Wednesday, September 30, 2015

Featured Book: Unbridled by Barbara McNally


About the book:
Everyone believed Barbara was living the American Dream. She married her college sweetheart, sustained him on his rise to success, and seemed to have the perfect marriage, the perfect family, the perfect home. But when she strayed and her matrimonial cookie crumbled, Barbara realized that to be more than a just a wife... she’d have to get a life. 

Following the lead of her adventurous late grandmother, she set off to overcome her fears and find her independence. While exploring Ireland, the land of her ancestors, she danced with horsemen and communed with priestesses. 

Somewhere along the way, she discovered parts of herself that had been missing from her life. Something she’d longed for without knowing it. She tasted freedom and wanted more.



About the author:
Barbara McNally is an Author, Activist, Mother, Lover, Fighter and Sage. Barbara lives in San Diego, California where she supports organizations like Armed Services YMCA and sponsors activities that help women explore their potential for freedom and individuality. To further this cause, she started a foundation called Mother Lover Fighter Sage. Open to receive and ready to give, Barbara continues her own journey to freedom with a daily zest for living large. If you have an inspirational story you would like to share with Barbara McNally's audience, or a burning question you would like to ask, please reach out to Barbara directly, she would love to hear from you! http://unbridledfreedom.com/

*This post may contain affiliate links*



Sunday, September 27, 2015

Featured Book: Deconstructing the Food Pyramid by Frank J. Ferrin, MD


About the book:

BALANCE AND MODERATION should be the guiding theme in any wellness and weight management program. DECONSTRUCTING THE FOOD PYRAMID, addresses the valuation of the different food groups according to their nutritional and caloric contributions, and presents a serious consideration of physiologic, social and economic factors in connection with our present day concerns with obesity as a world-wide epidemic. Realization of goals and expectations, need to align with individual characteristics. There is always an alternative approach to achieve such balance and moderation by making the better choices.


*This post may contain affiliate links*



Saturday, September 26, 2015

Featured Book: Green Beans and Ice Cream by Bill Sims Jr.


About the book:
Green Beans and Ice Cream? At first glance, they don’t sound like they go together. But this groundbreaking new book from author Bill Sims, Jr. will change forever the way you deal with your family, customers, coworkers, students, and yes, even your spouse! In Bill’s thirty year history, he has helped design more than one thousand behavior change systems that have produced tremendous gains in performance and profits at America’s top companies including Disney, Coca-Cola, McDonald’s, General Motors, and Dupont. Hidden in this book you will find Bill’s “secret sauce”, and the recipe for rapid, sustainable behavior change and engagement--Positive Reinforcement (PR+) The book explains why positive reinforcement is one of the most powerful forces on the planet. Use it wisely, and performance moves off the chart. Use it poorly, and the results can be disastrous. Green Beans & Ice Cream analyzes over 100 years of research in the field of human behavioral science, and compares it to “real world, in the trenches” true stories that Sims recounts. It points out clearly that the thing we need the most, is the thing we often receive the least—positive reinforcement and feedback from those around us. Using the techniques outlined in this book, you can master the remarkable power of positive reinforcement, and make a real difference in the world around you. This book is for everyone who must lead others. Whether in the family, the school, or the workplace, it is a “must read” for anyone who wants to improve the performance of their team. With this first book, Sims has dropped a stone in the still pond of leadership. The waves will only get bigger.

About the author:
Bill Sims, Jr., is President of The Bill Sims Company, Inc. For nearly 30 years, Sims has created behavior-based recognition programs that have helped large and small firms to deliver positive reinforcement to inspire better performance from employees and increase bottom line profits. A sought-after speaker, he has delivered leadership workshops and keynote speeches around the globe and has built more than 1,000 positive reinforcement systems at firms including DuPont, Siemens VDO, Coca-Cola, and Disney.

*This post may contain affiliate links*



Friday, September 25, 2015

Guest Post: Joanne Brocas author of The Power of Angel Medicine

Joanne Brocas, author of The Power of Angel Medicine, stopped by to share with us a piece she wrote.






About the book:

Angels are expert healers and are more than willing to assist us with our challenges and complaints--all we need to do is ask them for their help!

When we reach out to a higher power for spiritual assistance, it is the angels who are sent to bless us, protect us, guide us, heal us, and light our way. The Power of Angel Medicine introduces you to many of these magnificent beings, so that you can learn about the divine powers and special attributes that can help you heal.

