Tuesday, June 30, 2015

Author Interview: El-R Charis author of Epiphany, Poetry in the Flow of Life: Volume I: Primus

El-R Charis, author of Epiphany, Poetry in the Flow of Life: Volume I: Primus, stopped by for an interview.



Can you tell us a little bit about yourself?

(I am) a communicator, whether it be via written word, visual graphics, sensually: It be all three. What I write/say, depict in my art may relay to its receiver a feeling or motivates a free thought which opens a dialogue within oneself as well as to others.


What do you do when you're not writing?

I often listen to audio books pertaining to metaphysical studies as well as Mind Science. Much of my time is filled with playing music: House music is a huge part of my life as well as soulful R&B.


When did you first start writing?

It seems like forever since I've been writing lines of poetry. As a child my family provided complete sets of traditional nursery rhymes, which I would mimic of sorts. However, I can say it was around the age of 10, connecting with my first writing mentor which sparked a real interest; her encouragement made me feel as if I could be good at it some day. I wrote my first book of poetry for the Young Authors Contest the following year. I don't think I won.


Is there any particular author or book that influenced you in any way either growing up or as an adult?

Honestly, I would have to say "The Websters Dictionary" has been the most influential book consistently in my literary pursuit. I love reading words, their etymology, even the phonetic break down. My Web site, ElrCharis.com, actually has a glossary of terms linked throughout my poetry.


What inspired you to write this particular book?

Epiphany, Poetry in the Flow of Life: Primus is a combination of my journey through spiritual and emotion, tied together as an expression of my love for words. Over the years I have learned to expel through words instead of internalizing life, which ultimately brought on health matters in my ignorance. As I began to comprehend how harmful emotion can be when ignored, how the lack of an outlet can be detrimental to this fragile casing we call our "body"; I decided to write myself healthy by speaking on the things I once convinced myself that I was "ok" with, yet I was merely hiding from the uncomfortable feelings attached to certain experiences.


What was your favorite chapter (or part) to write and why?

I would say "Phenix Rising" because it was my coming out party. The whole idea of Epiphany chimed together through this poem because it is the story of finding myself, understanding my power even in seeming weakness. I found my eternal strength shined brightest in my weak moments.


What is best writing advice you can give?

Write. But don't force yourself to write, do not lament about writing. If you enjoy scribing then enjoy it. Anything forced is usually a chore, therefore, never as quality as when the words flow. More pride is taken in inspiration, not perspiration.


Is there anything else you'd like your readers to know about the book?

Epiphany: Primus, points at the importance of knowing thyself. To delve and explore beyond what the physical eyes can see; develop a taste for more than what your understanding can confirm.



About the book:

This book of revelation through poetry, art as well as photography is presented with associated Chakras, their colors, along with the elements of life related as chapters. The life journeys of this well rounded artist is presented in colorful description addressing strength, weakness, and the many facets of circumstance laying therein.

Epiphany: Primus is a glimpse into the mind of El-R Charis, leading its reader through the vulnerability of emotional addiction while addressing the contridiction of intellect versus intuition; touching on the root of healing through observation and action. Be captured by this storyteller pouring from the flesh, soul, and spirituality, their take on the flow of energy called "life".




About the author:

El-R Charis is a native of Chicago, bred and raised on the South Side.  El-R took her first creative writing class in an After-School program under the tutelage of Mrs. Leila BoNey.  During the program, this authors natural flair for writing became immediately apparent to the program director thus a friendship/mentorship identity was formed.  This connection lasted throughout the author's formative years, until the untimely passing of El-R's beloved mentor.  

In addition to  her enthusiasm for writing, El-R majored in Commercial Art as an high school student, graduating from higher education with an AAS in Art & Design.

Throughout her life, El-R Charis has endured many obstacles in which she credits for fine tuning her craft with a keen level of detail; allowing outward projection of relatable material to her audience.

A Poet who expresses a lifetime of observation, harmony through conflict, and ultimately self acceptance:  This openly gay author utilizes words, artistic talents, as well as photography to lay out graphic depictions of the ups and downs of moving through society.  Motion in Poetry, the Web site at ElrCharis.com rallies the mastery of ideas embodied in the mind of El-R Charis: Words, Pictures, Passion."




Sunday, June 28, 2015

Featured Book: Be Unstoppable by Alden M. Mills



About the book:

You see others who have the things you want money, joy, success and suppose that they were born with special talent or into a family which made these things easy to attain. They are just lucky. What you don t know is that there is a methodology to success. Be Unstoppable contains a system to gain this vital skillset. 

Alden Mills was an uncoordinated asthmatic who went on to become a national rowing champion, three time Navy SEAL Team Commander, inventor of over 20 fitness products and CEO of the #1 fastest growing consumer products company as identified by INC 500 magazine in 2009. Through his own journey to success, Mills identified Eight Actions proven to overcome the bad habits between you and getting your goals. 

Written in a story format that is easy to remember, Be Unstoppable opens with a parable of a young skipper who meets a remarkable, seasoned captain, changing the skipper's direction and setting him on a course to fulfill a larger destiny. The allegory, intertwined with Mills humorous, brutally honest personal stories, anchors tools like Plan in 3D, Exercise to Execute and Improvise to Overcome into your memory. 

You can start at any place in the program, because the momentum gained from using any of the tools will cause you to stop making excuses about why you can t have the life of your dreams, while the stories inspire you to do whatever it takes to ensure that you can. The goal-getting code embedded in Be Unstoppable will enable you to navigate around challenges, chart a course, and put you on a heading to achieving your dreams. 

However the past has shaped you, your future is yours to shape, and if you want to shape it for success, you'll find no better coach than Alden Mills. Using the power of a parable and his own experiences as a Navy SEAL and accomplished entrepreneur, Mills teaches you his proven framework for success. Be Unstoppable is the parable of a young skipper who meets a remarkable, seasoned captain, and this chance meeting changes the young skipper's direction in life, setting him on course for living his dreams. This charming tale illuminates the eight actions to take to succeed at anything in life, and makes Be Unstoppable a uniquely effective hybrid of Who Moved My Cheese and Vince Lombardi-style coaching.


