educate yourself about how money works. It’s like this is just another book that will give you a piece of education that will prepare you for creating what you want.


OK. Is James Hester available to do interviews?

He is. He’s in Colorado but you have to pay him.


I have to pay him?

No, you could call him and do an interview. Tell him you’re working with me.


So, in a nutshell why re-publish this book?

It’s out of print. One of the reasons we reprinted it is because the copies of it that were available were going from $300 to $900 to buy them on the internet. That’s when we realized this must have some value that people are not acknowledging.


Wow, OK.

So now you can get it at a reasonable rate so you can choose the wisdom that this man has to offer.


So do you people will care or be open to a book that was written so many years ago?

They’ll love the fact that some man, who is his eighties, they’re suddenly looking back at his books and on the internet, it was costing $900. What? What does this guy have to say?


So the knowledge that he had then was ahead of its time. That’s what you were saying.

All knowledge that’s valuable is always ahead of its time which is what makes it timeless.


So how would you label James Hester’s book in a sentence?

He and his book are about the pragmatics not bout philosophy.



About the book:

Are you the sort of person who runs out of money on the 25th of every month, has no savings account, and wonders how you’ll ever find the money to get your daughter’s teeth straightened? Then meet James Hester.

He and his wife had $70 and a four-year-old Studebaker when they were married in 1955. By 1968 they had a better car, more than their fair share of personal belongings, and $14,000. Then their net worth increased to $300,000. The increase was more than his total salary. They did this while raising three sons and maintaining a comfortable standard of living.

Amazing? It certainly is. Lucky? Not at all! James Hester followed a plan—and you can use it every bit as effectively as he did.

This book holds principles that are needed today, principles that each generation has to learn all over again! Markets go up, and markets go down. When they go down, the average investor panics and sells out at the bottom. When they go up, the average investor waits to see if the rally is real, and by the time they decide to buy the market is topping out. The savvy investor does just the opposite.



About Gary Douglas: Gary Douglas used his degree in psychology towards the founding of Access Consciousness. He has grown his company to 49 countries with over 2000 facilitators. A businessman of great magnitude, Gary has authored numerous books including, Money Is Not the Problem You Are and also Right Riches for You. Gary travels the world sharing his expertise and is a frequent TV and radio show guest, and has been featured in various publications such as, AskMen.com, Marvelous Girl, Morning Show (NZ) Body and Soul, Empower Magazine, Voice of America, Playboy Radio and Dr. Pat Show, to name a few. This father of four children avidly rides wild stallions and says life is just beginning.

About Author, James Hester: James Hester (aka Algernon Horatio) has been a full professor and research scientist at a large mid-western state university. He is the author of a textbook and numerous scientific articles and monographs. He has served in research and administrative capacities with several federal and state agencies and a state museum. His career as a Penny Capitalist did not result from any grand design but from the imaginative pursuit of offbeat opportunities, or, as he puts it, “the only alternatives open to me.”




Review: Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy by Karen Foxlee

A luminous retelling of the Snow Queen, this is the story of unlikely heroine Ophelia Jane Worthington-Whittard who doesn't believe in anything that can't be proven by science. She and her sister Alice are still grieving for their dead mother when their father takes a job in a strange museum in a city where it always snows. On her very first day in the museum Ophelia discovers a boy locked away in a long forgotten room. He is a prisoner of Her Majesty the Snow Queen. And he has been waiting for Ophelia's help.
As Ophelia embarks on an incredible journey to rescue the boy everything that she believes will be tested. Along the way she learns more and more about the boy's own remarkable journey to reach her and save the world.

A story within a story, this a modern day fairytale is about the power of friendship, courage and love, and never ever giving up.



E-galley received for review.

This was my first experience with the author so I wasn't sure what to expect but I was very pleasantly surprised.

This was utterly delightful!  It had that quality of magic and joy that you find in so few books.  I found myself really drawn to Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy since they were just so generally likable.  The story was intriguing and full of adventure and excitement but what really drew me in was the characters.  They felt like real people.

The only thing I didn't like was the very rare mention of technology in the book.  There were a couple of references to key cards and interactive displays which took a bit of the magic away as it definitely dated the book and made it less timeless.  That tiny reminder that this wasn't just any place in any time, but set in modern times was just vaguely irritating.

All in all though I was very impressed and I highly recommend this.  I hope to read more from the author.

★★★★ = Really Liked It



Monday, January 27, 2014

Author Q&A: Margaret Hawkins author of Lydia's Party

Margaret Hawkins, author of the book Lydia's Party, stopped by for a Q&A.



What inspired you to write Lydia’s Party?

I was thinking about the complications of close-knit groups – families and old friends – and how they relate to one another over time. It’s about love, of course, but not only. There are these other currents, privacy versus transparency, the challenges of individual expression versus being a good citizen. I started the book in January, so that’s where that came from. Really, surviving winter in Chicago, year after year, is a kind of psychological odyssey, reminding you at every turn that you’re going to die. Even in summer, you know what’s coming. Perversely, I suppose, I find that kind of invigorating.


Besides being a novelist, you are an art critic and senior lecturer at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago. How do your “day jobs” inform your fiction?