You will discover powerful exercises that will instantly go to work within your spiritual and energetic anatomy to effect positive changes and help you align with divine truth and love, the greatest sources of power for healing. The Power of Angel Medicine will help you:
  • Discover insightful information about your divine design--your soul and spirit.
  • Boost your vitality with angel medicine exercises for common complaints.
  • Activate divine healing power with angel-medicine prayer frequencies.
  • Work with angelic experts for persistent health issues.
  • Receive divine knowledge from the angel alchemists to help cocreate your dreams.



About the author:

Joanne Brocas is an angel expert, angel medicine teacher, and best-selling author with more than two decades of experience in angelic communication and healing. Her latest book is The Power of Angels. During her childhood, Joanne communicated with her guardian angel, and has maintained a very strong, clear connection with the angelic realm throughout her life. Joanne is a popular and regular guest on radio shows. Her healing articles have been featured in some of the world's leading healing magazines. Born in South Wales, Joanne now lives in Orlando, Florida, with her husband. She teaches board-approved healing programs and workshops internationally and can be reached via her Website, www.joannebrocas.com.


*This post may contain affiliate links*



Wednesday, September 23, 2015

Featured Book: Alibis: Essays on Elsewhere by Andre Aciman


About the book:
A Boston Globe Best Nonfiction Book of 2011 Celebrated as one of the most poignant stylists of his generation, André Aciman has written a luminous series of linked essays about time, place, identity, and art that show him at his very finest. From beautiful and moving pieces about the memory evoked by the scent of lavender; to meditations on cities like Barcelona, Rome, Paris, and New York; to his sheer ability to unearth life secrets from an ordinary street corner, Alibis reminds the reader that Aciman is a master of the personal essay.









About the author:

*This post may contain affiliate links*



Sunday, September 20, 2015

Author Interview: Tiana Nicole author of You're Not the Boss of Me

Tiana Nicole, author of You're Not the Boss of Me, stopped by for an interview.



Can you tell us a little bit about yourself?

I'm a Jill-of-all trades who lives vicuriously through myself. My ambition keeps me grounded to never allow my fears to drive my motivation. In addition to being an author, I"m also a mentor for young teenage girls, and motivational empowerment speaker for women seeking to break the barriers in the land of entrepreneurial opportunity.


What do you do when you're not writing?

When I'm not writing I'm researching. One thing I've learned over the years is that it takes more than writing about what you know. If you write about only what you know, your writing career won't stretch as far as your hopes. Researching my next project is always on my agenda even when I'm not writing.


When did you first start writing?

I started writing at the age of thirteen, however I would always tell the entire story within the first five chapters (laughter). Over the years I pushed myself to become a better novelist. I pushed myself to believe that practicing the craft would make me better as a writer.


Is there any particular author or book that influenced you in any way either growing up or as an adult?

Growing up I had become infatuated with Terry McMillian novels. The plot development, the character development, all had me hooked from the beginning. I can truly say that reading her novels urged me to become a writer, even at an early age.


What inspired you to write this particular book?

I'm always receiving emails from women, or being approached by women who admit that my writing has inspired them in some sort of way. Many of these women often admit that they inspire to become novelist, however never gained the courage to follow through with it because of their fears. Just like those women, at one point in my life I developed the same exact fears and I wanted to share with women nationwide how to defeat those fears.


What was your favorite chapter (or part) to write and why?

My favorite part to write would have to be the short fictional piece of the story. I loved this section of the story because it spotlights how dangerous and crippling fear can become. It's one thing to tell someone how to defeat fear, however it's another to demonstrate how damaging fear can become.


What is best writing advice you can give?

The best writing advice I can offer to any aspiring writer would be to do your research. Researching any industry you're seeking to break into is crucial. Having that overall basic knowledge of whats to come can take you a long way.


Is there anything else you'd like your readers to know about the book?

If you're seeking empowerment, and need encouragement, this will definitely be a great read for you! I want my readers to know that this book is definitely a barrier to defeating your fears, in order to achieve the ultimate success.



About the book:

With You're Not the Boss of Me Tiana Nicole discovers the value of women determining the tools needed to face fear-an unpleasant emotion all women have to find the courage to conquer. Many women are fearful of following their dreams because their unsure of what will be at the top of the staircase, if they take the initial step.

Because fear is the opposite of desire, Tiana Nicole reveals to women how the beast of fear can cripple their dreams, not allowing them to manifest their aspirations. You're Not the Boss of Me is a book that has been written to portray a deceptively uncomplicated scenario, with an important message meant to modify the way women cope with fear, in order to achieve the ultimate success and desire.