*This post may contain affiliate links*



Saturday, June 27, 2015

Author Interview: Robert Spearman author of Carnies and Wildcats: Ulciscor

Robert Spearman, author of Carnies and Wildcats: Ulciscor, stopped by for an interview.



Can you tell us a little bit about yourself?

I grew up in South Georgia in Hahira, Georgia about 28 miles north of the Florida line. My parents ran the local hardware store. Several years ago, I moved to China and started an export business. Since I now have some free time I decided to write a novel or at least try. It was such a rewarding experience I have three more in the works.


What do you do when you're not writing?

Reading, watching movies and exploring China and southeast Asia.


When did you first start writing?

I've "started' several times but this past November I really became determined to start and finish. I downloaded a trial copy of Scrivener and set daily writing goals and after a few weeks the characters seemed to take a like of their own and their "voices in my head" helped me to finish. Sometimes I would get stuck and go to bed thinking about how to get "unstuck". Often the answer would come while I was just falling asleep or waking the next morning.


Is there any particular author or book that influenced you in any way either growing up or as an adult?

Stephen King. Definitely him and all his books. I also enjoyed Umberto Eco and Focault's Pendulum...that has to be one of my favorite books. Agatha Christie and Sir Arthur Conan Doyle and the Sherlock Holmes stories were always my favorite when I was growing up.


What inspired you to write this particular book?

I have always heard "write what you know" so I figured what better place to start than my hometown and mix that with some of my Asian exporting experience. I think most people can relate to working for tyrannical bosses and would like to get revenge. Maybe that's part of it too...my subconcious wanting to even the score with folks who have wronged me in the past.


What was your favorite chapter (or part) to write and why?

That's a tough question. I guess the second chapter that I call "The Death of Dottie Ridley". I actually wrote the chapter much later in the book and moved it to the front. I think it helps set the stage for the whole book. You know "Southern Secrets" are the best secrets in the world.


What is best writing advice you can give?

Write every day and don't stop. Even if it does not contribute to your current project, write something. Get some good writing software like Scrivener to help you organize your project and to help set daily writing goals. Then "live it"! Try to get into the minds of your characters and adapt them and their dialogues into what you think they would say and do.


Is there anything else you'd like your readers to know about the book?

It's a first attempt. There are errors and it could be better but I did start something and I finished it and that is a big plus for someone who is ADHD like me. Like I said earlier, I have 3 more books planned and have already started the second one. It is more challenging because I am stepping out into some unfamilar territory and trying my hand at science fiction, but it is coming together well.



About the book:

A story of murder and revenge in the Deep South.

In a city called "Winnersville" there are bound to be losers.

In 1980, the carnival came and lost one of their own--the carnival owner's 12-year-old daughter--her body discovered at the carnival's ticket gate, brutally murdered. The killer was never caught. Her father vowed to return one day and avenge his daughter's death.

Thirty-five years later a mysterious stranger buys the old Daniel Ashley Hotel and for some of the citizens of "Winnersville" things will never be the same.




About the author:

Robert Spearman is a Georgia native who has spent the past decade living in China and Southeast Asia. He is the author of Carnies and Wildcats: Ulciscor and the upcoming novel The Donner Syndrome.

Twitter: @SpearmanAuthor
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/RobertSpearmanAuthor



Featured Book: Harry Says edited by Bruce Feldman


About the book:
Harry Says is a refreshingly candid glimpse into the mind of a successful boss. If you manage people, you will probably find yourself nodding in agreement and laughing at some of Harry's observations. If you prefer books that offer modern management theories on team-building and empowerment, you will probably be shocked by much of what Harry has to say. On the other hand, Harry's candor might just offer new perspectives on the age-old problems of being a boss.










About the author:

*This post may contain affiliate links*



Wednesday, June 24, 2015

Featured Book: The Octavian Latticework by Jack Belmonte


About the book:
America, 2023. Johnny Luca is a rookie counter-terrorism agent for the U.S. Anti-Subversion Authority. He and his partner, Julius Fullerton, are on the heels of Brigade 910, a domestic terror group led by the shadowy Octavian. Together they stumble upon the nightmarish terror attack that Octavian is planning-a symphony of destruction known as Project Orion. Meanwhile, Reed Wilkins is a President in crisis. He has vowed to veto the draconian Total Information Awareness Act, a law that would give the government sweeping powers to turn America into a surveillance state. For his opposition, Wilkins knows he will be assassinated-by Alexander Bryson, the ultra-nationalist Director of the Anti-Subversion Authority. Determined to defeat Bryson and destroy the new law, Wilkins reaches out to Agent Hunter Peterson, an old friend and the leader of Luca and Fullerton's team. When Luca discovers that his late detective father investigated Octavian in the last year of his life, the young agent sets in motion a chain of events that plunges the team into the heart of both plots-the Project Orion terror attack and the plan to assassinate President Wilkins. From the streets of Newark to the World Trade Center in Manhattan, through secret passageways beneath Washington to midnight meetings at Arlington National Cemetery, Jack Belmonte's debut novel will take you to an America under siege, where freedom and tyranny struggle for supremacy at zero hour.

About the author:
Jack Belmonte is the author of The Octavian Latticework and The Superstructure, the first two entries in the Uprising 2024 series. A five-time fantasy baseball champion and avid barroom brawler, he grew up in New York City and currently is living the dream in Washington, DC. Jack is committed to inciting rebellion against tyranny wherever it exists.

*This post may contain affiliate links*



Tuesday, June 23, 2015

Featured Book: Guarded (The Silverton Chronicles, Book 1) by Carmen Fox



About the book:

When everyone's existence depends on the lies they tell, trust doesn't come easy

Ivy's neighbors have a secret. They aren't human. But Ivy has a secret, too. She knows. As long as everyone keeps quiet, she's happy working as a P.I. by day and chillaxing with her BFF Florian, a vampire, by night.

When a routine pickup drops her in the middle of a murder, her two worlds collide. While Florian knows how to throw a punch, deep down he's a softie. His idea of scary? Running out of hair product. It's time Ivy faced facts. Even with a vampire on stand-by, one gal can only kick so many asses.

For help, she must put her faith in others. A human, who might just be 'the one.' A demon, who will, for a price, open the doors to her heritage. And a werewolf, who wants to protect her from herself.