Everything informs my fiction – doing the laundry, walking my dog. The art part is just what I’m interested in so the themes in the novel and the jobs are both an outgrowth of that. Of course, it’s also true that after writing a weekly column about art for years I’ve seen a lot of inadvertently humorous press releases and couldn’t help poking some fun. The teaching part is drawn somewhat from life - that’s how you think when you teach: how am I going to get and hold attention without being gratuitously theatrical? - but the details are from my imagination. I’ve never given a lecture on Ivan Albright. Specifically, in terms of this book, I’m intrigued by how artists relate to the world at large, how they think of themselves and justify the lives they (we) lead. I mean, is it really all right to lock yourself in a room and spend your days painting pictures or writing stories? I hope so, but sometimes I wonder.


Your descriptions of Norris’s paintings are incredibly vivid. Are they based on the work of a real-life painter or did they spring wholly from your imagination?

They pretty much spring from my imagination. The figure paintings are what I might like to paint if I could. But it’s like teaching; making up ideas for paintings is a lot easier than making actual paintings. I admire good figure painters, especially when they do something new with the genre. It takes a lot of guts to fly in the face of art history.


Did you ever have a List of Fears, as Lydia does?

Not exactly but when I was in seventh grade I had a teacher who started the year by asking us a battery of personal questions. We had to write down the answers and turn them in. One of the questions was what are you afraid of? We were supposed to make a list. I don’t know if he was just indulging his curiosity or if it was school policy and this was some kind of “modern” technique to better understand children’s psyches but I remember loving that exercise. It was thrilling to me for some reason, to be invited to contemplate, then name my fears, and for years I went over the list in my mind, adding and subtracting items. I can’t remember much of it now but I do recall that the first item was big black dogs. Which is funny because my childhood dog had been medium-sized and black, and when I got to be an adult the dog I got was as big and black as you can get. So I gave that paradox to Lydia. I kind of like that it doesn’t make obvious sense. Maybe the power suggested by such a dog is an aspect of herself she feared?


Who are some of your literary influences?

I guess your deepest literary influences are what you read and loved when you were a child up to about fourteen or fifteen so mine would be A Wrinkle in Time, Alice in Wonderland, Oliver Twist, Lolita, the Bobbsey Twins, East of Eden, Edith Hamilton’s Mythology. For years I went to a Baptist church with my friend Debbie so I read the Bible. And my father pressed boy books on me – I don’t think he thought much of books by or about girls - so I read Tom Sawyer, Treasure Island. Everything I read influences me, though. I love newspapers.


As the novel progresses, the focus seems to shift from Lydia to Norris. Why is that?

I’m intrigued by the way people who are close to one another, especially people who are sometimes adversarial, seem to trade personality traits over time. You see it in couples, sometimes when they break up. And it happens when people die, the surviving friend or partner or offspring will take on traits of the person who’s gone, traits they didn’t even like, without knowing or intending to. It’s a kind of immortality. I thought Lydia was passing the baton to Norris, even though she didn’t mean to, like it was Norris’s turn to do some of the unsung work in the world now. She’s just getting started at the end. I didn’t plan that exactly; it just seemed to be what the story needed, a kind of opening out into the ambiguous future. Maybe, also, the book ends with Norris because a life story doesn’t end when someone dies. The story gets passed along to other people, to make something more from it. There tends to be a belief that the passing on of a spiritual inheritance is only a family matter – books often end with the next generation picking up where the older one left off – but it happens among friends, too, and that’s almost more poignant because the time is shorter and there’s less recognition for these relationships. Friendship doesn’t hold the same glorious position in the public imagination that family does.


You do a wonderful job of chronicling the varied experiences of each woman as they maneuver middle age. Are these characters based on real-life women of your acquaintance?

No! But the dog, Maxine, is. She’s based on my late dog Max (the big black one). He was wilder, though.


How did writing this novel affect your own feelings about growing older?

I think I was working out some stuff. I feel better now than I did when I was writing it.


What are you working on now?

Another novel, of course. Also, I just finished an essay for Katherine Ace, a painter who revisits Grimm Brothers fairy tales, and I’m starting one for my friend Richard Loving, an amazing painter who is about to celebrate his 90th birthday the same week his new show opens.



About the book:

For fans of Anne Tyler and Anna Quindlen, a mesmerizing portrait of friendship that explores seven women’s lives with a generous embrace and wondrous wisdom

Lydia is having a party—it’s a party she hosts every year for six women friends who treasure the midwinter bash. Over a table laden with a feast of food and wine, the women revel in sharing newsy updates, simmering secrets, and laughter. As this particular evening unfolds, Lydia prepares to make a shattering announcement.

As we follow these friends through their party preparations, we meet flawed but lovable characters who are navigating the hassles of daily chores while also meditating in stolen moments on their lives, their regrets, their complicated relationships, and their deepest desires. When Lydia’s announcement shocks them all, they rediscover the enduring bonds of friendship and find their lives changing in unexpected ways.