Tiana Nicole challenges fear reminding it that "You're Not the Boss of Me" by unveiling to women, comprehensive and effective methods on how to successfully manage fear as they move forward with their lives fearlessly.



About the author:

Author Tiana Nicole was born in Chicago, Illinois where she was raised by her late great grandmother Lillian E. Hudson. She attended the College of Technology where she earned her degree in Computer System Technology. After discovering she displayed the talents of a Jill-of-all-trades she went on to earn a Bachelor's Degree in Psychology, and also a Master's in Business Management.

Tiana quickly discovered writing was something she could do, and she could do it well. She managed her craft by attending creative writing classes, to avidly consuming the works of her favorite Authors. Being given the gift of creating and molding characters for the imagination, she began to shape and mold a writing career of her own.

Tiana re-released her freshman debut novel Deceitful Temptations January 2015 under her privately owned imprint Triple Pearl Productions. Her sophomore novel titled the Sacred Bond of Matrimony was released January 2015, along-side her debut novel Deceitful Temptations. She decided not to stop there by releasing her Junior novel titled Vengeance is Sweeter than Khandy in February 2015. She’s pleased to continue the saga by releasing her Senior novel titled You’re Not the Boss of Me on October 19, 2015. Her Final release of the year titled What’s Done After Sunset will be set to be released during the kick off of the 2015 holiday season.

As an accomplishment to her literary works, in 2014 she was nominated for book of the year award for her Debut novel Deceitful Temptations by PEN’Ashe Magazine.

Tiana Nicole continues to reside in the city of Chicago, where she shares her life with her loving and supportive husband, and their three children. She intends to create fiction for the imagination for many years to come due to her developed talent that is built to last.




Author Interview: Trevor Halloway author of Ashes and Asphalt

Trevor Halloway, author of Ashes and Asphalt, stopped by for an interview.



Can you tell us a little bit about yourself?

I grew up a military brat, but spend most of my life in southern Louisiana, where I currently live. I work the nine to five racket, but write in what little spare time I'm afforded. Currently I'm editing some novels on my laptop, but more often than not, I find myself updating my fantasy football team (GO Bill's Ciphers!)


What do you do when you're not writing?

Play with my three dogs and two cats. Seriously, they take up a LOT of time. I also have my FB game addictions, which I'm currently trying to beat so that I can get some writing in. Ahhh...procrastination...thou art a heartless wench.


When did you first start writing?

I actually wrote a book when I was five. It was poorly drawn out and was called, "All About Fish." It did not get into the local library, I can assure you. I hit a dry spell after that and the writing fire was rekindled about ten years ago. I would assist other writers with their stories and it snowballed from there.


Is there any particular author or book that influenced you in any way either growing up or as an adult?

A few:

James Thurber with his humor, P.F. Kluge with his sagely advice, and Brian Lumley who told me to just write the book.

But my main influencer was my friend, Walt Bucklin. He wrote his own book, The Return of Sun Tzu. I assisted him and his son with it. The book's sales never took off and it's a shame.


What inspired you to write this particular book?

My families' love of bikes, Easy Rider, and Ghost Rider. I am a comic geek.


What was your favorite chapter (or part) to write and why?

Ahhh...spoilers :). My favorite part has to be where the brothers wound up hung over in the motel and start slapping themselves, thinking that the act will sober them up. It does not.


What is best writing advice you can give?

Don't listen to advice...EXCEPT for this one piece: Make sure that whatever you write is well-structured and grammatically correct.


Is there anything else you'd like your readers to know about the book?

Aside from it winning two awards (Merit Award in CIPA's most recent contest under 'Family and Relationships' and the recent Hollywood Book Award...also an Honorable Mention), not much else. I like to think it's a heartwarming story with loads of humor mixed in.



About the book:

Death might not stop "Wild" Bill Byrne from going to Sturgis, but his sons might.

Bill Byrne is dead and his last request is for his estranged sons, Mike and Kyle, to bring his ashes to the Sturgis Rally in South Dakota.

They have five days to travel two thousand miles and if they survive a renegade biker from New Orleans, three carjacking lunatics, and the police, they'll be home free...unless they kill one another first.


Purchase the book here: Amazon - Paperback, Amazon - Kindle, Barnes and Noble (both)



About the author:

My name is Robert Taylor, but I write under the nom de plume, Trevor Halloway…even if Amazon and a few other venues misspell the name. I wrote “Ashes and Asphalt” due to my love of the motorcycle world and used family lore to help shape the story. My father, uncle, and aunt were enthusiasts, though I have yet to earn a license.

