Sunday, May 31, 2015

Featured Book: Hostage in Time by Linda Lauren


About the book:
For photographer Amanda Lloyd, being hired to film the historic Serenity house, home of Thomas Edison’s patent attorney Jonathan Brisbane, is a straightforward gig. Filming during re-enactment day, Amanda begins to explore the home, including the prohibited third floor. Suddenly and without warning, Amanda finds herself transported back in time to 1884 where, because she is brandishing her camcorder that he mistakes for a weapon, she is accused by Brisbane himself of being a spy in search of Edison’s secrets. Immediately placed under house arrest, she finds herself a hostage to history. She quickly becomes accustomed to the lifestyle and routine of the time and begins to grow closer to Jonathan. The quiet of their growing love is shattered when a scorned traitor sets them up, forcing the pair to work together to unravel the secrecy of missing documents before Amanda is arrested for treason and history is changed forever. With the help of a spiritualist medium, they are able to find and understand their destiny—but is it already too late? An exciting, mind-bending trip down the time-travel rabbit hole, Linda Lauren’s debut novel is a seemingly never-ending series of twists and turns that constantly keeps you guessing. Full of romance and intrigue, the juxtaposition of times and cultures serves as an extraordinary reminder that time and place matter little when it comes to human nature—despite technological advancements, changes in politics and sophistication, in our essence, we remain the same. At its core, this spiritual journey to find the truth of self is a quest for reconciling our past with our present, our heart with our minds, and the knowledge that who we are is not transient, but fixed, regardless of the gadgets at our disposal. Deftly capturing the mysterious spiritual journey while simultaneously building romantic and life-threatening tensions, Hostage in Time will leave you guessing until the final climactic sequence.

About the author:
Linda Lauren is a 4th Generation Psychic Medium who owns and operates Linda Lauren's Embracing The Universe in Mountainside, NJ. She has been a professional psychic since consulting with law enforcement in a murder investigation dating back to 1978. She is most noted for her ability to tap into the energy of a person via Intuitive Zoning™, which is by the touch of a hand, a look into the eyes, or the sound of a voice. When she stares into a person's eyes, Linda actually "sees" a shaded vision of events just as one would see on television. Slow moving flashes of pictures emerge of past, present or future. Because of this gifted ability, Linda is able to do sixty-second readings, as well as delve into past lives. Linda Lauren is also a Color and Energy Consultant and connects with people who come to her for guidance through the color and energy she senses around them. This led to the NY Times referring to her as the 'Travel Psychic™' wherein she reads that same energy to guide her clients with their travel plans. She is also a Reiki Practitioner; the use of universal life energy to help heal the mind, body and soul. Lauren's psychic abilities have been evident throughout her life. As a young child, she saw colors around people and with her Mother's help, learned to interpret those colors. As she grew, her family helped her understand and work with her psychic abilities. In Newark, NJ, where Linda first lived, her Grandmother, known as the 'Neighborhood Counsel' would teach her as well. She has spent her lifetime helping those who come to her. In high school she was known as 'Gypsy' and gave readings for .25¢ to students, teachers and administrators. In college, Linda's counseling education added to her knowledge of the mind, body and spirit connection. Lauren utilizes Psychic Profiling in which she incorporates her assessment of the color and energy around her clients, along with reading their handwriting or photo. This information also allows Linda to teach her clients how to create positive awareness in their life and environment. Her iApp, 'The Vibe' helps people connect regularly with positive energy through the colors and meanings of Linda Lauren's Energy Art™ and is available from iTunes. Linda Lauren has been featured on CNN, ABC-TV Nightline, The Nightly News with Chuck Scarborough on NBC New York, Better TV, WPIX, Open House NYC, in the New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, New York Post, People Pets, a&u magazine, The Daily News, Hamptons magazine, The Star Ledger, and the Chicago Tribune. She is the Resident Psychic on the Sway in the Morning Show-SiriusXM and The Ron & Yaya Show, Wild 102.9 Reno and Las Vegas. Lauren has also been heard on The Howard Stern Show, Just Jenny, Freewheelin' and The Jon Lieberman Show on SiriusXM. She has been a guest on NPR and America's Radio News Network. She was the resident psychic on The Micky Dolenz In the Morning Show on WCBS-FM in New York. Lauren's latest book, Sentimental Journey, her next eagerly anticipated time travel romance, will be released November 2014. Medium Rare-The Memoir of a Fourth Generation Psychic Medium is Linda Lauren's fascinating life story. Lauren's first book, Hostage in Time, is a paranormal time travel romance. All the books are available in print and e-book format. Lauren's columns can be found on her blog Medium Rare™, The Huffington Post and The Second Life Enquirer. Lauren's presence in the virtual reality world known as Second Life, compliments her abilities by allowing her to extend her reach to an international audience that comes to her for guidance and psychic medium readings. Her column, Psychic Companion has appeared in The New York Dog and The Hollywood Dog magazines. Lauren, who knew Jim Morrison, is an avid collector of The Doors and related rock memorabilia, and resides in New Jersey with her spunky Malti-poo, Gidget.

*This post may contain affiliate links*



Saturday, May 30, 2015

Featured Book: The Diet Dropout's Guide to Natural Weight Loss by Stan Spencer, PhD


About the book:
This book isn't about the latest celebrity diet, wonder food, or miracle supplement. It's about creating a personalized weight loss plan—your own easiest path to naturally thin. While you can lose weight with almost any diet, keeping the weight off is much more difficult, requiring permanent changes in eating and exercise habits. This book provides a science-based approach for making those changes in a way that works best for you, without wasting time, money, or effort. 

Dr. Spencer explains why we gain weight and why the fat lost by dieting almost always comes back. He then presents an array of practical weight loss tools for controlling emotional eating, calming cravings, boosting metabolism, and improving nutrition and exercise. In the final chapter he has you create a natural weight loss plan based on your unique set of needs, abilities, and preferences. Simple recipes are provided for weight loss foods that reduce cravings and prolong satisfaction. 

What this book offers is a solid approach to weight loss—self-directed, gradual, and lasting—in contrast to the quick but fleeting weight loss offered by most one-size-fits-all diet plans.

About the author:
Stan Spencer, PhD, is a biological consultant and former research scientist. He has conducted laboratory studies in biochemistry at Brigham Young University, in botany and evolution at Claremont Graduate University, and in genetics at the Smithsonian Institution. Stan lives in southern California and blogs on natural weight loss techniques at Fat Loss Science (fatlossscience.org or facebook.com/weightlossbook).

*This post may contain affiliate links*



Friday, May 29, 2015

Review: Phenomenal by Leigh Ann Henion

Elizabeth Gilbert, author of The Signature of All Things and Eat, Pray, Love “What a cool and fascinating ride. Leigh Ann Henion has tackled one of the great questions of contemporary, intelligent, adventurous women: Is it possible to be a wife and mother and still explore the world? Her answer seems to be that this is not only possible, but essential. This story shows how. I think it will open doors for many.” 