Tender, wryly funny, and exquisitely written, Lydia’s Party poignantly considers both the challenges of everyday life and of facing our fears while creating characters whose foibles and feistiness will capture readers’ hearts.



About the author:

Margaret Hawkins is a Senior Lecturer at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago. She is the author of two previous novels, A Year of Cats and Dogs, and How to Survive a Natural Disaster, and a memoir about her sister, After Schizophrenia: The Story of My Sister’s Reawakening.




Featured Book: For Nobody's Eyes Only by Nick Redfern



About the book:

Under the terms of the Freedom of Information Act, government agencies have declassified millions of pages of documents on numerous subjects. But there are other files, many of a far more intriguing nature than those the government has already released. They’re the ones that agencies haven’t released. For Nobody’s Eyes Only picks the locks to the secret vaults “they” don’t want any of us to see.


About the author:

NICK REDFERN works full time as an author, lecturer, and journalist. He writes about a wide range of unsolved mysteries, including Bigfoot, UFOs, the Loch Ness Monster, alien encounters, and government conspiracies. His previous books include Monster Files; The World’s Weirdest Places; The Pyramids and the Pentagon; Keep Out!; The Real Men in Black; The NASA Conspiracies; Contactees; and Memoirs of a Monster Hunter. He writes for many publications, including UFO Magazine, Fate, and Fortean Times. Nick has appeared on numerous television shows, including Fox News; The History Channel’s Ancient Aliens, Monster Quest, and UFO Hunters; VH1’s Legend Hunters;National Geographic Channel’s The Truth about UFOs and Paranatural; BBC’s Out of this World; MSNBC’s Countdown; and SyFy Channel’s Proof Positive. He can be contacted at http://nickredfernfortean.blogspot.com




Sunday, January 26, 2014

Review: Pretenders by Lisi Harrison

Three girls, two guys, five secret journals.

The five most popular students at Noble High have secrets to hide; secrets they wrote down in their journals.

Now one of their own exposes the private entries...

I am leaking these because I'm tired and I know you are too. The success bar is too high and pretending has become the only way to reach it. Instagrams are filtered, Facebook profiles are embellished, photos are shopped, reality TV is scripted, body parts get upgraded like software, and even professional athletes are cheating. The things we believe in aren't real.

We are pretenders.



E-galley received for review.

I enjoy a good teen fiction so when I came across this I was immediately intrigued.  This was my first experience with the author so I wasn't sure what to expect but I was quite pleased.

While I wasn't overly taken in by the characters as people they were nicely written and believable.  The journal format was fun, if a bit confusing at first, and made for an extremely fast read with breaking points every few pages.

The only thing I didn't like was that it just up and ends with a giant cliffhanger which I found a little bizarre.  Of course, these were journals so I guess that is were the first student journal volumes were supposed to have run out.  I didn't find it particularly annoying as I know there are future volumes but it may be bothersome to some readers as there is no closure as there is in most books in a series.

I highly recommend this fun, frothy read to anyone looking for a solid read full of teen drama.

★★☆☆ = Liked It



Book Spotlight & Giveaway: My Whispers of Horror by Brine Books

Women search for happiness no matter where they live. They want to build a life, family, career in order to insure a wholesome future. But in much of the world the patriarchal cultures women are born into simply nip at a woman’s potential and brutally guards the slave-like position that women occupy.

Women struggle as they are bought and sold as property. Their inheritance of an unequal and corrupt system that works against them. All while being enforced by domestic violence which women must deal with alone.

These issues, and so much more, are addressed by the voices of real women in ex-USSR nations. We included anonymous letters that will touch and terrify you on a personal level, while learning what women still have to deal with today.



About Brine Books:

We are an activist publishing company established as a partnership by a husband and wife in Ontario, Canada. The mission of this business is bring awareness for serious human rights issues around the world, while raising funds to expand our capabilities and to help fund non-profits and charities whose purpose is to better the world.

Our main purpose as a company is to find ways to better the world. We feel that if we fail in this mission then we fail as a business, so we will not give up on our goal. The release of our books and the profits that we raise are meant for this very purpose.

View their site at http://brinebooks.com



a Rafflecopter giveaway




Saturday, January 25, 2014

Giveaway: A Tale of Two Biddies by Kylie Logan




When it comes to solving mysteries, these ladies are in a league of their own…

Summer can be the best of times or the worst of times for the resort town of Put-in-Bay on Lake Erie. For Bea Cartwright, business is booming as guests storm her B and B for the Bastille Day celebration. In honor of the holiday, the League of Literary Ladies is reading the Charles Dickens’ classic, A Tale of Two Cities. It would be hard to make a more apropos selection—especially when they have their very own Defarge sisters, elderly twins Margaret and Alice, who run the local knitting shop.

On Bastille Day, the head-banging rock band Guillotine shows their chops for the tourists—but the celebration is soon cut short. With something needling the Defarge dowagers and secrets that lead to murder, solving this mystery will be a far, far better thing than the Literary Ladies have done before. They’ll just have to make sure to keep their heads while they try to stop a killer’s reign of terror….



Thanks to the author I have one copy to give away!

US only.