The book has recently won two awards. The most recent one was from the Colorado Independent Publishers Association. I earned a merit award under the category, Family and Relationships.



Featured Book: Open Your Heart to the Magic of Love by Lester R. Sauvage, M.D.


About the book:


















About the author:


*This post may contain affiliate links*



Saturday, September 19, 2015

Featured Book: Some of My Lives by Rosamond Bernier


About the book:
A New York Times Book Review Editors’ Choice Rosamond Bernier has known many (one is tempted to say all) of the greatest artists and composers of the twentieth century. In Some of My Lives, she has made a kind of literary scrapbook from an extraordinary array of writings, ranging from scholarly articles for American publications to her many contributions to the art journal L’ŒIL, which she cofounded in 1955. Through the stories of her encounters with Pablo Picasso, Henri Matisse, Leonard Bernstein, Max Ernst, Aaron Copland, Malcolm Lowry, and Karl Lagerfeld, we come to understand the sheer richness of Bernier’s experiences and memories. Pithy, hilarious, and wise, Some of My Lives is a multifaceted self-portrait of a life informed and surrounded by the arts.





About the author:

*This post may contain affiliate links*



Friday, September 18, 2015

Guest Post: Amy Major author of Toward the Light

Amy Major, author of Toward the Light, stopped by to share with us a piece she wrote.






About the book:

Stories of ghosts and hauntings have frightened us since the beginning of time. Until recently, few have dared to contact the deceased and discover the true nature of earthbound spirits and the phenomena they create. Our understanding of the afterlife has evolved, and with it the reality that ghosts are just like us, facing many of the same problems we face every day. Spirit rescue mediums are "psychologists for the deceased," helping them peacefully transition to the other side.

Toward the Light is the first guide dedicated solely to spirit rescue and its role in saving earthbound spirits from their self-imposed exile on earth. It is a guide to rescue mediumship, a form of spirit communication used to counsel and aid the deceased in crossing over. It is the first book that will help you understand things from a ghost's perspective, and will cover such diverse topics as:
  • Why spirits remain earthbound and the emotions associated with this decision
  • Places of interest for earthbound spirits and the reasoning behind their residency
  • Techniques and tools used by rescue mediums
  • Psychic protection tools and techniques for all levels of spirit activity
  • The different vibrational levels of spirit attachments
  • Residual energy and the techniques used to clear it away



About the author:

Amy Major is a trained psychic, empath, and medium with more than 20 years' experience in the paranormal and spiritual fields. At a young age she learned she had the ability to communicate with her spiritual and animal guides. Throughout her childhood she developed astral projection as well as the ability to see auras. Amy has been a successful spirit rescue medium since 2002 and was the lead medium on many local ghost investigations. She works alongside other mediums and spirit rescue specialists to help aid spirits in their transition to the other side. She lives with her husband and four children in New Hampshire and conducts workshops and seminars locally and nationally. Her Website is www.amymajor.com.



*This post may contain affiliate links*



Wednesday, September 16, 2015

Featured Book: Other Nations by Elizabeth S. Eiler, Ph.D.


About the book:
Explore the spiritual and energetic life of animals. Journey with a Reiki healer through her most moving animal cases, opening your eyes and heart to the metaphysical wonders of the Animal Kingdom. • Discover how energetic healing modalities help animals. • Learn about animal souls and the afterlife. • See animals for the natural healers they truly are. • Uncover the rich spiritual lives of animals. • Deepen communication with your animal companions. • Access Divine assistance for sick, injured, and lost animals. Special features include: • Guided meditations for animal lovers. • Spiritual observances, prayers, and remembrances for animals and their humans. These true stories of courage, hope, healing, and undying love will warm your heart and expand your views about animals forever. Many of the animals featured in this book were rescued by Animal Lifeline of Iowa where they battled back from illness, abuse, neglect, and abandonment. Some of life's most valuable lessons are taught best by these most vulnerable creatures among us. Be inspired to learn new ways of loving animals back! Explore the use of crystals, Angels, prayer, Reiki, and animal communication to enrich their lives. It's real-life experience helping real-world animals, just like yours. Find the keys that unlock the metaphysical mysteries of animals. If you love animals and have wondered about their souls, their spirituality, and how their love goes on, this is the book for you!