Torn between these men, Ivy must tread carefully, because one wants her heart, one wants her body, and one wants her dead.



About the author:

Carmen lives in the south of England with her beloved tea maker and a stuffed sheep called Fergus. An avid reader since childhood, she caught the writing bug when her Nana asked her to write a story. She also has a law degree, studied physics for a few years, dabbled in marketing and human resources, and speaks native-level German and fluent Geek. Her preferred niches of geekdom are tabletop games, comics, sci-fi and fantasy.

She writes about smart women with sassitude, about pretty cool guys too, and will chase that plot twist, no matter how elusive.
Expect to be kept guessing.

For details on this or Carmen's other work, visit her website at www.carmen-fox.com.




Sunday, June 21, 2015

Featured Book: The Empty Glass by J.I. Baker


About the book:
“J. I. Baker takes a bold run into Cain and DeLillo territory and scores.” —Barry Gifford, author of Wild at Heart In the early-morning hours of August 5, 1962, Los Angeles County deputy coroner Ben Fitzgerald arrives at the home of the world’s most famous movie star, now lying dead in her bedroom. There he discovers The Book of Secrets—Marilyn Monroe’s diary—revealing a doomed love affair with a man she refers to only as “The General.” In the following days, Ben unravels a cover-up that implicates the Kennedys, the Mafia, and the CIA. Soon the sinister and surreal accounts recorded in The Book bleed into Ben’s own life, and he finds himself trapped—like Monroe—in a deepening paranoid conspiracy. A knockout combination of fact and legend, The Empty Glass is a riveting debut thriller.

About the author:

*This post may contain affiliate links*



Saturday, June 20, 2015

Featured Book: The Five Lives of Our Cat Zook by Joanne Rocklin


About the book:
In this warmhearted middle-grade novel, Oona and her brother, Fred, love their cat, Zook (short for Zucchini), but Zook is sick. As they conspire to break him out of the vet’s office, Oona tells the stories of his previous lives, ranging in style from fairy tale to grand epic to slice of life. Each of Zook’s lives have echoes in Oona’s own family life, which is going through a transition she’s not yet ready to face. Her father died two years ago, and her mother has started a relationship with a man named Dylan—whom Oona secretly calls “the villain.” The truth about Dylan, and about Zook’s medical condition, drives the drama in this loving family story.







About the author:
JOANNE ROCKLIN's latest middle grade novel is FLEABRAIN LOVES FRANNY. "Not to be missed!" (VOYA) THE FIVE LIVES OF OUR CAT ZOOK won the 2013 Golden Kite Award for Fiction given by the Society of Children's Book Writers and Illustrators. It is also published as an audiobook. "The only imperfection in this novel is that it ends." BOOKLIST, starred. It is a Parents' Choice Gold Award winner. She is also the critically acclaimed author of several other books, including ONE DAY AND ONE AMAZING MORNING ON ORANGE STREET, which won the California Library Association's Beatty Award, the FOCAL Award of the Los Angeles Public Library, and the California Book Award Gold Medal from the Commonwealth Club. It was also voted best middle grade by the Northern California Independent Booksellers Association. STRUDEL STORIES was a School Library Journal Best Book of the Year and an American Library Association Notable Book, and FOR YOUR EYES ONLY!, was a School Library Journal Best Book and a Bank Street Best Book. Her early readers THREE SMART PALS and THIS BOOK IS HAUNTED will soon be e-books, the latter also to be released as an App. She has a doctorate in psychology and is a former elementary school teacher, presently writing children's books full-time. For several years she taught a popular class in writing children's books at UCLA Extension. She gives presentations in schools, libraries and bookstores and has been a speaker for the Society of Children's Book Writers and Illustrators, the California Reading Association, and other organizations. Originally from Montreal, Canada, Joanne lived in Los Angeles for many decades. She now lives in Oakland, California. Her website is www.joannerocklin.com and she welcomes comments.

*This post may contain affiliate links*



Friday, June 19, 2015

Guest Post: Paula Rosenfeld author of The Oneness Blessing

Paula Rosenfeld, author of The Oneness Blessing, stopped by to share with us a piece she wrote.






About the book:

The global phenomenon of the Oneness Blessing, also known as Deeksha is a non-denominational transfer of energy from one person to another. Deeksha works in a neurobiological way, activating the frontal lobes of the brain and deactivating the parietal lobes. This subtle but powerful shift in brain function supports an experience of interconnectivity, awareness, authenticity, and bliss.

Partaking of the Oneness Blessing is not a religion or path; it requires no allegiance to any beliefs, doctrines, or practices. With surprising simplicity, it opens the door for ordinary people to discover what is unique, extraordinary, and true for them.

In The Oneness Blessing, Paula interviews awakened Oneness Trainers whose lives have been transformed through Deeksha. Through their stories you will discover how Deeksha can bring change to you and your life.



About the author:

Paula Rosenfeld, Certified Oneness Trainer, launched her Chicago, Illinois business, From The Heart Center, LLC, in 1992 and has been working ever since as a shamanic practitioner, energy worker, clairvoyant reader, coach, and meditation instructor. Her awakening in 2013 at Oneness University in India reignited a long-held dedication to the transformation of world consciousness. She returned to Oneness University to become a Certified Oneness Trainer, able to initiate others to become Deeksha Givers. Her website is fromtheheartcenter.com.


*This post may contain affiliate links*



Thursday, June 18, 2015

Author Interview: David Wardrop author of Long Walk Home

David Wardrop, author of Long Walk Home, stopped by today for an interview.



What do you do when you're not writing?

I love gardening and nature. I enjoy reading, learning and visiting places such as Parks and Museums.


When did you first start writing?

Mid twenties I would say.


Is there any particular author or book that influenced you in any way either growing up or as an adult?

The works of Philip K. Dick really opened my mind and showed me what imagination can do.


What inspired you to write this particular book?

Think I wrote this book to cheer myself up.


What is best writing advice you can give?

Try, try and try again.


Is there anything else you'd like your readers to know about the book?

The aim of the book is to make you smile.



About the book:

It is the end of the world as we know it. The planet has run out of petroleum and the main character decides that this would be a good time to take a long walk home.


About the author:

David was born and lives in Scotland. He is 30 years old and does a lot of volunteer work both online and offline.