Enter via the Rafflecopter form below.


a Rafflecopter giveaway




Review: A Tale of Two Biddies by Kylie Logan




When it comes to solving mysteries, these ladies are in a league of their own…

Summer can be the best of times or the worst of times for the resort town of Put-in-Bay on Lake Erie. For Bea Cartwright, business is booming as guests storm her B and B for the Bastille Day celebration. In honor of the holiday, the League of Literary Ladies is reading the Charles Dickens’ classic, A Tale of Two Cities. It would be hard to make a more apropos selection—especially when they have their very own Defarge sisters, elderly twins Margaret and Alice, who run the local knitting shop.

On Bastille Day, the head-banging rock band Guillotine shows their chops for the tourists—but the celebration is soon cut short. With something needling the Defarge dowagers and secrets that lead to murder, solving this mystery will be a far, far better thing than the Literary Ladies have done before. They’ll just have to make sure to keep their heads while they try to stop a killer’s reign of terror….



Received for review.

I recently finished the first book in this series so I was intrigued to read this second one.

I admit that I wasn't particularly in love with Bea, Kate, and Chandra's incessant bickering in the first book so I was hesitant that it would continue into this book as well.  Thankfully the bickering seems to have run its course and the three are now all friends, along with Luella who was already everyone's friend in the first book.  This decrease in infighting certainly improved the story this time around.

I haven't read A Tale of Two Cities since high school so I'm not exactly up on the details as I was with Murder on the Orient Express, and I'm not a huge Dickens fan anyway, but this worked reasonably well even if you haven't read the original.  It is, of course, much better if you have read it so you can get all the in jokes but I so was not going to give myself an additional reading assignment just to get the in jokes in a cozy mystery.

Overall I was quite pleased with this and found it an enjoyable story with an intriguing mystery.  It was nice, light, fluffy cozy mystery goodness.  The series is growing on me and I am looking forward to the next in the series.

★★☆☆ = Liked It



Friday, January 24, 2014

Book Blast & Giveaway: In Bed With Mr. Wrong by Katee Robert

The blind date from hell is about to get hotter…

Brianne Nave is never doing her friends a favor again. When they begged her to go on a blind date, she didn’t expect someone so perfectly gorgeous. She’s a mousy librarian—totally not in this man’s league. And judging by his odd reaction when she opens the door, he knows it, too.

Air Force Pararescuer Ryan Flannery avoids his hometown at all costs. He’s not thrilled about the date until he’s shocked silent by the prickly little librarian’s sweet curves and kissable lips…and her smart mouth. But then an argument leads to a kiss that spirals out of control. How can two people have so little chemistry outside the bedroom when they fit together so perfectly in it?

When their friends strand them in a cabin to “work things out,” Bri’s not sure whether to kill him or put the industrial-sized box of condoms they find to use. Bottom line—Ryan’s career military and hates the tiny town she loves. He’ll leave, just like everyone else in her life. And if she’s foolish enough to give him her heart, he’ll take it with him.



About Katee:

New York Times and USA Today bestselling author, Katee Robert, learned to tell stories at her grandpa’s knee. Her favorites then were the rather epic adventures of The Three Bears, but at age twelve she discovered romance novels and never looked back.

Though she dabbled in writing, life got in the way—as it often does—and she spent a few years traveling, living in both Philadelphia and Germany. In between traveling and raising her two wee ones, she had the crazy idea that she’d like to write a book and try to get published.

Her first novel was an epic fantasy that, God willing, will never see the light of day. From there, she dabbled in YA and horror, before finally finding speculative romance. Because, really, who wouldn’t want to write entire books about the smoking-hot relationships between two people?

She now spends her time—when not lost in Far Reach worlds—playing imaginary games with her wee ones, writing, ogling men, and planning for the inevitable zombie apocalypse.



a Rafflecopter giveaway




Featured Book: The Exodus Reality by Scott Alan Roberts and Dr. John Ward



About the book:

In this groundbreaking work, the authors reexamine humanity's most enduring account of bondage, emancipation, and freedom. The Great Exodus is the story of how one man, empowered by divine epiphany, brought the mighty ancient kingdom of Egypt to its knees. For thousands of years, this story has bolstered the faithful of three major religions, though little historical data confirms it. So the question must be asked: Did it ever really happen?

Roberts, a historian and theologian, and Ward, an archaeologist, Egyptologist, and anthropologist, dig deeply into historical records to answer the most vexing questions:
  • Is there any historical evidence for the biblical account of the Great Exodus?
  • Was Moses a real person?
  • Where is the Biblical Mount Sinai?
  • What is the Ark of the Covenant, and where did it come from?
  • Why did Moses write about the Serpent and the Nephilim?
  • Is there a Templar and Masonic connection to the events and personages in the story?
Did the Exodus take place under Amenhotep II or Amenhotep III, two pharaohs of the same royal house separated by two generations and 80-odd years? Or were Thutmoses III, Hatshepsut, and Amenhotep Son of Hapu at the core of the action? The authors present two opposing, yet strangely interlaced historical accounts for the Exodus, naming the historical pharaohs and surprising candidates for the historical Moses. While Roberts presents an account that finds its moorings in the efficacy of scriptural historicity, Ward presents a new and completely unique theory for the Exodus and its cast of characters.