About the author:
Elizabeth Eiler is an Usui Reiki Master Practitioner and Ordained Minister of Wisdom of the Heart Church. She devotes a large part of her private practice and spiritual ministry to the needs of animals and their human families. Elizabeth has studied Usui, Crystal, and Angelic Reiki; the Akashic Records; animal communication; and is a fifth-generation psychic medium. Co-owner of Seven Stars Healing Arts, LLC, Elizabeth practices Reiki, mediumship, channeling, and animal communication. She holds college degrees in secular and metaphysical disciplines and completed an intensive course of study at the University of Metaphysical Sciences. She teaches classes about spiritual empowerment, women's spirituality, and the sacred feminine. Elizabeth lives with her husband Benjamin and their three dog-children and has worked with many shelter and rescue animals. Her writing on metaphysical subjects can be found in Conscious Life News and Lightworker's World. Visit her website to learn more about her work at Seven Stars Healing Arts at www.sevenstarshealing.com. Follow "Other Nations" on Facebook at facebook.com/OtherNations.

*This post may contain affiliate links*



Sunday, September 13, 2015

Featured Book: Secrets to a Creative Mind by David Judd Nutting


About the book:
Secrets to a Creative Mind: Become the Master of Your Mind For centuries, scientists and psychologists have sought to unravel the secrets of creativity, and yet the creative mind remains an enigma ... until now. For the first time, readers learn the true inner workings of a human creative mind, not from an erudite scholar, but straight from the source. Such a story can only be told by a creative mind. A mind that has literally created hundreds of successful creative projects that became the learning platform to comprehend the inner workings of the human creative mind. David Judd Nutting - the fertile brain responsible for designing the first SUV -Jeep Grand Wagoneer, the Enstrom helicopter and pioneering Video arcade game system technology - sorts out what makes creative people tick and how to harness that power in Secrets to a Creative Mind: Become the Master of Your Mind. The book will appeal to men and women, all ages and backgrounds, but young professionals will especially appreciate Nutting's insights. Secrets to a Creative Mind reveals how anyone can become the master of their mind and literally forge it into whatever they want to be.

About the author:

*This post may contain affiliate links*



Saturday, September 12, 2015

Featured Book: Mastering Your Destiny by Chuks Maduadi


About the book:
In "Mastering Your Destiny",you will: *Understand that destiny is not a mystery beyond discovery or a future of uncertainty to be anticipated with fear and anxiety; that you are destined to succeed, not to fail; fashioned to be victorious, not to die in defeat. * Know your purpose by understanding the five critical reasons for which you were created and assigned to experience the greatest gift - the gift of life. * Discover the hidden treasures that are carefully buried on the inside of you and how you can develop and use them to your advantage. * Master the act of dreaming and the evolution process of your dream, from inception to actualization. *Throw away the negative opinions, warped assumptions, erroneous views and the less-than-average estimates that the world holds about you; discover your true identity, revamp your shattered image and rejuvenate your self esteem. * Understand the workings of your mind and how your conscious control of the inputs to this amazing computer can determine the outputs of your life and, ultimately, your destiny. *Understand the influence of beliefs on the outcome of life and learn to positively shape your destiny by cultivating and adherring to empowering beliefs. * Master the unwritten laws of life and appreciate the place of obedience in fulfulling your God-ordained purpose and destiny. * Understand your strengths and weaknesses, accept the challenge of personal change and occupy your destined position as a positive influence in your generation. *Learn the common characteristics of challenges, what benefits you can derive from them and how you can confront and conquer every challenge that comes your way. * Understand the two faces of fear, the danger and frivolity of the common fears of man and the application of time-tested principles for living beyond the negative effects of fear. * Master the intricacies of success, the acts of managing success and the keys to achieving success that endures beyond the grave. "Mastering Your Destiny" is a fusion of vast areas of knowledge, a product of many years of research, a mine of real life experiences and a powerful tool that is capable of propelling you to any height. It could be one of the greatest treasures you've ever handled; a handbook that could become your best companion in your daily living. Irrespective of your person or circumstances of life, you will be enlightened, encouraged, inspired and provoked to go beyond borders and become the best that you are destined to be.