Heartfelt and awe-inspiring, Leigh Ann Henion’s Phenomenal is a moving tale of physical grandeur and emotional transformation, a journey around the world that ultimately explores the depths of the human heart. A journalist and young mother, Henion combines her own varied experiences as a parent with a panoramic tour of the world’s most extraordinary natural wonders. 

Phenomenal begins in hardship: with Henion deeply shaken by the birth of her beloved son, shocked at the adversity a young mother faces with a newborn. The lack of sleep, the shrinking social circle, the health difficulties all collide and force Henion to ask hard questions about our accepted wisdom on parenting and the lives of women. Convinced that the greatest key to happiness—both her own and that of her family—lies in periodically venturing into the wider world beyond home, Henion sets out on a global trek to rekindle her sense of wonder. 

Henion’s quest takes her far afield, but it swiftly teaches her that freedom is its own form of parenting—one that ultimately allows her to meet her son on his own terms with a visceral understanding of the awe he experiences every day at the fresh new world. Whether standing on the still-burning volcanoes of Hawai‘i or in the fearsome lightning storms of Venezuela, amid the vast animal movements of Tanzania or the elegant butterfly migrations of Mexico, Henion relates a world of sublimity and revelation. 

Henion’s spiritual wanderlust puts her in the path of modern-day shamans, reindeer herders, and astrophysicists. She meets laypeople from all over the world, from all walks of life, going to great lengths to chase migrations, auroras, eclipses, and other phenomena. These seekers trust their instincts, follow their passions, shape their days into the lives they most want to lead. And, somewhere along the way, Leigh Ann Henion becomes one of them. 

A breathtaking memoir, Phenomenal reveals unforgettable truths about motherhood, spirituality, and the beauty of nature. 

Oprah.com "Part travel memoir, part parenting manifesto and part inquiry into those 'fleeting, extraordinary glimpses of something that left us groping for rational explanations in the quicksand of all-encompassing wonder.'"

Received for review.

I wanted to like this, I really did, but I just couldn't.  The author just was not likable in the least.  Seriously, not at all.

From the moment she starts whining about the "adversities a young mother faces" to her discussions about meeting working class people (who she considers beneath her and really just curiosities) the woman grated on my nerves.  It was nails on a chalkboard times ten she was so annoying.  I wanted to smack her WASP self and tell her to get over herself.  Seriously, no one forced her to get pregnant and have a kid.  That was a choice she made and then she proceeds to bitch for 200 plus pages about how "tough" it is to be her.  Oh, boo-freaking-hoo.  Get back to me when you have a real problem.

Her incessant whining combined with her blatant feminist agenda was just intolerable and I was seriously tempted to go all Fahrenheit 451 on that thing.  I really cannot recommend this at all.  Seriously not at all.  Unless, of course, you enjoy reading about whiny WASPs bemoaning their "tough" lives.  In that case this will be a lovely read for you.

☆☆☆☆ = Didn't Like It



*This post may contain affiliate links*



Thursday, May 28, 2015

Review: 5 Months 10 Years 2 Hours by Lisa Reisman

When a disillusioned New York attorney decides to leave the law, buy a lipstick-red convertible, and hit the road, she doesn't expect to wake up in a hospital room with a malignant brain tumor and a prognosis of one year to live. Or that ten years later, she'll be competing in a grueling triathlon. "A meticulously written book that tells a remarkable story of not simply survival but of hard-won, bone-deep change. Lisa Reisman writes with unflinching clarity about what it means to have your life taken to the edge where, along with its possible end, you see your own flawed self. It's a testament to her tenacity, skill, intelligence and courage that she took that pivotal moment - a moment many of us would just as soon forget - and turned it into this extraordinary read. I recommend it to anyone who wants to understand what life is really about." - Joan Leegant, Wherever You Go






Received for review.

Normally I try to avoid memoirs, and those about cancer I avoid like the Plague, but this strangely intrigued me so I decided to give it a try and I'm quite glad I did.

The author transformed what could have been the typical yawn worthy poor me story into a truly interesting story about what really matters in life.  I might even call it inspiring.

The only ting I was no particularly impressed with was the way the author and her niece treated an elderly dog.  For a woman who was ill herself at the time I would expect some compassion but instead she encouraged the niece to try to ride the dog like a horse, poke at it, and generally harass it.  This was not becoming behavior and, thankfully, occurred late in the book or I would have abandoned the book.  It was this lack of compassion on the author's part that dropped this from four stars to three.

Overall, this is an interesting and fast read about one woman's journey with cancer and if you find such stories uplifting you are sure to enjoy this as well.

★★★☆☆ = Liked It




*This post may contain affiliate links*





Wednesday, May 27, 2015

Featured Book: My Planet by Mary Roach


About the book:
From acclaimed, New York Times best-selling author Mary Roach comes the complete collection of her “My Planet” articles published in Reader’s Digest. She was a hit columnist in the magazine, and this book features the articles she wrote in that time. Insightful and hilarious, Mary explores the ins and outs of the modern world: marriage, friends, family, food, technology, customer service, dental floss, and ants—she leaves no element of the American experience unchecked for its inherent paradoxes, pleasures, and foibles. 

On Cleanliness: 
Ed has crud vision, and I don’t. I don’t notice filth. Ed sees it everywhere. I am reasonably convinced that Ed can actually see bacteria. . . . He confessed he didn’t like me using his bathrobe because I’d wear it while sitting on the toilet. “It’s not like it goes in the water,” I protested, though if you counted the sash as part of the robe, this wasn’t strictly true. 

On the Internet: The Internet is a boon for hypochondriacs like me. Right now, for instance, I’m feeling a shooting pain on the side of my neck. A Web search produces five matches, the first three for a condition called Arnold-Chiari Malformation. While my husband, Ed, reads over my shoulder, I recite symptoms from the list. “‘General clumsiness’ and ‘general imbalance,’” I say, as though announcing arrivals at the Marine Corps Ball. “‘Difficulty driving,’ ‘lack of taste,’ ‘difficulty feeling feet on ground.’” “Those aren’t symptoms,” says Ed. “Those are your character flaws.” 

On Fashion: My husband recently made me try on a bikini. A bikini is not so much a garment as a cloth-based reminder that your parts have been migrating all these years. My waist, I realized that day in the dressing room, has completely disappeared beneath my rib cage, which now rests directly on my hips. I’m exhibiting continental drift in reverse. 

On Eating Healthy: So Ed and I were eating a lot of vegetables. Vegetables on pasta, vegetables on rice. This was extremely healthy, until you got to the part where Ed and I are found in the kitchen at 10 p.m., feeding on Froot Loops and tubes of cookie dough.