Wednesday, June 17, 2015

Featured Book: When Can You Start? by Paul Freiberger


About the book:
The job interview. It is the make-or-break moment that can change your life. Job interviews present the key step in the job search process and help you get hired. Los Angeles Times award-winning author, Paul Freiberger offers a clear, entertaining guide with the best job interview help and preparation and proven tools and tips for success to ace the interview and win the job. 

You will learn about: 

* Job Interview Questions and Answers 
* The Toughest Job Interview Questions 
* Not Telling the Interviewer About Your Weaknesses 
* Answering Trick and Oddball Questions 
* Devising the Best Questions 
* Gaining Confidence with Job Interview Preparation 
* Avoiding Job Interview Mistakes 
* Salary Negotiation Tips and Strategies 

 "This book is powerful and expertly researched. Packed with interview advice you need to get your next job." -- Larry Kramer, President and Publisher, USA Today 

"The most exhaustive, best researched book about job interviewing, filled with insights and research. -- Jean-Louis Gassée, General Partner, Allegis Capital 

"Freiberger delivers a fun and informative read. You will get a job a lot sooner if you read this book. Perfect for new grads at the beginning of their careers and powerful ammunition for the rest of us." -- Guy Kawasaki, author of APE: Author, Publisher, Entrepreneur, and former chief evangelist of Apple 

"Highly useful to anyone facing an important job interview, especially if they haven't been practicing for a while. Practical and well-researched, with extensive and realistic examples. This will stand the test of time." -- Marc Singer, Director, McKinsey & Company 

"There are gems of wisdom packed into the sections on how to answer behavioral interview questions, how to succeed in a panel interview, and how to anticipate sensitive and challenging questions. The principles and practices discussed in this book will help the job seeker turn the interview from an interrogation into a conversation." -- Marcia G. Rhodes, WorldatWork Director

About the author:
Paul Freiberger, author of "When Can You Start?" is an award-winning writer. His work has been widely praised for its effectiveness and compassion. As President of Shimmering Resumes, Paul helps individuals throughout the world improve their careers with job interview preparation, resumes and job search. Paul won The Los Angeles Times Book Award as co-author of "Fuzzy Logic" (Simon & Schuster, 1994) and he co-authored the best-selling "Fire in the Valley: The Making of the Personal Computer" (McGraw-Hill, 1984, rev. 2000), translated into many languages and later made into the Hollywood movie Pirates of Silicon Valley. He has produced reports for National Public Radio programs, including All Things Considered and Morning Edition. He is a former columnist for the San Jose Mercury News and a reporter for the San Francisco Examiner. He directed communications for McKinsey & Company, the world's most respected global management consulting firm. Paul has gone through several job transformations himself. He has worked as a teacher, a night porter, a newspaper reporter, a technology project manager, a chef, a communications executive, and an entrepreneur. He knows the job search process and how to make it work. He earned a B.A. in history at the State University of New York at Binghamton and a Masters in Italian from Middlebury College. He is working on a book on job search strategies for new graduates.

*This post may contain affiliate links*



Sunday, June 14, 2015

Featured Book: There Are No Sad Dogs in Heaven by Sonya Fitzpatrick


About the book:
Our pets are part of the family. For many they’re as close as children; for some they may be our only children. And while most of us can expect that our children will outlive us, sadly, our pets almost never do. Losing a pet can be as difficult as losing any other family member; we grieve, we miss them, and, mostly, we want closure, to know that our furry, feathered, or scaled friends are okay, wherever they are. For years, animal communicator Sonya Fitzpatrick has helped pet owners cope with the loss of their beloved companions. Many of them ask the same questions: Is my pet happy? Why did this happen? Is it okay to get another pet? Using her personal experiences as well as the stories of the families she’s worked with, Sonya sheds some light on the questions that every grieving pet owner has, and assures the reader that there are, in fact, no sad dogs (or cats or birds or turtles or horses or cows) in heaven.

About the author:

*This post may contain affiliate links*



Saturday, June 13, 2015

Featured Book: Closer to the Ground by Dylan Tomine


About the book:
Closer to the Ground is the deeply personal story of a father learning to share his love of nature with his children, not through the indoor lens of words or pictures, but directly, palpably, by exploring the natural world as they forage, cook and eat from the woods and sea. With illustrations by Nikki McClure. This compelling, masterfully written tale follows Dylan Tomine and his family through four seasons as they hunt chanterelles, fish for salmon, dig clams and gather at the kitchen table, mouths watering, to enjoy the fruits of their labor. Closer to the Ground captures the beauty and surprise of the natural world—and the ways it teaches us how to live—with humor, gratitude and a nose for adventure as keen as a child’s. It is a book filled with weather, natural history and many delicious meals.




About the author:
Dylan Tomine, formerly a fly fishing guide, is now a writer, conservation advocate, blueberry farmer and father, not necessarily in that order. His work has appeared in the Flyfish Journal, the Drake, Golfweek, the New York Times and numerous other publications. He lives with his family on an island in Puget Sound.

*This post may contain affiliate links*



Friday, June 12, 2015

Guest Post: Marie D. Jones and Larry Flaxman authors of Mind Wars

Marie D. Jones and Larry Flaxman, authors of Mind Wars, stopped by to share a piece they wrote.






About the book:

From the dawn of humanity, the desire to control the thoughts, behaviors, and actions of others has been a pervasive one. From the use of coercive persuasion by ancient Egyptians and the Knights Templar to today's claims of electronic harassment and microwave "bombing," we have always been at the mercy of those who wish to reprogram our thoughts and reshape our beliefs.

Mind Wars includes fascinating stories of:
  • Ancient attempts at mind control using spell casting, potions, and rituals.
  • Cults and the use of mental reprogramming.
  • More modern mind-control techniques, from hypnosis, drugs, and electroshock to radiation and psychic driving.
  • The inside story of the quest for a real Manchurian Candidate--MKUltra and the CIA connection.
  • The brave new world of electronic harassment, "voice to skull” technology, and gang-stalking.
The inner frontier of the human mind is the last bastion of privacy. But are we really in control of our own minds? The answer may shock you!