About the author:

*This post may contain affiliate links*



Wednesday, September 9, 2015

Featured Book: The Serenity Murders by Mehmet Murat Somer


About the book:
Oh, no! Burçak Veral—kickboxing transvestite, nightclub owner, Audrey Hepburn lookalike, and amateur sleuth—has finally been invited to strut her stuff on a local television show. But during her appearance, an angry viewer calls in vowing to kill off everyone close to Burçak. Later that night, the show’s host is shot dead. What did Burçak do to infuriate the mystery caller? And in a city as chaotic as Istanbul, where does a girl even begin to look? Dressed to the nines and ready to fight—or flirt—Burçak sets off on a desperate manhunt in another delicious Turkish Delight adventure.








About the author:

*This post may contain affiliate links*



Sunday, September 6, 2015

Featured Book: Brain on Fire by Susannah Cahalan


About the book:
One day in 2009, twenty-four-year-old Susannah Cahalan woke up alone in a strange hospital room, strapped to her bed, under guard, and unable to move or speak. A wristband marked her as a “flight risk,” and her medical records—chronicling a month-long hospital stay of which she had no memory at all—showed hallucinations, violence, and dangerous instability. Only weeks earlier, Susannah had been on the threshold of a new, adult life: a healthy, ambitious college grad a few months into her first serious relationship and a promising career as a cub reporter at a major New York newspaper. Who was the stranger who had taken over her body? What was happening to her mind? 

In this swift and breathtaking narrative, Susannah tells the astonishing true story of her inexplicable descent into madness and the brilliant, lifesaving diagnosis that nearly didn’t happen. A team of doctors would spend a month—and more than a million dollars—trying desperately to pin down a medical explanation for what had gone wrong. Meanwhile, as the days passed and her family, boyfriend, and friends helplessly stood watch by her bed, she began to move inexorably through psychosis into catatonia and, ultimately, toward death. Yet even as this period nearly tore her family apart, it offered an extraordinary testament to their faith in Susannah and their refusal to let her go. 

Then, at the last minute, celebrated neurologist Souhel Najjar joined her team and, with the help of a lucky, ingenious test, saved her life. He recognized the symptoms of a newly discovered autoimmune disorder in which the body attacks the brain, a disease now thought to be tied to both schizophrenia and autism, and perhaps the root of “demonic possessions” throughout history. 

Far more than simply a riveting read and a crackling medical mystery, Brain on Fire is the powerful account of one woman’s struggle to recapture her identity and to rediscover herself among the fragments left behind. Using all her considerable journalistic skills, and building from hospital records and surveillance video, interviews with family and friends, and excerpts from the deeply moving journal her father kept during her illness, Susannah pieces together the story of her “lost month” to write an unforgettable memoir about memory and identity, faith and love. It is an important, profoundly compelling tale of survival and perseverance that is destined to become a classic.

About the author:

*This post may contain affiliate links*



Saturday, September 5, 2015

Featured Book: Jane Austen's England by Roy & Lesley Adkins


About the book:
A cultural snapshot of everyday life in the world of Jane Austen

Jane Austen, arguably the greatest novelist of the English language, wrote brilliantly about the gentry and aristocracy of two centuries ago in her accounts of young women looking for love. Jane Austen’s England explores the customs and culture of the real England of her everyday existence depicted in her classic novels as well as those by Byron, Keats, and Shelley. Drawing upon a rich array of contemporary sources, including many previously unpublished manuscripts, diaries, and personal letters, Roy and Lesley Adkins vividly portray the daily lives of ordinary people, discussing topics as diverse as birth, marriage, religion, sexual practices, hygiene, highwaymen, and superstitions.

From chores like fetching water to healing with medicinal leeches, from selling wives in the marketplace to buying smuggled gin, from the hardships faced by young boys and girls in the mines to the familiar sight of corpses swinging on gibbets, Jane Austen’s England offers an authoritative and gripping account that is sometimes humorous, often shocking, but always entertaining.

About the author:


*This post may contain affiliate links*



Friday, September 4, 2015

Featured Book: An Inspiring Afternoon by Milan Bakrania



About the book:

“What’s your secret?”

That’s the question that jump-starts a conversation that will benefit anyone who is curious about life, happiness or their place in the world. As Grandma unfurls a lifetime of wisdom, the reader will feel like the fourth member of a crackling conversation that explores an exhilarating way to live.

Wise Grandma, wide-eyed Lucy and cynical son-in-law Stuart cover many things central to human existence from overcoming anger to finding love and gaining financial success. Though Stuart objects, he quickly finds himself faced with scientific research and real-world examples that make him question his assumptions.

Self-assured, kind and funny, Grandma is the ideal guide, combining philosophical musings, self-help practicality and a studied grasp of diet, psychology and brain chemistry to light the way to a better tomorrow.