About the author:
MARY ROACH is the author of "Stiff: The Curious Lives of Human Cadavers," "Spook: Science Tackles the Afterlife," "Bonk: The Curious Coupling of Science and Sex," and "Packing for Mars: The Curious Science of Life in the Void." She lives in Oakland, California.

*This post may contain affiliate links*



Tuesday, May 26, 2015

Review: Contract City by Mark Falkin

The year is 2021 and the money is still green. The fully privatized city of Tulsa, OK, is home to Sara Paige Christie, a teenage girl with her heart set on a film career in L.A. and her camera trained on the graffiti-covered walls of the city’s outskirts. In pursuit of a documentary subject that might propel her from college hopeful to film school admittee at USC, Sara has focused her ambitions upon a singularly ubiquitous tag—WH2RR?? From the facades of storefronts to the walls of public restrooms, the tag is appearing nearly everywhere. Its stark all-capital letters and demanding question marks have captured Sara’s imagination, even as the private security personnel of Free Force Tulsa (FFT) scramble to eliminate the marks with power washers, gray-overs, and full censorship, stripping even photographs of the tags from the locally accessible Internet. 

Sara has no doubt that there is meaning hidden in plain sight, and she sets off on a mission to find the person behind the mysterious tags while balancing an already full life: her final exams, her wild best friend, a physical fitness test that threatens her GPA, and a family that seems almost oblivious to what’s happening just down the street from their suburban home. 

With the exception, perhaps, of her father. 

A retired Marine turned FFT investigator, Sara’s dad has been on the trail of the graffiti artist for his own professional reasons. And if he knows what’s going on, he’s not telling Sara. And they're not the only ones on the hunt… 

Tensions are rising in town and beyond. Between the machinations of the city’s home-grown megachurch, Chosen Hill, and the movements of a growing camp of homeless citizens parked just beyond Tulsa’s comfort and security, life in Tulsa is about to become very interesting, and Sara just might be in the right place to catch it all on film… … but only if she survives.

Received for review.

This follows the vein of the now standard dystopian teen novel and is fairly standard.  In a nutshell the world is horrible and the only way for it to be saved is through the actions of one unusually intelligent and motivated teen.  
This is written very well, so much so that I almost liked the main character, Sara, who was really rather annoying.  The story zipped along nicely and made this far less painful than it could have been.

Overall, this was a solid read for those who enjoy reading about whiny teens in dystopian worlds and I certainly recommend it for them.

★★★☆☆ = Liked It




*This post may contain affiliate links*





Monday, May 25, 2015

Review: Haven Lake by Holly Robinson

New from the author of Beach Plum Island... A natural-born storyteller presents a gripping story about grief, anger, and the healing power of love. 

Sydney Bishop hasn’t returned to Haven Lake, her idyllic childhood home, since a pair of shocking, tragic deaths shattered her family when she was only sixteen. Now a child psychologist engaged to marry a successful surgeon, Sydney has worked hard to build a relationship with Dylan, her fiancé’s teenage son, so she feels nothing but empathy when he runs away—until she discovers that his hitchhiking journey has led him to Haven Lake and her mother Hannah’s sheep farm. 

Sydney returns to Haven Lake for the first time in twenty years to coax the boy home. Against her daughter’s wishes, Hannah offers to take Dylan in until he’s ready to reveal his own troubling secrets. Now, for Dylan’s sake as well as their own, Sydney and Hannah must confront the devastating events that tore them apart and answer the questions that still haunt their family—and the suspicious surrounding community—about what really caused two people to die on their farm those many years ago.

Received for review.

I knew just from the description that this would be pretty standard Women's Fiction and it was.  There was nothing particularly outstanding about it and it was an average, mildly entertaining read.

This was filled with stereotypical, rather one dimensional characters - the troubled teen, the hippie off the grid mother, the surgeon fiance, the Latin lover, and the incredibly self centered and rather bitchy main character.  I spent the majority of the book frankly wanting to smack the holier-than-thou attitude out of Sydney.  She was just annoying beyond belief.

On top of the unlikeable characters the story was just so boring and tedious.  It just dragged on and on and on and was not helped by the frankly snooty sentence structure and excessive descriptive passages.

What finally put me over the edge from mild enjoyment to utter teeth-grinding horror was how Sydney described herself as "elephantine".  The word is bad enough, but clearly the author believes that any woman over the height of 5'2" is a fat cow and I frankly found that more than a bit offensive.  This was on top of how the character only wears flats because the author also believes that anyone over 5'2" shouldn't wear heels because it's apparently not ladylike or some such BS.

Overall, this was not a particularly enjoyable read.  It had some interesting bits, but most of those were outweighed by my intense dislike of the uber-bitch main character.  I really cannot recommend this.

★★☆☆☆ = Just Okay




*This post may contain affiliate links*




Sunday, May 24, 2015

Featured Book: Adventures in Raceland by A.J. Loft


About the book:


















About the author:

*This post may contain affiliate links*



Saturday, May 23, 2015

Author Interview: Timm Knight author of God's Will But My Choice

Timm Knight, author of God's Will But My Choice, stopped by for an interview.



Can you tell us a little bit about yourself?

I consider myself a continual work in progress always looking to express myself creatively.I enjoy writing whether its music, poetry or now books I strive to put forth my best efforts.


What do you do when you're not writing?

When I'm not writing I'm spending time with my 3 children. Being a single dad is job in itself so I do my best to find the balance and still pursue my professional pursuits.


When did you first start writing?

I first starting writing for fun about 9 years old. I wrote a sitcom episode and then I wrote a movie script. I did't really imagine doing anything with it though at that time.


Is there any particular author or book that influenced you in any way either growing up or as an adult?

From time to time I used to read books by authors like Nathan Mccall, Donald Goines and other writers in what's considered street literature. Their unique style and voice in their writing gave me the liberty to paint my stories however I saw it in my mind.


What inspired you to write this particular book?

I was initially inspired to write this book after sitting with my pastor who simply asked if I have ever considered writing a book. At first I didn't think much about it but days later I revisited the thought and simply asked myself. "Well, what would you write about?" And a year a 3 months later we have "God's Will But MY Choice"


What was your favorite chapter (or part) to write and why?

One of my favorite chapters in the book is "The Plan" because it shows how even when you have the best of intentions things don't always go according to plan.


What is best writing advice you can give?

Write what you believe and believe in what you write!


Is there anything else you'd like your readers to know about the book?

I'm just excited to share this coming of age story with the world!



About the book:

God’s Will But My Choice by Timm Knight is an emotional urban drama about a 14-year-old boy named Tim Stewart on the cusp of adulthood trying to find his true self. Although Tim is good in academics, he feels the pressure of his run down Clarksville neighborhood to keep his thug like appearance up. He is constantly getting into trouble fighting in the streets but now wants to start a non-violent gang with his best friends.