About the authors:

Marie D. Jones is the author of several books about the paranormal, metaphysics, and cutting-edge science (many coauthored with Larry Flaxman), including PSIence, The Déjà vu Enigma, Destiny vs. Choice, and 11:11 The Time Prompt Phenomenon. She has appeared on more than a 1,000 radio shows worldwide, and on television, most recently on the History Channel's Ancient Aliens series. Her Website is www.mariedjones.com.

Larry Flaxman is the president of ARPAST, the Arkansas Paranormal and Anomalous Studies Team, and a popular public speaker. He is the co-author of several books including The Resonance Key, The Trinity Secret, This Book Is From the Future, and Viral Mythology. He has been on hundreds of radio and television shows, including Discovery Channel's Ghost Lab. His Website is www.larryflaxman.com.



*This post may contain affiliate links*



Wednesday, June 10, 2015

Author Interview: Candise Jordan author of The Fit & Flavorful Kitchen Makeover

Candise Jordan, author of The Fit & Flavorful Kitchen Makeover, stopped by for an interview.



Can you tell us a little bit about yourself?

My name is Candise but my clients call me "Killa Candise" I got that nickname from my Killer workouts lol.

Besides fitness and nutrition programs I also provide meal preparation services for my local clients because I loooooove to cook.

I call myself a fit foodie because I love to eat and try new foods which is why it is important for me to create delicious healthy alternatives otherwise I'd probably be overweight. Did I mention I REALLY love to eat lol


What do you do when you're not writing?

When I'm not writing you can find me in the gym, in the kitchen or somewhere enjoying family time.


When did you first start writing?

I started writing a few years ago. I wrote my first book "From Pot Belly to Flat Belly" which was a fitness, nutrition and detox program. Since then a lot of things in the food industry have changed so I wanted to write this new book and showcase these new cooking appliances and healthy ingredient alternatives.


Is there any particular author or book that influenced you in any way either growing up or as an adult?

I'm a big fan of Diana Keuilian cookbooks. She uses a lot of healthy recipes that are delicious!


What inspired you to write this particular book?

Many of my clients actually suggested it. I always give cooking & nutrition tips via social media and my email list so they started requesting that I write a book.

Every time I would post a picture of a meal I prepared they would request the recipe so I gathered up a few of my favorites and put in the book.


What was your favorite chapter (or part) to write and why?

My favorite part of the book is where I explain how your actual cooking tools can help you cut calories and prepare more nutrient dense meals.

A lot of nutrition books and cookbooks discuss ingredients and the steps to prepare the meals but I wanted to take it a step further and show you which tools are best to cook those meals.

By switching to a non stick pan you can save calories by using less oil. By using the herb keeper you'll save money on fresh herbs but making them last longer.

If you revamp your kitchen with the suggested cooking appliances you will see results!


Is there anything else you'd like your readers to know about the book?

This is not a diet program and this is not a traditional cookbook. Although I share many recipes in this book the main focus is to transform your kitchen and the way you cook so that your meals help you instead of harm you.

Just by simply swapping out a few ingredients for healthier versions, learning to add more spices in exchange for sodium, learning to read labels so that you select healthier options instead of what the food companies wants you to think is healthy you WILL lose weight, you WILL have more energy, and you WILL be healthier!



About the book:

Do you hate dieting?

If you answered yes then this book is for you!

Instead of following some boring flavorless menu I'll teach you how to revamp your favorite recipes in order to burn fat, combat disease, and feel better than you've ever felt!

Never sacrifice flavor for good health!








About the author:

Candise Jordan, is a Certified Personal Trainer, Fitness Chef and Nutrition Coach. She has been in the industry for 10 years helping her clients transform into happier & healthier versions of themselves. As a single mom she understands how hard it is to squeeze in time to exercise, grocery shop and cook for the family so she has made it her mission to make health CONVENIENT! After becoming a chef she began revamping both her own and her clients favorite recipes by making simple ingredient swaps, using less ingredients to save money, and easy preparation to save time. After her clients began to lose weight she decided to write a book in order to help even more people.



Featured Book: Naked Paddock by M.K. Ducote


About the book:
Inspired by real events and the first novel of a trilogy series, Naked Paddock, transports its readers on a wild journey through the adrenaline-fueled world of professional motorsports-a world of money, sex, ego and ruthless competition. Set on the stage of historic racetracks throughout the world, Naked Paddock introduces a lifelike cast of colorful characters, as quirky and flawed as they are entertaining: talented young drivers, pushy agents, wealthy sponsors, team owners, trophy wives, flag-girls and ambitious models. On track and in the pages of Naked Paddock, it is the collisions between these characters, more than any racecar, which captures the fascination of spectators and readers alike. Fistfights, lawsuits, love affairs-Naked Paddock is dripping with the drama found in real racetrack paddocks the world over. With millions of dollars in sponsorship on the line, racing is big business. But it is also intensely personal, as each driver puts his life on the line every time he gets behind the wheel. At its heart, Naked Paddock can be pared down to one man. Attractive, daring and privileged, Coleton Loren is a professional racecar driver unaccustomed to setbacks who finds himself injured in the off-season. Charmed by his beautiful, yet bookish doctor, Camilla, he sweeps her into his world-a world of gossip and glamour that she never knew or dreamed of-as he fights to reclaim the top step of the podium. Appealing to both male and female audiences, Naked Paddock has something for everyone. While its main subject matter, motorsports, contains enough risk, adrenaline, sex and speed to get any guy's heart pumping, Naked Paddock is also a tale of love developing between its two seemingly unlikely main characters. M.K. Ducote has toured the world's premier racing circuits for years with her husband, a professional racecar driver with over 14 career podiums. With the intimate knowledge of a real racing insider, M.K. Ducote delivers a rare, behind-the-scenes glimpse of international motorsports and the people and passions that drive it.