About the authors:

Scott Alan Roberts is an accomplished historian, theologian, writer, public speaker, illustrator, and designer. He attended Bible college and theological seminary, but left for a nearly 30-year career in advertising. He is the founder of the Paradigm Symposium and publisher of Intrepid magazine. Roberts is also the author of The Rise and Fall of the Nephilim and The Secret History of the Reptilians (both from New Page Books). He lives with his wife and children in New Richmond, Wisconsin.

Throughout the years, John Richard Ward has conducted numerous investigations of ancient Egyptian architecture and symbolism, and has explored the trade routes of the Western Sarahan Desert. Ward was also recruited by the Knights Templar of Britannia, who have actively sponsored him to conduct several archaeological and historical surveys and expeditions. He and his partner, Dr. Maria Nilsson, are currently engaged in the epigraphic surveys at the quarries of Gebel el Silsila, south of Luxor on the Nile..




Thursday, January 23, 2014

Featured Book: Tales of Ever by Jen Wylie



About the book:

Tales of Ever is suitable for readers 10 and up. Originally written as a novella series, it has been reworked and is now available as a complete novel.

A few months ago, I was a normal girl. Life sucked, and just like everyone else, I took the simple things for granted. At least until I got this new power, a "gift" mom called it. Apparently, I'm a firestarter. I didn't want to be. I didn't ask to be. It would be cool if it wasn't so dangerous and I knew how to control it. When an uncle I'd never heard of showed up to take care of me after my mom died, I should have been grateful. As it turned out, my whole family isn't normal and more than a little bit crazy. I thought things couldn't get any worse. I was wrong.

They banished me to Ever.

* * * * *

Welcome to Ever.

Ever; a deadly realm where feared, powerful, and dangerous magical beings are banished. It's not a world, but a magically created prison you can never break out of. Who, or what, made Ever? I've no idea. They were powerful, and cruel. That is all I can tell you.

Ever is like, and unlike, every other world. Nothing is safe. Safety is a dream. Ever is a nightmare. Few survive their first day. Nothing is what it seems. If something appears safe, it isn't. If something appears dangerous, well it is, but probably more than you think.

Ever has no sun, no moon, and no stars at night. Time is told by the ever changing color of the sky where portals open, dropping new inhabitants or new terrors. Time does pass. Don't worry, you won't get old. You won't live that long.

The landscape changes without reason from desert to jungle. The flora isn't safe at any time. There is food, if you can find it without getting eaten yourself. Most plants and animals are poisonous. So is the water.

Are you afraid? You should be. This is the end. It gets worse of course. Remember the portals? Do you think angels come through? Innocent people rarely do. Mostly, it is evil people, people too powerful to kill. Their magic works here. The creatures are worse.

Do you understand? Well, you will eventually, or you'll die. There is no escaping Ever.

Ever.



Excerpt

Fire.

I see it everywhere.

It started a year ago, maybe more. I don't remember. Images of fire appear more now than they did before.

Flames always dance just out of sight. They flicker on school lockers, in windows, anywhere. Everywhere.

Now they hover over the road as I run. If I didn't know better, I'd think they were only mirages from the heat. They aren't real. They never are. Nothing burns, there is no heat. I hate seeing them. Every time they appear, I wonder if I'm crazy.

Glaring at my watch, I round the block. School sucked today, as usual. I've run farther and faster than I normally do, trying to push all my stupid problems away while trying to ignore the fire.
The last year I've been unsettled. Sometimes I get uncomfortable hot flashes. I don't understand why. Mom gets them sometimes, too. She says not to worry about it. I wish I could, but I know I'm too young for such things and they have been coming more often.

I can't tell her about seeing the fire, or about the dreams. She wouldn't believe me and I don't want to put more stress on her.

We do Yoga and that helps. So does running. I've done a lot of both as the months pass and things only get worse.

It hasn't been the best year. Mom lost one of her jobs. She found another, but it doesn't pay as much. Lack of money really stresses her out.

I hope she'll let me get a decent job soon. Something other than yard work and babysitting. I want to help. Mom looks so tired lately. She's really starting to worry me.

In a few months, I'll be sixteen. I haven't asked about getting my driver's license. I'm sure Mom won't bring it up either. We don't have money for a car, anyway. We don't even have money for lessons or the stupid license test.

What would I do if something happened to Mom?

I have no idea. We don't have any really close friends. A few people we sort of talk to, like our old neighbor, Mrs. Green. No family either, at least none that Mom ever talks about.

I don't have any friends at school. Even though I go to a public school, most of the kids there have money. We don't, and it shows. People can be so fickle. Of course, I don't really try to make friends. I fall into the quiet and shy group. Years ago I gave up trying. Too many times I thought I'd found a friend and then got stabbed in the back.

Of course seeing fire sets me apart, too. The fear of someone finding out how weird I am forces me to keep my distance. I know normal people don't see fire like I do, but some seem obsessed with it. I watch them play with matches and lighters outside at school and I only shake my head.