However, is there any such thing as a non-violent gang?

Tim’s life is further complicated by his manipulative, and self-serving stepmother Sunny who’s goal seems to be to drive him and his father apart. While hanging out in the park one day, Tim and his friends confront Darius a extremely jealous school rival. Moreover, this encounter lets him know that danger is on the way. Tim has dreams of becoming a young, legit businessman, but with his foe getting in the way will his dreams ever come true?

Feeling overwhelmed and hopeless, Tim decides to make a change and takes off for the big city looking to start his life a new.

What he doesn’t see coming is that you can’t always leave the past behind. And his sudden acts of defiance will hurt those he loves the most. No matter how far Tim tries to run or what trouble he gets into God’s will is always stronger than his choices or is it?

God’s Will But My Choice is a gritty yet touching coming of age story about how the urban streets are changing the lives of young black boys soon to be young black men. In a story that’s both relatable and entertaining, readers will not soon forget this honest portrayal of the streets.



About the author:

Timm Knight was born in one of the most creative hubs in America Detroit, Michigan. Almost immediately, he fell in love with the arts. He started out playing piano by ear, then followed up with learning to play the violin in elementary school. His love for creativity naturally drove him to writing and producing songs of his own. During high school, he followed an entrepreneurial path formulating an entertainment company producing talent showcases, seminars and composing original music for singers, rappers and poets. Continuing his creative journey he now adds the title of an author on his list of achievements. Admittedly he never set out to write a fictional book; he was more interested in nonfiction. However, after a conversation with his pastor who asked him if he ever thought about writing a book. He sat down on his laptop and asked himself “Well, what would I write about? “ A year and three months later he debuts the first installment of a three-part series entitled “Gods Will But My Choice”.




Featured Book: The Adventures of Loriel the Wood Fairy by C.J. Walery


About the book:
Loriel is worried by the lack of communication from her Grandfairy Cyce and makes a journey to her cottage in the Forest of Echoes, to find it empty. Upon arrival she finds Grandfairy Cyce has been kidnapped by a goblin. This part of the story tells how Loriel, Padra (the house mouse) and Anya (the pet hummingbird) all help to save Grandfairy Cyce. Loriel is frantic with worry because she knows that goblins must be dangerous (not to mention smelly) and she will need to make a plan that does not endanger Grandfairy Cyce.









About the author:

*This post may contain affiliate links*



Friday, May 22, 2015

Review: Lost in Paris by Cindy Callaghan

Ooh la la! Gwen ends up on a Parisian scavenger hunt—with a cute French ami—in this M!X novel from the author of Lost in London. 

Gwen Russell is thrilled to hear she will be heading to Paris with her family. Even though the main reason for the trip is to see her three older brothers play lacrosse, Gwen and her Mom have plans to tour the city when they can. 

As soon as they land, Gwen is swept up in the city she has always wanted to see, and even meets a très cute boy named Henri. If that wasn't enough excitement, Gwen finds out that her all-time favorite band is playing a one-night only concert in Paris—and there are tickets available to the sold-old show for three lucky people. The catch? Fans who want a golden ticket have to work for it via a scavenger hunt around the City of Light. 

Through cryptic clues blasted out every day through a special website, Gwen and her new friends find themselves in a race against time—and against other die-hard fans—as they scramble to landmarks throughout Paris. And it turns out the concert tickets might not even be the biggest prize...

Received for review.

I recently read, and thoroughly enjoyed the author's previous book Lost in London, so I knew this would be just as fun and sweet and I was certainly not disappointed.

The whole idea of a treasure hunt around a beautiful city with a pet caretaker and hotel worker sounds a bit bizarre but it totally works.  Everyone has their own nice role to play in the hunt and it's fun to city Paris from their viewpoints.

This was a lovely, fast, fun read that readers young and old are sure to enjoy and I certainly recommend it.  I am eagerly awaiting the author's next release in the series, Lost in Rome.


★★★★ = Really Liked It




*This post may contain affiliate links*





Thursday, May 21, 2015

Guest Post: Lisa Barnett author of The Infinite Wisdom of the Akashic Records

Lisa Barnett, author of The Infinite Wisdom of the Akashic Records, stopped by to share with us a piece she wrote.






About the book:

The Infinite Wisdom of the Akashic Records is an extraordinary book filled with unparalleled tools for transformation. Accessing the Akashic Records is one of the most powerful paths to self-awareness and personal change currently available. Lisa carefully and lovingly guides you through the Akashic Knowing Wisdom Prayer System, a five-step system with three vibrational keys to directly and easily access your Akashic Record. You will also become skilled at:
  • The art of formulating questions to receive life-enhancing answers.
  • Releasing karma, soul contracts, and vows that bind you to negative life patterns.
  • Gaining clarity about personal situations by practicing exercises.
  • Learning new healing tools from the Akashic Lords to assist you in further releasing old issues and aligning with your life purpose.
Author Lisa Barnett has gathered all her most successful techniques, strategies, shortcuts, and wisdom into this one book so you can do it yourself--anytime, anywhere.



About the author:

Lisa Barnett is the Founder of Akashic Knowing School of
Wisdom and an internationally recognized teacher with
more than twenty years of experience in the spiritual healing
forum. Through her school, Lisa has created resources to
share this ancient yet accessible Akashic Field. She accesses
the healing guidance of the Akasha for her clients using sacred prayers and healing tools, providing her students with the knowledge to enter their own personal soul record.

Lisa specializes in empowering individuals to find greater fulfillment, happiness, abundance, health, and ease by aligning with their Soul Path, realizing Soul Contracts, and completing Karma and Vows. This is all possible by incorporating information from their Akashic Record into daily life. The tools and prayers of the Akasha help her clients and students at a soul level to create the life their hearts and souls desire.

Lisa has developed an amazing program that helps ordinary people experience lasting transformation, and her special healing technique called “Pain Body Release” energetically helps to release accumulated emotional pain from this or past lifetimes. She has written five course manuals, produced dozens of audios, and currently leads frequent webinars to teach people around the world how to access their Akashic Record.



*This post may contain affiliate links*



Wednesday, May 20, 2015

Featured Book: Bawb's Raven Feathers by Robert Chomany


About the book:
BawB's Raven Feathers is pure and simple. It kickstarts moments of self-reflection and inner peace, drawing on nostalgia while pushing the reader to live in the present and dream of tomorrow. Alternating brief chapters of prose with perfectly rhythmic, adult rhymes, this book holds appeal for the masses.