About the author:

*This post may contain affiliate links*



Sunday, June 7, 2015

Featured Book: The True Secret of Writing by Natalie Goldberg


About the book:
Sit. Walk. Write. These are the barest bones of Natalie Goldberg’s revolutionary writing and life practice, which she presents here in book form for the first time. A whole new slant on writing that she developed since the publication of her classic Writing Down the Bones, True Secret workshops have been limited until now to small, intensive groups at a remote center in the rural Southwest. In The True Secret of Writing, Goldberg makes this popular seminar available to any reader. The True Secret is for everyone, like eating and sleeping. It allows you to discover something real about your life, to mine the rich awareness in your mind, and to ground and empower yourself. Goldberg guides you through your own personal or group retreat, illuminating the steps of sitting in silent open mind, walking anchored to the earth, and writing without criticism. Just as Goldberg cuts through her students’ resistance with her no-nonsense instruction—“Shut up and write”—the True Secret cuts to the core of realizing yourself and your world. The capstone to forty years of teaching, The True Secret of Writing is Goldberg’s Zen boot camp, her legacy teaching. Stories of Natalie’s own search for truth and clarity and her students’ breakthroughs and insights give moving testament to how brilliantly her unique, tough-love method works. Beautiful homages to the work of other great teachers and observers of mind, life, and love provide further secrets and inspiration to which readers will return again and again. In her inimitable way, Goldberg will inspire you to pick up the pen, get writing, and keep going. The True Secret of Writing will help you with your writing—and your life.

About the author:
Natalie Goldberg lived in Brooklyn until she was six, when her family moved out to Farmingdale, Long Island, where her father owned the bar the Aero Tavern. From a young age, Goldberg was mad for books and reading, and especially loved Carson McCullers's The Ballad of the Sad Cafe, which she read in ninth grade. She thinks that single book led her eventually to put pen to paper when she was twenty-four years old. She received a BA in English literature from George Washington University and an MA in humanities from St. John's University. Goldberg has painted for as long as she has written, and her paintings can be seen in Living Color: A Writer Paints Her World and Top of My Lungs: Poems and Paintings. They can also be viewed at the Ernesto Mayans Gallery on Canyon Road in Sante Fe. A dedicated teacher, Goldberg has taught writing and literature for the last thirty-five years. She also leads national workshops and retreats, and her schedule can be accessed via her website: nataliegoldberg.com In 2006, she completed with the filmmaker Mary Feidt a one-hour documentary, Tangled Up in Bob, about Bob Dylan's childhood on the Iron Range in Northern Minnesota. The film can be obtained on Amazon or the website tangledupinbob.com. Goldberg has been a serious Zen practitioner since 1974 and studied with Katagiri Roshi from 1978 to 1984.

*This post may contain affiliate links*



Saturday, June 6, 2015

Featured Book: Financial Fresh Start by Shari Olefson


About the book:
From depleted retirement accounts to underwater homes, it's been gloomy news for years. But the picture will get much brighter for those who take advantage of the laws and reforms enacted in the wake of the banking, real estate, and economic meltdown. The Dodd-Frank Act. The Making Home Affordable Program. The Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. These are just a few examples of the significant but little-understood changes that offer people an unprecedented chance to set things right with their credit, savings and investments, employment, housing, retirement and more. Financial Fresh Start explains it all-simplifying the complicated reforms and motivating readers to shake off their malaise and radically improve their long-term financial prospects. Written by a dynamic author with a unique blend of legal, financial, and real estate expertise, the book's big-picture lens spans the spectrum of money matters, and delivers clear, actionable answers to questions such as: * How can you repair your credit quickly and avoid high finance costs? * What are the safest places for saving and investing? * Can you legally avoid repaying what you owe? * Will your home ever be worth what you paid for it? * Is there life after foreclosure? * Are you missing out on programs that can put money in your pockets? * Is it possible to make up for recent losses and still retire on time? * And more Big corporations and the mega-wealthy have professionals to keep them abreast of the latest regulations. Now, everyday people can learn what the new rules really mean to them with the expert guidance and practical solutions in Financial Fresh Start.

About the author:

*This post may contain affiliate links*



Friday, June 5, 2015

Review: The Nibelungen Hoard by Edwin M. Todd

In the last days of World War II, SS lieutenant Johann von Ritter is dispatched on a mission to deliver a strongbox to the port of Stettin. But, feeling betrayed and disgusted by the Nazi leadership, he disobeys orders and hides the loot instead. Knowing he isn't going to make it, he leaves clues to the strongbox's location in two letters-one to his sister and one entrusted to Lena Mueller, the nurse who bears him a child he never knows. 

Almost fifty years later, during the fall of the Berlin Wall, American Christoph Mueller inherits one of Ritter's letters from his dying grandmother. The contents of the yellowed missive plunge Mueller into a dangerous world. 

Aided by Kurt Webber, a longtime friend of his grandmother's, Mueller finds himself on the run while Communist East Germany crumbles around him. He's the last to know the secret he holds as he's seduced by a Stasi informer and stalked by the murderous son of von Ritter's sister. 

Set against the background of twentieth-century Berlin's most significant moments, The Nibelungen Hoard weaves historical facts and personages with riveting fiction, resulting in a dramatic tale of epic proportions.

Received for review.

I started this expecting something along the lines of a Steve Berry novel and I must admit that I was a bit disappointed.  While this has all the elements of an engaging novel - intrigue, a missing treasure, etc. - this simply was not very enjoyable.

I found myself not caring about the characters or the treasure or anything else because I kept nodding off every time I opened this.  The writing is very good, but the storytelling left a bit to be desired.  There was just no connection with the characters at all.  I just didn't care either way if they actually found the treasure or not since I was so bored.

Overall, while this had promise it felt a bit short of expectations and I really cannot recommend it.

★★☆☆☆ = Just Okay




*This post may contain affiliate links*





Thursday, June 4, 2015

Review: Fishtown by Neal Goldstein

It's been six weeks since the rogue Mossad agents, Nooris and Rabinowitz, were recaptured when their attempt to discover the identity of the person who betrayed them was thwarted by the very individual they were seeking. Homicide Detective Isadore Ichowitz is recovering from the wounds he sustained in the incident when Nooris shot him to convince Vito Coratelli to tell them what they wanted to know. Even though Nooris and Rabinowitz are being detained as terrorists in Guantanamo Bay, Ichowitz is concerned that Shona Cohen, the remaining member of the gang, who is still on the loose, is a continuing threat to the well-being of his godson, Assistant District Attorney Jack Regan and his family. 

Jack believes Izzy's concerns are unwarranted. After all, why would someone who is wanted for murder return to Philly, when her companions are in custody with no chance for release, and she still possesses a valuable post-impressionist painting worth millions, 'The Pitcher' by Georges Bracque, that her gang stole from the Barnes Foundation? 