I'm not obsessed. What I see scares me. If I could, I'd choose to never see the flames again.



About the author:

Jen Wylie resides in rural Ontario, Canada with her  two boys, Australian shepherd and a disagreeable amount of wildlife. In a cosmic twist of fate she dislikes the snow and cold.

Before settling down to raise a family, she attained a BA from Queens University and worked in retail and sales.

Thanks to her mother she acquired a love of books at an early age and began writing in public school. She constantly has stories floating around in her head, and finds it amazing most people don’t. Jennifer writes various forms of fantasy, both novels and short stories.




Book Excerpt: The Polaris Protocol by Brad Taylor

Brad Taylor, author of the book The Polaris Protocol, stopped by to share with us an excerpt from his book.






About the book:

Retired Delta Force commander Brad Taylor returns with the fifth propulsive thriller in his New York Times bestselling Pike Logan series.

Taskforce operators Pike Logan and Jennifer Cahill are used to putting their lives at risk, but in The Polaris Protocol it’s Jennifer’s brother and countless more innocents who face unfathomable violence and bloodshed.

Pike and Jennifer are in Turkmenistan with the Taskforce—a top-secret antiterrorist unit that operates outside US law—when Jennifer gets a call from her brother, Jack. Working on an investigative report into the Mexican drug cartels, Jack Cahill has unknowingly gotten caught between two rival groups. His desperate call to his sister is his last before he’s kidnapped.

In their efforts to rescue Jack, Pike and Jennifer uncover a plot much more insidious than illegal drug trafficking—the cartel that put a target on Jack’s back has discovered a GPS hack with the power to effectively debilitate the United States. The hack allows a user to send false GPS signals, making it possible to manipulate everything from traffic signals and banking wire transfers to cruise missiles, but only while the system’s loophole remains in place.

With the GPS hack about to be exploited and Jack’s life at stake, Jennifer and Pike must find a way to infiltrate the cartel’s inner circle and eliminate the impending threat. The price of failure, for both the Taskforce and the country, is higher than ever.



About the author:

BRAD TAYLOR is the New York Times bestselling author of four previous Pike Logan novels.

He served for more than twenty years in the US Army, including eight years in 1st Special Forces Operational Detachment–Delta, commonly known as Delta Force.

He retired as a Special Forces lieutenant colonel and now lives in Charleston, South Carolina.




Wednesday, January 22, 2014

Review: Rosemary and Crime by Gail Oust

Murder comes well-seasoned in this charming mystery featuring a smart and spunky new amateur sleuth, small-town Georgia spice shop owner Piper Prescott

Piper Prescott, a transplanted Yankee living in the South, has got her sass back. She might be down, but don’t count her out. “Change of life?” she asks. Bring it on. Recently divorced, Piper decides to pursue a dream she’s secretly harbored: owning her own business, Spice it Up!, a spice shop in her adopted hometown, Brandywine Creek, Georgia. But Piper’s grand opening goes awry when the local chef who’s agreed to do a cooking demo is found stabbed. Not only did Piper find the body, she handled the murder weapon and doesn’t have a witness to her alibi, making the case look like a slam dunk to brand new police Chief Wyatt McBride. Desperate to uncover the truth—and prove her innocence—Piper enlists the help of her outspoken BFF Reba Mae Johnson to help track down the real culprit. The pair compile a lengthy list of suspects and work to eliminate them using their own creative brand of sleuthing techniques including stakeouts, breaking and entering, and one very unorthodox chocolate pie. When Piper narrowly avoids being a victim of a hit-and-run, she knows she’s getting closer to the truth, but can she catch the killer and clear her name before she becomes the next victim?

A captivating start to a new series featuring an unstoppably fabulous new crime-solving heroine, a colorful cast of small town characters, and more than a pinch of Georgia charm, Rosemary and Crime by Gail Oust is sure to delight fans of Diane Mott Davidson and Donna Andrews.




E-galley received for review.

First, I have to admit that I never did finish reading this.  I actually had to abandon it after the very first chapter because the characters were too annoying to continue.  They had me gritting my teeth and wanting to throw my Kindle against a wall.  They were that bad.

There was nothing "charming" about the uber-bitch main character Piper.  She is recently divorced from her lawyer husband who, surprise surprise, left her for a younger woman.  She spends the entire first chapter bemoaning the fact that she has lost her McMansion and now has to actually work for the first time in her life.  She complains incessantly about how she's so "broke" but she owns the building her shop and apartment are in.  Yup, real broke there honey.

Piper's best friend is the white trash Reba Mae, proprietor of a hair salon and one time neighbor - before Piper and her husband moved to McMansionville.

The ex-husband, meanwhile, is a slimy lawyer with a 24 year old blonde, short skirted girlfriend.  Frankly, if I were the husband, I would have left her too, she's such a bitch.

The cliches in the first few pages are out of this world.  I've never seen such characters with so little creativity put into them.  There is not a single redeeming quality among any of them, including the supposed "heroine", Piper.

I just couldn't stomach this offensive bunch of characters and their "poor me" attitudes enough to continue to even the second chapter so I can't comment on the mystery.