This book is perfect for anyone pondering the big questions or looking to build a better life. Readers will find themselves taking away life-transforming advice, even as they begin to hope that Lucy, and even good-hearted Stuart, have understood enough to apply what they’ve learned over this inspiring afternoon.






About the author:

Milan Bakrania was born and raised in the United Kingdom, South London. As a child he would feed his imagination with stories of ancient myths, vampires and aliens. He left college with A-Level passes in Biology, Chemistry and Physics, going on to study and work in the I.T. field. Along the way, and for no reason whatsoever, he would note down story ideas and thoughts in a journal. Today, much older but still a child at heart, it is these random musings that form the foundation for his work. He is a keen observer fascinated with the age-old questions: What is it to be human? Are we really evolving? What is our place in the universe? When he writes he is simply reacting to his observations. His quest continues.



Wednesday, September 2, 2015

Featured Book: Between a Mother and Her Child by Elizabeth Noble


About the book:
The love of a family is stronger than even the greatest tragedy . . . 

Twenty years after their impulsive marriage, Maggie and Bill Barrett are happily settled into the quiet comfort of their dream home with their three beautiful children. Then, the day after Christmas 2004, their world is shattered apart. 

Feeling isolated, Bill leaves to try to discover peace on his own. Maggie shuts down, incapable of connecting with her children or even sleeping most nights. Getting by in a daze, she has no idea how to begin picking up the pieces of their lives. 

Enter Kate: a woman who placed an ad in the paper to be a housekeeper and companion to a family. Kate has secrets and sorrows of her own, but her gentle caring has an immediate effect on the children—and on Maggie herself. When Bill announces that he’s fallen for another woman, Maggie realizes that she will have to fight to put her family back together. But after all they’ve been through, can anything truly fix their broken ties?

About the author:

*This post may contain affiliate links*



Tuesday, September 1, 2015

Author Interview: Daniel M. Harrison author of The Millennial Reincarnations


Daniel M. Harrison, author of The Millennial Reincarnations, stopped by for an interview.



Can you tell us a little bit about yourself?

I love how Iza(bella Kaminska) put it recently in the FT. She described as a "journalist, author, publisher, editor-in-chief. FactoryBanking inventor, serial entrepreneur, Bitcoin 2.0 enthusiast, Blockchain evangelist, and… the oldest direct descendent of the The House of Harrison, the bloodline behind money-printing business Harrison & Sons." That pretty much sums it up I think!


What do you do when you're not writing?

You know, my entire life is work, and writing is one aspect of that. I have several businesses, I have a number of private investments that need constant administering here in Asia where I live, and this year I will have written and published 3 books! So there really isn't time for anything else. Although when I do have time, I love periods where I can breed tropical fish.


When did you first start writing?

When I was 6, maybe. I became aware of wanting to write at that age, at least. It was when I hit 16 I guess I started writing a lot of material, and attempting more ambitious works. I wrote my first novel about 16 or 17, actually. It was called "Calvin's Therapist."


Is there any particular author or book that influenced you in any way either growing up or as an adult?

Yes - The Information by Martin Amis. It was one of the most memorable first lines for me: "Cities at night, I feel, contain men who cry in their sleep and then say Nothing." Cocaine Nights, Lolita and by extension Nabakov - naturally - and Paul Auster all influenced me a lot.


What inspired you to write this particular book?

It actually came out of a sort of disjointed series of events. I began writing it all at different times. Some of those pieces went in my last book, Butterflies. But then when I began to write into those pieces - between the scenes - I realized at least three of the girls in the book were almost "sharing" space in the form of separate characters. Recently I met someone socially just like my character(s) - I was done after 2 weeks after that!


What was your favorite chapter (or part) to write and why?

I think my favorite bits are the ones where the Chinese charaterisations really come out. I had a lot of fun writing the Chinese, because their whole culture is so fabulous in written form, and because I hold a certain affinity for many of their beliefs and ideas. The somewhat darker side of me also enjoyed writing the car accident scene at the end of the book a lot, though that's a nasty scene. I enjoy reading the Prologue and Epilogue best!


What is best writing advice you can give?

Do lots of different types of drugs, get drunk in cities across the world with members of whatever sex. Then quit everything except for sex and the occasional drink and/or line of cocaine at a party. It's at that point you start writing seriously - before that, play around and experiment. Seriously. You need emotional and intellectual ability to write well. You need journeys. But I know many writers who's completely disagree with me, that said.