Jack's wedding to Kate O'Malley is only 48 hours away, when all hell breaks loose. 

Jack and Izzy are 'requested' by the CIA to fly to Cuba to assure the former Mossad agents that the deal the U.S. Attorney offered them in return for information that can lead to the apprehension of the new head of Al Qaeda is genuine. Neither Jack nor Izzy can figure out why the terrorists insist on their presence. Jack barely makes it back to Philly in time for the wedding ceremony. Before he can brush the rice from his hair, he has to put his honeymoon plans on hold to help prosecute a multiple murder case against a doctor who ran an abortion mill in West Philly. The doctor is represented by none other than Vito Coratelli. 

Izzy's retirement from the Philadelphia Police Department is derailed, when the remains of four young women, holding hands, are unearthed in a construction site in Fishtown, an old Philadelphia neighborhood near the banks of the Delaware River, that is fast becoming a destination address for artists, toney restaurants and hip young professionals who follow in their wake. The crime scene reminds the Homicide Chief of a murder investigation Izzy handled 40 years ago. 

As Ichowitz delves into the mystery of the Fishtown bodies, and Jack's involvement in the murder case becomes more complicated, their concern for the safety of Kate and her son Liam becomes real, when Nooris and Rabinowitz are released from custody, and no one knows the whereabouts of Shona Cohen. 

Is there a connection between the bodies and the case Izzy handled 40 years ago? Are Kate and Liam in harms' way? Find out in Neal Goldstein's new novel, Fishtown, the exciting sequel to Murder and Mayhem in Manayunk.

Received for review.

I wanted to like this, I really did.  It had all the makings of an interesting read - action, adventure, spies, romance - but I still found myself nodding off every single time I cracked open the book.

The characters were just so incredibly boring that I just did not care what happened to them.  I was just not emotionally invested in them in the least and that made for a very, very boring read.

Overall, while the writing was technically very good and the author is clearly talented the lack of any sort of connection with the characters left me yawning and hoping the book would end quickly.  I really cannot recommend this.

★★☆☆☆ = Just Okay




*This post may contain affiliate links*





Wednesday, June 3, 2015

Featured Book: Lifesaving Lessons by Linda Greenlaw


About the book:
Linda Greenlaw isn’t a woman who shies away from a challenge—a nationally renowned swordfish boat captain made famous in the film The Perfect Storm, Greenlaw is also a bestselling author and a television celebrity. Through hard work and determination, she had created a life of peaceful independence, living on a rugged island off the coast of Maine. Then came Mariah. A troubled fifteen-year-old, Mariah arrives on the island to stay with her uncle, an island newcomer and seemingly normal guy. The entire community is rocked when it is revealed that Mariah has suffered terrible abuse at his hands, and the island comes together to rescue the teenager from further harm. Alone and at risk, Mariah needs a guardian and the island residents nominate Linda, who is not exactly the picture of maternal warmth. A remarkably candid and tenderly funny memoir, Lifesaving Lessons follows this unexpected mother-daughter pair as they navigate their new life together, learning to trust themselves and each other and forge the loving family that neither of them knew they needed.

About the author:
Linda Greenlaw, America's only female swordfish boat captain, was featured in the book and film The Perfect Storm. She has written three New York Times bestselling nonfiction books about life as a commercial fisherman as well as a cookbook and two mysteries.

*This post may contain affiliate links*



Tuesday, June 2, 2015

Author Interview: Michael Diamond author of Agents of the Beyond

Michael Diamond, author of Agents of the Beyond, stopped by today for an interview.



Can you tell us a little bit about yourself?

I live and work in the Northern Illinois area, where I spend nights in my basement writing den, dreaming up the next book idea and pounding the keys on my keyboard until I'm happy. I'm an avid reader and gamer, binge Netflix watcher, and documentary fan. I've always had a love of history, and I've dovetailed that into the writing of my first two books, Origins of the Black Idol and Shattered Gods, which take place in the 1920's.


What do you do when you're not writing?

Spend time with family and friends, my dog Zelda, plus various other household projects. I've taken up a strict exercise regiment to work myself into a shape other than round.


When did you first start writing?

Around the age of 13 I began a story based on one of my Shadowrun characters, a Rigger who could control vehicles with his mind through heavy cybernetic implants. I put down about 30,000 words in a blue spiral notebook Freshman year in high school, but the spiral got lost or was stolen the last day of school. I was so crushed I never went back to rewrite it. Years passed before I got serious about writing again.


Is there any particular author or book that influenced you in any way either growing up or as an adult?

I have so many influences, but growing up I read Tolkien, Michael Stackpole, Timothy Zahn, William Gibson, F Scott Fitzgerald to name a few. I grew up in a house with a lot of books, but by 13 I owned more than my parents did.


What inspired you to write this particular book?

With the release of Numenera in 2013 I was overwhelmed by the possibilities for storytelling in the setting, not just as a game master, but as a writer. To my surprise, Monte Cook Games allowed their setting material to be licensed in a limited way, giving creators like me an opportunity to add to what they created, but with my own perspective on the Ninth World.

When I received the approval email back from Charles Ryan on the Limited License product, it was an affirmation to start down the path which led me to writing Agents. Pitching in months later at Gen Con 2014 for MCG, I saw a community eager for more of what Monte and Shanna put in their hands. Getting a chance to meet Tammie Ryan and talk with her while I worked the floor only reinforced my first impressions of MCG. I promised her the next time I saw her, I'd place my Numenera novel in her hands.


What was your favorite chapter (or part) to write and why?

In one particular chapter, the main characters are camping in a valley, with a clear night sky overhead. They watch as a group of floating whales pass over their heads, unaffected by the chaos around them. It gives the characters a chance to dream of what that kind of life would be like, as their current situation isn't very stable.


What is best writing advice you can give?

Write something everyday, even if you hate it afterwards. Writing is something you have to do if you've fallen in love with it. Write. Just write.


Is there anything else you'd like your readers to know about the book?

Agents of the Beyond is set a billion years in the future, after the rise and fall of eight great civilizations. It's far beyond anything we could imagine in the present day, but somehow a form of humanity still exists. It's a wild adventure for three different people, who come together to ride out the changing political and religious landscape around them.