About the author:
Robert (BawB) Chomany is the author of the BawB's Raven Feathers series, pure and simple inspirational books. He was born in Calgary, Alberta, with a clear view of the mountains to the west. These mountains eventually drew Bob in, and he spent many years living in the company of nature, exploring his spiritual side. Bob pursues his many interests with passion. You are just as likely to find him twisting a wrench or riding his motorcycle, as you are to find him holding a pen, writing. Bob still lives in Calgary, where he finds happiness by simply living with a smile and sharing his words of wisdom with others.

*This post may contain affiliate links*



Tuesday, May 19, 2015

Review: Auditory Viewpoint by Lillian R. Melendez

Gloria Rank has lived her entire life in the dark. Blind since birth, she has made a name for herself as a respected talk radio show host in New Jersey. When her younger sister, Anna, has her identity stolen and a man is murdered outside her apartment, Anna becomes the prime suspect in an FBI investigation. But when bodies begin piling up around her, the FBI has to admit that she is being stalked by a murderer. 

ith the FBI focused in the wrong direction, it is up to Gloria to teach Anna to use her other senses--hearing, touch, taste, and smell--which she never really had to completely rely on before to help uncover a ring of identity thieves and stop the killer from taking her life, and perhaps Gloria's as well! 

Their only hope for survival is an experiment in perception that will unearth heartbreaking secrets and catapult Gloria into a darkness of the heart beyond any that she has ever known.



Received for review.

This had potential but the rather poor writing took away any sort of interest and enjoyment.  English is the author's second language and, sadly, it shows.  The writing is so stiff and boring that I just couldn't bring myself to slog through it.  It actually would have been better had the author written it in her native language and had it translated. There are just so many little errors in syntax and such that it's truly unbearable for any length of time.

Overall, if you can get past the poor writing this may be a good story but I really cannot recommend it.

★★☆☆☆ = Just Okay




*This post may contain affiliate links*





Monday, May 18, 2015

Author Interview: Eli Summers author of The Winter Experience

Eli Summers, author of The Winter Experience, stopped by for an interview.



Can you tell us a little bit about yourself?

I've always loved reading, my first ever book I read was called "The Beasties" by William Sleator, that really started my love of reading. What prompted me to start actually writing stories was when I read a book by David Levithan called "Boy meets Boy" which centred around a gay male character. Struggling with my own sexuality, it was an outlet to let myself be free. Eventually, when I came out, it just became natural to write about being gay and having gay characters.


What do you do when you're not writing?

On my downtime, which I don't have very much of; I find myself watching Netflix or sleeping. Exciting life, I know. Work takes over most of my time but I do like to go out with friends for a few drinks, go to a movie or just spend some time playing video games. I live a pretty calm life.


When did you first start writing?

I started writing when I was thirteen, making poems for school or just for fun. I started writing actual stories when I was sixteen. Short stories about romance and finding love or being accepted. As time progressed, I started getting ideas for all different types of stories. I finished my first novel in 2010 called "Abaddon: The Chosen Five". Overall, I've probably written about 300 poems, 150 short stories and about 7 novels.


Is there any particular author or book that influenced you in any way either growing up or as an adult?

"Boy meets Boy" by David Levithan was honestly the first book that really touched on topics that dealt with what was happening in my life. At the time, I was started to question my sexuality and my life and realized I may not be like all the other boys in my school. It really opened my eyes to a new way of thinking and one day, I hope in my lifetime, the story found in that book will be what real life is like. Where you can be gay and not judged or the Star Quarterback can not only be a boy, but be a drag queen as well.


What inspired you to write this particular book?

I've always wanted to find that "perfect one". I've been having a lot of trouble, so I wrote out a story about what I wanted love to be like. Mattie is in most parts exactly who I am and Morgan, he's the perfect boy for me.


What was your favorite chapter (or part) to write and why?

My favourite part to write had to be the scene after the first time Mattie and Morgan made love. It's such a sweet scene with such a romantic overtone I just loved writing it. Somehow, and I don't really know how, I made waking up in a car a romantic scene.


What is best writing advice you can give?

As Dory would say, "Just keep swimming". You just need to do what you love, don't worry about profit margins or sales or what people want to read. Write for yourself and eventually, people will see the passion you have and come to you.


Is there anything else you'd like your readers to know about the book?

It's fluffy with lots of romance and cute love. I want people to see that the love a man shares with another man can be just as adorable, romantic and normal as that a man shares with a woman.



About the book:

In this heartfelt romance, Mattie Hawkins, a coy, quiet fifteen-year-old, leaves his old homophobic classmates behind when he moves to the town of Saskatoon. Mattie is late for his first day at his intimidatingly large new school, but he isn’t the only one. When Mattie and seventeen-year-old Morgan Winters both reach for the door, their hands touch and electricity erupts through their bodies, and both boys know they have found the one. Mattie is coy, quiet, and easily flustered when he sets his eyes on the cool and collected Morgan. From his constant bedhead hair and carefree laugh to the way he always had a camera attached to his shoulders, Mattie was drawn to the crazy carefree charming and lovable mess that was Morgan Winters.

These two boys navigate friendship, acceptance, growth and love with their two best friends: Jenny, the lovable spitfire, and Julian, the teddy bear jock. Along the way, Mattie and Morgan discover a love so strong, so deeply intertwined in each other’s hearts that nothing can come between them, or can it? A faraway college looms over their heads and an unforeseeable circumstance threatens to break their seemingly impossible bond. Join these two on their journey to see if Mattie and Morgan’s love will prove strong enough to beat the odds or if the love they’re building will come crashing down around them. [Book #1 of the Seasons Experience Collection]



About the author:

Eli Summers was born in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan on May 30, 1990. An avid reader, even from an early age, writing seemed to be a calling to him. He started writing poems when he was thirteen and progressed into writing short stories and then novels in his late teens. As a member of the GLBT community, Eli has written numerous essays and stories based upon characters who are from the same community. Right now, he is working on a collection of romance novels called the "Seasons Experience Collection" as well as some other stand alone novels.

http://www.elisummers.com/




Review: Textastrophe by Matt Andrews

Once upon a time, prank phone calls were the best way to procrastinate, but in 2015, they’re so passé. Instead, Matt Andrews has mastered the art of prank texting. What happens when you offer to barter two sub-sandwiches for a used motorcycle? Who do you call when you want to build a mysterious man cave in your basement? What do you do if you need a knight in shining armor to deliver you to your high school reunion? If you've ever left a "contact me" pull-tab at your local grocery or posted an ad on Craigslist and received insane and unbelievable text messages in response, Andrews is very likely to blame. We'd be mad at him if we could stop laughing long enough to hit "send" on the exceptionally witty come back we thought of...too bad he's already moved on to his next target and deleted us from his phone, now only to be remembered in these pages of his laugh-out-loud funny book.

Received for review.

From the description I thought this was going to be quite funny and be a fun way to spend an hour or so reading.  It wasn't.  It was mildly amusing at best.  The pranks were tasteless and on par with something a twelve year old boy would come up with.  Not a single "joke" inspired a laugh, let alone a smile.