I cannot recommend this at all, unless you enjoy reading about privileged divorced women whining about their imaginary money problems and how their husbands left them.  I certainly will not be reading future books in the series.

☆☆ = Didn't Like It



Featured Book: Save a Spaniel by Cathy Mitchell



About the book:

This novel follows a rescue dog as she travels to a permanent and loving home and a job as a therapy dog in a nursing home. Grounded in studies of dog behavior and psychology, the book starts at an animal shelter in upstate South Carolina, where Star, a Boykin Spaniel, faces euthanasia, and follows her through rescue and into homes in Columbia, SC; Atlanta, GA; Ocracoke, NC and Asheville, NC. It describes, unsentimentally, the challenges a rescue dog faces while adapting to new owners.



Tuesday, January 21, 2014

Book Blast & Giveaway: High Pressure the Executioner by Robert Davis




In central Africa, all seems well in the House of Ra, until a top Warlord finds his three daughters beheaded. Queen Ramala and three of her children have barely escaped a kidnapping by Warlords who believe the cunning Queen is the murderer. The Queen’s cousin, Tara, has not been so lucky. Kidnapped by Warlords, her life now hangs in the balance. But all is not lost as the Queen’s six children and their cousin prepare to spring into action. La, Dan, Shaya, Don, Ram, Danaaa, and Yin have just transformed into the Hammer-Axe Six.

Danaaa, a child prodigy and the youngest of the six children, takes her inherited fighting skills to outstanding levels. Danaaa is not exactly street-smart, but she is an expert at protocol. Because of her uncanny ability to swing an ax with lightning-fast accuracy, Danaaa becomes known as High Pressure Executioner—and it is not long before her siblings take advantage of her skills in order to gain power.

In this fantasy novel, as the Hammer-Axe Six begin their quest to find Tara and seek retribution for the murders, Danaaa embarks on a dangerous path that leads to the realization that sometimes even her trusty ax cannot save her from evil.



About the Author:

Robert Davis loves to create unique and interesting family stories. He is the author of The Butcher, The House of Ra, The Hammer-Axe Six, and The Number One Princess. Robert currently lives in Cleveland, Ohio, where he enjoys local and state parks.



a Rafflecopter giveaway




Book Blast & Giveaway: Will You Be My Friend? by Kim Heaton Ramsay





Marley Mouse wants to make some new friends.

During Marley’s search she meets four kind creatures who are very different from her.

Sweet Marley offers her friendship to each of them despite their differences and has lots of fun with her new friends.




Kim Heaton Ramsay works in healthcare and has spent her career helping people. Will You Be My Friend? is Kim’s first illustrated children’s book. She lives near Fort Worth, Texas with her husband, to whom she has been married for 27 years. Kim has two grown children, a son and a daughter.



a Rafflecopter giveaway




Monday, January 20, 2014

Book Blast & Giveaway: Traveling Business Class by Randall L. Erickson, PhD




In this unusual memoir and travelogue, a longtime employee of 3M climbs up the corporate ladder and starts traveling the world—for free. Author Randall L. Erickson, PhD, recalls his adventures of traveling throughout the world. His looks back on being named an honorary member of the House of Lords, meeting the pope one Easter Sunday in Rome, and touring the Imperial Palace in Tokyo.

Those stories are just the beginning; he also shares the hilarious tales of how he pretended to be a male prostitute in Madrid and how he was saved from a Chinese prison because he smoked cigarettes. He also provides practical guidance, such as how to find a western toilet in Japan, how to dry your underwear when your luggage doesn’t arrive, and tips on experimenting with new foods. Erickson had such a variety of experiences while traveling on business that his wife dubbed him “the Forrest Gump of 3M.” After hearing about his adventures, there’s no doubt that you’ll agree with her; get some practical advice for having fun while abroad in Traveling Business Class.



About the Author:

Randall L. Erickson, PhD, received his bachelor’s degree in chemistry from Concordia College in Moorhead, Minnesota, and his doctorate in physical chemistry in 1965 from North Dakota State University in Fargo, North Dakota. He retired from 3M after thirty-three years and currently lives with his wife, Nancy, in North Oaks, Minnesota. He still enjoys traveling, but now he has to pay for it himself.



a Rafflecopter giveaway




Book Blast & Giveaway: To Kill For His Queen by Carolina West




Living in the world of werewolves, vampires, and dark magic can have a certain effect on a child, especially when that child is Hassen Mason, who seems destined to bring ruin to those he loves. Hassen was abandoned as a child and was immersed in the world of magic by the strange creatures that raised him. His lineage was a mystery, but no mystery buried in the past can stay buried for long—especially when that mystery is strong enough to span centuries.

An accident leaves Hassen without memories, and he must find a way to remember who he was and what his life meant to him before his past creeps up and kills him. He encounters evils worse than abandonment—vengeful demons and walking dead. Somehow, Hassen’s family was involved in this dark underworld. Now he has to fight his own internal battle: Is he a good guy or one of the villains?