About the book:

One billion years has passed and the earth still turns in the blackness of space, its surface changed by eight great civilizations which rose and fell. Visitants from far flung planets mix with the remnants of our human genetic code, all in a desperate attempt to survive on a world which they do not fully understand.

Wonder and danger can be found around each edge of the known world, with the great nations of the Steadfast united against a perceived threat to the north, under a forceful flag from the Amber Pope. The message spreads like wildfire, carried on the wings of the once intellectual Order of Truth, now plying their community respect to beat the drums of war.
Across the Black Riage Mountain, far from the troubles in the Steadfast, a wild journey takes three travelers from their simple lives to the sparkling gem of the Beyond. The Lambent Fields hold an untold number of secrets beneath their glitter dusted rocks, beckoning to smugglers and merchants alike, all eager to line their pockets with the valuable mechanical gadgets found there.

Aramon’del Windrunner and his partner Grom, a pair of scavengers turned scouts, must guide their enigmatic charge Syills through the wilds of the Beyond in an effort to reach their southern destination. A powerful king awaits her arrival as his prize, but a mad man stands in the way, convinced the pale skinned woman they travel with is the key to unlocking a powerful machine long since forgotten.



About the author:

Michael A. Diamond is an author from northern Illinois, where he lives with his dog Zelda.

Michael grew up in the Rockford area, reading comics and sitting at his first gaming table in his young teen years.

Character histories and backstories were always a particular interest, filling out every inch of the character sheet to flesh out more of the character during play.

“Tales of Greatness” began in 2011 as a gaming blog. It evolved into a series of short stories based around characters who unearthed items of amazing power.

These tales led to the creation of Origins of The Black Idol, the first book in the “Mythos Division” series of novels.

The follow up book, Shattered Gods released in late 2014, continues the journey of Julius Godom as his world unravels.

His blog can be found at http://www.thediamondwriting.com/




Author Interview: Kathy Zengolewicz author of My Dragonfly: And the Lessons He Taught Me

Kathy Zengolewicz, author of My Dragonfly: And the Lessons He Taught Me, stopped by today for an interview.



Can you tell us a little bit about yourself?

I grew up in Philadelphia in a family of five, one sister and three brothers. Dad worked two jobs and when I turned 4 yrs old, mom went out to work just to make ends meet. I came from a very big family. My mother was one of nine, she had two sisters and six brothers, who all lived close by, so I was surrounded by family during most of the years of my childhood. My dad passed when I was young, 11 yrs old. I attended 12 years of Catholic school, and met my husband in the late 60's and married my him in 1970. I have five children, 5 grandchildren and one great-grandson. After my son died in 2012, after dealing with the grief, I decided it was time to find my calling and follow it. I am a person who loves to read, write, craft and spend as much time with my family as possible.


What do you do when you're not writing?

When I am not writing I am helping others through my life coaching work. I teach others to live according to the laws of attraction. I am psychic medium and I use my gifts to help others.


When did you first start writing?

I think I started writing in high school. I was one of those kids who loved to pen essays, yeah I guess I was a little bit nerdy. I liked to write about the things that were in my surroundings, the beauty of nature, those types of things.


Is there any particular author or book that influenced you in any way either growing up or as an adult?

Although My likes seem to wander to the macabre. I like Steven King and Dean Koontz. But partial to Koontz and King, I read many authors, too many to list here.


What inspired you to write this particular book?

Writing my book, "My Dragonfly" who represents the son I lost to drug addiction, has led me to where I am today. I have learned to heal and I am on this Earth to help those who have shared my pain and loss. I have put down into words the things my son taught me, in spirit, and I apply those things to my everyday life.


What was your favorite chapter (or part) to write and why?

I loved writing about the way I communicate with my son, while he is in spirit. Writing about how devastated I was going through this tragedy has helped me to put it in perspective, to get past the grief and just keep Walt in my heart.


What is best writing advice you can give?

Anyone who wants to start writing as a career or just a hobby needs to establish a disciplined routine. Make time to write, everyday, even if it’s for 15 minutes at a time. Sit and write, about anything. Once you start, you’ll surprise yourself with what you can do. If you need a little bit of help, do a Google search: search blog topics, story writing ideas. You’ll get a lot of ideas with those two search topics.


Is there anything else you'd like your readers to know about the book?

Yes, I would like everyone who reads the book to take something away from it. I have pretty much open my heart and soul writing My Dragonfly. The feedback that I have received from people who read it has been very positive. I have been blessed by people telling me that the book has answered some questions that they had about death, grief and moving on. If this book helps just one person to feel better about the loss of a loved one, especially a mother who has lost a child then it was worth writing.



About the book:

Family, relationships, loss, and grief

Dealing with changes throughout life in our own way, through faith and spirituality

When you lose a child, the world stands still. The birds no longer sing, the sun no longer shines. You feel as though you are alone, even in a room full of people. Grief is a terrible five-letter word. It ’s easier to climb a mountain than to get past grief unscathed. Kathy deals with the grief and with the loss that was the cause of the grief. She has learned to live with the grief but under her terms. It is her passionate hope this book can shed some light on the ways that you can conquer grief, kick it to the curb, and create a new life filled with love, peace, and joy.

Kathy and her husband have been married since 1970. They have raised five children: a police officer, a fireman, a master plumber, and an accountant. One son is in spirit. They have five grandchildren and one great-grandson.

My Dragonfly

My Dragonfly represents the son they lost to drug addiction in September of 2012. Kathy has written My Dragonfly to help others who have lost children, to let them know that their life matters, and to help them find the healing they need to feel whole again. If this book helps just one person or one mother who has lost a child, then it was well worth writing.

Learning to live a conscious life has helped Kathy to move toward her goals of manifesting her true life path and helping others who may be searching for meaning in their lives.



About the author:

Kathy was born and raised in Philadelphia, PA. She is the youngest of 5 children. She met her husband in the last 1960’s and they married in 1970. She and her husband have five children, five grandchildren and one great grandson.

Kathy works out of her home office in Northeast Philadelphia. Aside from her writing, Kathy has a life coaching practice where she teaches others to live according to the Laws of Attraction.