Overall, if you enjoy childish pranks worthy of Bart Simpson then this is the perfect book for you, otherwise give it a pass.


★★☆☆☆ = Just Okay




*This post may contain affiliate links*





Sunday, May 17, 2015

Featured Book: Primeval Origins: Paths of Anguish by Brett Vonsik


About the book:
An Epic Tale of the Origins of Mankind's Eternal War Between Good and Evil 

A routine paleontological dig takes an unexpected turn when Nikki, a talented graduate student, raises difficult questions about a mysterious weapon and creature that baffle the experts. Nikki suffers an accident...and finds herself living a vivid and terrifying episode of mankind's ancient past: a civilization where gods, alien intelligences, and horrific dangers seek to subjugate mankind. Seeing through the eyes of the young aspiring warrior Rogaan, Nikki is plunged headlong into a world she could never have imagined--a society simultaneously primitive and advanced, familiar and profoundly strange. As Rogaan and his best friend Pax face the injustices and challenges of their world, deep questions are raised about the true origins of mankind, and the nature of good and evil. Astonishing in its scope and detail, taking you into a fully created world beyond your wildest dreams, Primeval Origins: Paths of Anguish skillfully weaves together humanity's oldest creation myths, religious beliefs, and political landscapes to create a thrilling, fascinating epic with rich characters and compelling plot. Join the world of Primeval Origins now as it reveals the secrets of Creation's guiding hand: petulant godlings, noisy mortals, and ancient evils confronted by good in the ultimate test of the human soul.

About the author:
Brett Vonsik was born in 1963 in North Carolina. He graduated from the United States Air Force Academy and served as an aviator in Air Force Special Operations. Currently, Brett works in the defense industry by day while researching ancient mythologies, creation myths, religions, sciences and technologies, and writing on evenings and weekends. His children grown and prospering, Brett lives with his extraordinary wife of 26 years in Florida, where when not creating and detailing the world of Primeval Origins, he hunts, hones his shooting skills and enjoys his homestead. Visit the Primeval Origins website at http://www.primevalorigins.com. The website is loaded with news, the Primeval Origins world encyclopedia and lexicon (all the background elements that you just can't stuff into the books). To learn more about the author and Primeval Origins: Paths of Anguish, visit -- http://www.facebook.com/primevalorigins, http://www.outskirtspress.com/primevalorigins, and http://www.celestialfurypublishing.com.

*This post may contain affiliate links*



Saturday, May 16, 2015

Author Interview: A.J. Sendall author of Flank Street: In The Sydney Underworld

A.J. Sendall, author of Flank Street: In The Sydney Underworld , stopped by for an interview.



What do you do when you're not writing?

I spend as much time as I can reading, and always feel inspired by that to write more.
Walk the dogs, walk the horse, walk around the garden pulling weeds.


When did you first start writing?

I’ve always written, well, as far back as I can recall. Until 2011, that writing was just for me, or as rambling letters to friends and travelogues to family. I never thought about why, or if others did similarly, and the thought of publishing didn't enter my head.

Since 2011, I have been writing with the intent of publishing. It sorta changed my style, my voice, hopefully for the better.


Is there any particular author or book that influenced you in any way either growing up or as an adult?

Charles Dickens, Thomas Hardy, Dashiell Hammett


What inspired you to write this particular book?

Flank Street, much like Heather, the first book in this series, stems from a fascination with the dark side of life that goes on in dark alleyways and bars late at night, and the characters that live there.


What was your favorite chapter (or part) to write and why?

I had the most fun developing the relationship between Carol and Micky. They're both players, both liars. Some days it was had to keep up with them.

Human interaction--people watching--can be highly entertaining, and watching your characters is not much different.


What is best writing advice you can give?

Write what you enjoy writing, write what you know and ignore trends and statistics. Genres come and go; quality lasts forever.

Also, live! The more you live, the more adventures you have, the more material you'll have for your writing, which in turn will make it more realistic.


Is there anything else you'd like your readers to know about the book?

Flank Street is the second book in the Sydney Underworld series. Heather, the first book, was release in August 2014, Flank Street in May 2015, and book three is due for release in December 2015. It is a series, but the books are not serial; they are all stand-alone novels that share characters and places.



About the book:

Flank Street is told through the distorted reality of career criminal Micky Dewitt, who arrives in Sydney on a rundown sailing yacht, broke and on the lookout for opportunity.

He soon finds his way to Kings Cross and gets a job in a bar run by an abrasive grifter called Lenny. At first he’s met with mild antagonism by the barmaid, Meagan, but they call a truce and become friends. Their friendship grows, as they drink and smoke together after hours.

Micky is approached by Carol, a quiet, high-class escort. She wants Micky to do a job for her, and persuades him to listen. Carol tells him she needs a gun stolen from a lawyer’s safe. Says she killed somebody with it, and that she’s being blackmailed by the lawyer.

He scopes the place out. It all seems easy enough and he wants to help her. He steals the gun, Carol pays him. He thinks that’s the end of it.

Ten days after the robbery Micky is visited by two heavyweights from the underworld who tell him that Carol’s using the gun he stole to blackmail the boss of Kings Cross. He has to get the gun back, and kill her.

Nothing is quite what it seems as Micky falls into a honey trap and nudges the edge of sanity.



About the author:

Since '79, A.J. Sendall has been collecting people and places. From the blood soaked streets of Kampala, the polluted dust bowls of the Sahara, to the pristine ice floes of the Antarctic, he has gathered and filed them away. Some have recently pushed through the bars of insecurity and are now at large in the pages of his first three novels. Others await their future fates.



Featured Book: Impressions and Memories by Thomas Noel Smith


About the book:
Poetry to Inspire Thought and Feeling...In Impressions and Memories, poet Thomas Smith draws on a wide array of inspirations and reflections to create a collection of poems that speak to the song burning deep within each of us. Using the rhythm, melody, and language of traditional poetic forms, these verses distill the essence of daily experience, from the beauty of the world around us to the poignant nostalgia of cherished memories. Lyrical and thoughtful, deeply felt and broadly accessible, Impressions and Memories will remind you of the richness and wonder of the world around you, and give you a moment of healing calm to refresh your spirit.







About the author:
Thomas Noel Smith was born in Florida and grew up as an "army brat". He lived in France and Germany as well as several different states. His interest in the arts developed early. Even as a child, performing was a part of him. He began his performing career as a magician. Later, he attended Ringling Brothers Clown College, and he traveled for two years with a small, one-ring circus as a professional clown. He has worked in theatre and he continues to work as a film actor in Florida. His first book of poetry is "Dust and Other Poems," and he is currently working on his second book.