Then he meets Carissa—a woman he suspects he knew before he lost his memory. She has had a similarly troubled past, and although the two of them are from different worlds, they find a common bond that even dark spirits cannot break. Will Hassen’s good side be strong enough to battle the side that longs to be bad? Will Carissa’s love keep him sane, or will the truth about his family finally cast him into the endless abyss of insanity?



a Rafflecopter giveaway




Featured Book: Space Gamble by J.W. Delorie



About the book:

Operator Kennith J Furgis is a thirty five year old heavy set black male. He was born and raised in the wealthy section of Chicago where he followed his friend Justin Drake into the service of the Western Empires space fleet. After countless cooperate wars, the Earth was divided into numerous empires before the last two remaining empires struggled for Earth and the solar system. Kennith Furgis watched the conflict through the Western Empires side. He also watched his own personal conflict unfold while serving the empire. After his close friend Justin Drake, a forty two year old white male and now captain of the Western Empires famous heavy cruiser SS Hammerhead introduced him to Raynor, his personal troubles grew. Raynor is a beautiful full figured black woman around the same age as Kennith Furgis, and their attraction for each other caused trouble from the start. Kennith Furgis's feelings for Raynor was strong, strong enough to ignore the signs of future trouble and a wedding was performed. Soon after the conflict on Mars escalated and the planet which was nick named Big Red held the attention of both Empires. The Western Empire was interested in a free Mars with potential for trade and colony establishments, while the Eastern Empire wanted to rule with an iron fist. Raynor Furgis grew compassionate about the freedom of Big Red, causing a conflict in her marriage and Western Empire career. After a bloody war, and troubles of her own with her career, Raynor Furgis decided to assist with rebuilding the society on Big Red. Raynor Furgis left her husband and career behind taking with her Kennith Furgis's unborn son, Samuel Lafayette Furgis. Kennith Furgis left the Western Empires space fleet after witnessing the attention of both empires aggression grow towards each other as the newly discovered Mortelis ore was found. This ore was used to quickly disperse human kind throughout the solar system. 



About the author:

J. W. DeLorie was born in Boston, Massachusetts, and now lives in Las Vegas, Nevada. He used his education and experience in the casino industry, combined with his engineering experience and passion for science fiction to create a magnificent novel of action and drama set in the distant future. J. W. DeLorie has captured the essence of humanity from Las Vegas and launched it into space. The Space Gamble universe lures the reader into a realistic journey of gaming, political intrigue, and drama throughout our solar system.




Sunday, January 19, 2014

Book Spotlight & Giveaway: Secrets and Lies by Christine Amsden

Cassie Scot, still stinging from her parents’ betrayal, wants out of the magical world. But it isn’t letting her go. Her family is falling apart and despite everything, it looks like she may be the only one who can save them.

To complicate matters, Cassie owes Evan her life, making it difficult for her to deny him anything he really wants. And he wants her.

Sparks fly when they team up to find two girls missing from summer camp, but long-buried secrets may ruin their hopes for happiness.

Book 2 in the Cassie Scot Mystery series.




Excerpt

“I faced my former father for the first time since he had announced his intention to disown me. He looked just as he always had, with straight dark hair, brown eyes, a long, angular face, and a wide, curving mouth – curving downward into a frown, that is.

If Victor was the last person I had expected to see in the diner that morning, then my former father was the last person I wanted to see. Even now, with Victor explaining my part in his unusual scheme for revenge, I didn’t want my former father nearby. I didn’t want his help. I only hoped Nicolas and Juliana hadn’t broken their promise and told him about the life debt, or I would never hear the end of it.

The air crackled with visible tension. Sparks of shimmering red fire danced around my father’s head. Behind the counter, Mrs. Meyers twisted her hands together anxiously, as if afraid her diner might burn down. Her fears were not unjustified.

I stepped boldly between them, facing my father. “What are you doing here?“

“We need to talk,“ he said.

“I have nothing to say to you. You disowned me, remember?“

The color seemed to drain from his face as he stared past me, at his oldest enemy.

Victor raised his water glass in a mock toast. “I’ve known for some time. If it makes you feel any worse, so does everyone else in town who hasn’t been asleep for a week. Or at least, they guess.“

“I don’t care what you think you know. Stay away from my daughter.“With that, he grabbed my arm with a hand hot enough to leave a reddened imprint on my skin, and dragged me through the kitchen to the employee room at the back. Only then did he release my injured forearm.”



About the Author:

Christine Amsden has been writing science fiction and fantasy for as long as she can remember. She loves to write and it is her dream that others will be inspired by this love and by her stories. Speculative fiction is fun, magical, and imaginative but great speculative fiction is about real people defining themselves through extraordinary situations. Christine writes primarily about people and it is in this way that she strives to make science fiction and fantasy meaningful for everyone.

At the age of 16, Christine was diagnosed with Stargardt’s Disease, a condition that effects the retina and causes a loss of central vision. She is now legally blind, but has not let this slow her down or get in the way of her dreams. (You can learn more here.)

In addition to writing, Christine teaches workshops on writing at Savvy Authors. She also does some freelance editing work.

Christine currently lives in the Kansas City area with her husband, Austin, who has been her biggest fan and the key to her success. They have two beautiful children.



a Rafflecopter giveaway