*This post may contain affiliate links*



Friday, May 15, 2015

Review: The Inn by William Patterson

If you're very lucky. . . 

The ramshackle B&B in western Massachusetts isn't just an inheritance--it seems like the best chance for Jack and Annabel Devlin to save their marriage and start over. But Annabel's first impressions of the remote inn don't ease her nerves. In fact, everything about the gloomy Victorian draws Annabel back into childhood nightmares. . .

They might let you leave. . . 

Locals whisper about the Blue Boy Inn and its long history of murders and mysterious disappearances. Soon Annabel hears noises within the walls and glimpses something--some things--scurrying in the shadows. The locked attic, the bricked-up fireplace. . .for years they've helped keep a ravenous evil at bay. Now Jack and Annabel's arrival has stirred the house to life again. Debts must be paid, hungers will be satisfied, and one by one, Annabel's worst fears are about to come true. . . 

"The Conjuring meets The Shining in William Patterson's deliciously creepy thriller, The Inn. Fast-paced, horror-filled, clever and impossible-to-predict, this heart-pounding tale will leave you breathless." --Kevin O'Brien, New York Times bestselling author

ARC received for review.

When I first received this I was excited, thinking that it would be a nice scary story similar to an early Stephen King and it was, but that was about it.  There was nothing really different or interesting about this to set it apart from the four hundred other haunted New England bed and breakfast stories out there.  It was okay, but it wasn't spectacular. 

Part of the problem was Annabel herself.  I could not stand her from the very first page and my dislike continued to grow through the book until just reading her name became like nails on a chalkboard to my mind.  I actually found myself hoping that something would finally kill her so I wouldn't have to listen to her whining anymore.

Overall, this was a solid read that I wouldn't quite call enjoyable but if you're looking for something creepy to read late at night that makes you sleep with the lights on then this is a good choice.


★★★☆☆ = Liked It




*This post may contain affiliate links*





Thursday, May 14, 2015

Review: Cookie Love by Mindy Segal

A new, edgier take on baking cookies, from a James Beard Award-winning chef and the owner of the popular Chicago restaurant, HotChocolate.

Mindy Segal is serious about cookies. And Cookie Love is your new go-to, never-fail reference for turn-out-perfectly-every-time cookie recipes. Mindy, award-winning pastry chef and self-professed “cookie nerd,” shares all of her secrets for turning classic recipes into more elevated, fun interpretations of everyone’s favorite sweet treat. From Peanut Butter Peanut Brittle Cookies and Fleur de Sel Shortbread with Vanilla Halvah, to Malted Milk Spritz and Peaches and Cream Thumbprints, Segal’s recipes are inspired and far from expected. Inside you’ll find more than sixty perfected recipes for every kind of cookie including drop cookies, bars, sandwich cookies, shortbread, thumbprints, and more, as well as the best tricks and tools of the trade and everything you need to know to build the ideal cookie pantry. A must-have for anyone looking to up their cookie-baking game, Cookie Love is a celebration of the most humble, delicious, and wonderful of baked treats.



Received for review.

I simply cannot pass by a cookbook, especially one about cookies, without taking a look so I was thrilled to receive this.

This is not your usual cookie cookbook.  There are some rather unusual recipes that include ingredients such as cocoa nibs that are a bit difficult to find locally for some of us and must be ordered online.  While there are the standard Snickerdoodles there are also yummy things such as Barter Brownies and an entire chapter with several shortbread recipes including a delicious sounding Smoked Chocolate Sables.

While I probably will not make 99% of the recipes included in the book it was an entertaining book and made me look at cookies in a different way.  I certainly highly recommend it.

★★★★ = Really Liked It



Author Interview: Jon Jon Lannen author of The Giraffe That Taught Me How To Laugh

Jon Jon Lannen, author of The Giraffe That Taught Me How To Laugh, stopped by for an interview.



Can you tell us a little bit about yourself?

I'd love to. I'm Jon Jon. I'm a writer and performer who resides in Denver, Colorado. I love improv and want everyone to give it a whirl. It's not only a fun art-form, but it truly changes lives.


What do you do when you're not writing?

I perform improv comedy and teach. I also own and operate a small, boutique firm called Jon Jon & Co. We focus on three things: coaching, comedy and consulting.


When did you first start writing?

The idea came to me after an improv show. My friend and I were sitting in a parking garage and I said, "I wish I knew about improv as a kid." Bam! It hit me. Write a children's book about the wonderful world of improvisation. It took me about 6 months to complete the manuscript and the rest is history!


Is there any particular author or book that influenced you in any way either growing up or as an adult?

Yes. No doubt. My two largest inspirations are Dr. Seuss and Shel Silverstein.


What inspired you to write this particular book?

I was lucky enough to have found improv comedy in high school, but felt more kiddos should discover it sooner. I wanted to let children know about the world of improvisational theater. The Giraffe That Taught Me How To Laugh reaches that demographic.


What was your favorite chapter (or part) to write and why?

Honestly, the whole book was a blast to write! I truly put my heart and soul into The Giraffe That Taught Me How To Laugh. After the writing was complete, I started working with an illustration team to make the words come to life. The whole process was pretty incredible.


What is best writing advice you can give?

The best writing advice I can give is write about something you genuinely love and care about.


Is there anything else you'd like your readers to know about the book?

The Giraffe That Taught Me How To Laugh is a sweet tale. I hope it inspires at least one person to try improv!



About the book:

The Giraffe That Taught Me How To Laugh is the culmination of Jon Jon Lannen's love for the art of improvisation. This uplifting story begins with a young boy who finds his way through the jungle to meet a supportive giraffe; one that taught him how to laugh. Life, the giraffe, influences the young boy to teach him the basics of improv. The giraffe's love and understanding for the art is contagiously caught by the boy, which blossoms beautiful scenes, full of character. The Giraffe That Taught Me How To Laugh is the first improv children's book of its kind and has inspired a diverse group of people. It combines an enthusiastic, yet respectful, approach to passing on the study of improvisation. Sparking imagination to create beautiful journeys is the essence and beauty of a child's world of improvisation. The journey of The Giraffe That Taught Me How To Laugh will stick with you, whether you're a seasoned actor or a child. Everyone and everything is a gift.



About the author:

Jon Jon Lannen is a writer, actor & director living in Denver, Colorado. Jon Jon has been performing improv comedy for over ten years and wants everyone to fall in love with the art of improvisation. Jon Jon writes and performs regularly. He formerly co-founded and ran FORK Productions, along with executive produced the Denver Improv Festival. He recently won Outstanding Author and Outstanding Entertainer by Outfront Magazine. Jon Jon also won the third season of Denver's Next Improv Star. Lannen has performed and taught in improv festivals across the country, including Chicago, Colorado Springs, Denver, Los Angeles, New Orleans, New York City and Oklahoma City. Jon Jon Lannen currently owns and operates Jon Jon & Co. and is the author of the award-winning book, The Giraffe That Taught Me How To Laugh. Lannen is also adjunct faculty, teaching improvisation, at numerous schools throughout the state.

For information on the author: www.jonjonandco.com




Review: The Stolen Dragon of Quanx by Becca Mann

In Quanx, there is no hiding who you are.... In a land of tribes where people are defined by the color of their eyes, disaster is ready to strike. With peace barely hanging by a thread, the King of Vitchreonyo makes a risky decision. What he doesn't know is that his plan may not end how he thinks.... Then Kale, a fisherman's daughter, is trapped in a tunnel where she makes a shocking discovery. And that discovery may very well lead to the destruction of her entire world. Kale takes up a challenge of following a path forbidden to her in a race to save Quanx from a tribe of conniving dragons. With the help of three uncooperative companions, Kale must steal a dragon egg or die trying. The Stolen Dragon of Quanx is the first novel in The Eyes Trilogy, a compelling new series that will pull you into a fascinating world...and leave you breathlessly waiting for the sequel!





Received for review.

This a nice, light, enjoyable read that favorably reminded me of Angie Sage's books.  The author did a lovely job of creating a world full of characters that you actually care about doing things that actually make sense all without using any bizarre terminology or difficult to decipher languages.

The story has a pleasant, fast pace and just zips right along.  The only slightly distracting feature is that the language is very modern with quite a bit of slang.  Phrases such as "no pain, no gain" are used and take away slightly from the immersion in the story while reading.

Overall though, this is a solid read and I recommend to anyone who enjoys reading young adult fantasies.


★★★★ = Really Liked It




*This post may contain affiliate links*




Wednesday, May 13, 2015

Author Interview: Roy Albert Andrade author of Virula: Renaissance Outlaw

Roy Albert Andrade, author of Virula: Renaissance Outlaw, stopped by for an interview.



Can you tell us a little bit about yourself?

That's a hardball question! Well, my most recent book to date is a 5 x 8 paperback/hardback in the crime fiction category and is available worldwide on book retailer websites such as Amazon and Barnes & Noble. Retailers, public libraries, and educational facilities can order my book from Ingram Content Group, and Baker & Taylor. The title of the book is Virula: Renaissance Outlaw.


What do you do when you're not writing?

I'm reading! I read day-to-day to build my vocabulary, and skills to remain competitive in the marketplace. Psychologically, and cognitively, I'm in excellent shape. Being an author is like being an athlete. An Athlete is a person who is proficient in a distinct sport, and other forms of physical exercise. An author, and I speak for myself, is a person who is proficient in writing, and other forms of mental exercises.


When did you first start writing?

I was released from Salinas Valley State prison in October 2008 and decided to try something different. I became a full-time student of the University of Phoenix, and graduated in 2011 with an associate of arts. After, graduation I decided to write my first novel, Cultivating the DNA of Crime, and contacted George Pryce, former publicist of Death Row Records. When he finished reading Cultivating DNA of Crime, he called me around 10 pm, and said, “Congratulations! You have a publicist.” Since that day, we’ve been working together, and released Virula: Renaissance Outlaw, my second novel.


Is there any particular author or book that influenced you in any way either growing up or as an adult?

I have to be brutally honest. I’ve always been the type of person to “do-it-yourself,” and persevere to achieve financial success. I’ve never had a particular role model or someone I could look up to for guidance growing up. However, there is one book that stands out of the crowd, its Donald Trump’s Think like a Billionaire. I read that book 3 times, and it completely changed my outlook on life.


What inspired you to write this particular book?

Personal experience, and personal communication.


What was your favorite chapter (or part) to write and why?

The opening chapter of Cultivating the DNA of Crime, because it involves extraterrestrial aliens, and a spacecraft. At some point, the reader has to stop, and think, “What does extraterrestrial aliens have to do with crime? I thought this book was going to be about sex, drugs, mayhem and murder.” Then comes the surprise, the protagonist, awakes from a dream, and witnesses a double-homicide in his cul-de-sac.


What is best writing advice you can give?

Go to school! If, I didn’t go to college, and study, none of this would be possible.


Is there anything else you'd like your readers to know about the book?

VIRULA: RENAISSANCE OUTLAW is an offbeat love story, an eye-opening look at gang life, a hard-hitting examination of a young man who has taken the wrong path, and above all, an entertaining and compelling story. This first book in the Virula series will leave readers looking forward to the sequel!



About the book:

From Life on the Streets
to Prison Sheets

Virula knows how hard life can be—but he thinks he also knows how to make the most of it. As a high school dropout, he joins a gang, who exploit his cool-headed courage, and keep him captive by catering to his appetites for drugs and women. Virula takes place during one memorable Father’s Day in Los Angeles, when a dose of hallucinogens creates a surreal 24 hours…but Virula’s actual life is already so strange that it’s almost just another day. Realistic and enlightening, yet also surprisingly funny with a keen sense of the ridiculous, Virula is an offbeat love story, an eye-opening look at gang life, a hard-hitting examination of a young man who has taken the wrong path, and above all, an entertaining and compelling story. 

This first book in the Virula series will leave you looking forward to the sequel!



About the author:

Roy Albert Andrade was born in Pacoima, California and at 12 years old was persuaded by gang members to join them for his own safety. Their modus operandi was to promise him protection from bullies and rival gangs. Having, had no family structure of his own, Andrade joined a group that was one of many in a city torn by dozens of Latino gangs or “families” as they called themselves.

Pacoima is still gang infested today nearly 28 years after Andrade began his life on the streets. Murders, robberies, kidnappings, underground gambling and drug dealing are commonplace with over forty gangs still in full force in the area.

First named by gang members as “Bandit” he later carried a 22-caliber pistol and was given the moniker “Killer.” “Killer” became popular throughout California’s San Fernando Valley and gang activity led to his eventual arrest.

Having been incarcerated but never convicted of any crime, Andrade decided to use his time in prison to interview others about crimes they had committed. This developed into his passion for life and a passion for writing. Well read, and a graduate of the University of Phoenix in Arizona, Roy decided to write his first novel based upon those interviews.

Andrade has since written and published CULTIVATING THE DNA OF CRIME in May 2014. and VIRULA: RENAISSANCE OUTLAW in March 2015. In addition, this former gang member has established his own companies, K1ller, Inc., K1ller Publishing Co, and The K1ller Foundation to steer the youth of America away from lives of crime.

Virula is the protagonist in the next four books that Andrade has plans to write. He is working to complete a set of six novels involving crime in America.

Roy Albert Andrade attributes his newly found success to having chose education as the road down which he is traveling and his penchant for persuading America’s youth to turn their backs on crime. He has accomplished much since his days as a 12-year-old known solely as “Killer.”