Is there anything else you'd like your readers to know about the book?

Yes. Give me honest reviews - especially if you hate the book. If you think I suck as a writer and you hate how pretentious and conceited I come across, say so publicly on Amazon. I have found the most critical reviews the most helpful in my career, to be honest.



About the book:

International Number 1 bestselling author Daniel M. Harrison portrays the modern millennial psyche like no other author has ever before. In The Millennial Reincarnations, the young minds of today are not just infused by the fast-paced, always-on economy of things, but they themselves are parts of the fabric of our changing environment. Specifically, Harrison imagines today's young millennials as the reincarnated technology that drives our spiritual goals, needs, wants, aspirations and desires. The author expounds upon this theme in 70,000 words of fiction to explore the effect of technology upon the spiritual core of us all.

The Millennial Reincarnations is Daniel M. Harrison's latest masterpiece, construed as a novel in 3 parts: Body, Face and Soul. The narrative arc spans the years 1990-2014, taking in almost the entire Millennial era, during which the previously gradual adoption of artificially-orchestrated and influenced values and the associated technologically-infused processes of thinking has been rising at its steepest incline ever. Harrison considers in compelling and jaw-dropping prose some of the furthest-reaching effects on society as a whole of this trend.

The Millennial Reincarnations is the composition of what amount to an inter-related series of stories that take place from within this 14 year period in New York City and in Shanghai, China. When two young girls are killed in a violent car accident, they have no idea that, unbeknownst to them, the reaction of a child star in the car in front who dies on the operating table in the hospital will set in motion events that bring about the next twenty years of economic upheaval and prosperity and define their individual and collective destinies.

For the rapid reincarnation of their young souls is the direct result of the high-tech advancements society is making at the time they die, which, in speeding up cognitive function, in theory will allow less rested minds to adapt to their new bodies much more quickly. However, when formed inside bodies the young girls' souls appear at times partial and fragmented, as if hardly able to remain complete in the one body they inhabit. Although materially rich and socially popular, their minds suffer from chemical addictions and emotional dependencies as a result of their spiritual afflictions, which had no time to rest before returning to relive under the weight of the earth.

Ultimately, the author uses this premise to set in motion a series of catalytic events that chime with the real world in which we live as well as to explore in greater depth the psychological ramifications of a whole generation raised on excess material wealth, social agendas, individualistic points of view commingled with greater societal ideals and views on money as an object to be mastered and used - not needed - which permeates so many juvenile Millennial societies today.

In The Millennial Reincarnations, Harrison returns to the big picture issues of wealth and poverty, life and death, money and war, with more powerful prose and stylistic twists than ever before. The author packs every one of the 12 chapters in the book with a moving and thrilling series of events and a twist right at the very end that you won't see coming.

This is an incredible, eye-opening, and moving read - cinematic in the execution Harrison delivers in capturing the whole world within 300 pages. Already being muttered about in the elite literary circles of London and New York as a potential candidate for the Great Millennial Novel, The Millennial Reincarnations will stay with you long after you have turned the last page. A tremendous work of fiction by a masterful author who has been described as "brilliant" by Jeffrey Robinson and "easily the best" by the Huffington Post's Azeem Khan.



About the author:

Daniel Mark Harrison (Wikipedia) is an Asia-based entrepreneur, thinker, technology evangelist and writer and professional negotiator. Currently, he is Managing Partner of a South East Asia-based investor consortium which is actively investing in deep value and high-growth deals specifically within the region. He is also a media proprietor, having successfully started up two widely-read publications online in the past 2 years.

Before coming to Asia, Harrison acted as the sole outside support solicited to manage a significant restructuring and fundraising for a prominent global tech SME in 2010 during the aftermath of the subprime crisis (the company is today growing at over 30% a year and hiring aggressively along with laying out additional expansion plans). During the same period, Harrison also became well-known among aviation executives for assembling and arranging a series of aviation deals, including the lease-purchase of two A320s belonging to Air India to a small Thai airline as well as the purchase/sale and simultaneous refinancing of a scheduled South East Asia-based airline with over 50 cabin crew on staff.

Harrison has worked with a who’s who of Asia-based entrepreneurs and government families and counts as extremely close personal friends many of the region’s elite.

In Asia, Harrison has established himself as one of the region’s leading up-and-coming power brokers, mostly as a result of his deep relationships with government officials, senior executives and fund managers. In the first half of 2015, Harrison single-handedly arranged the appointment of the new chief executive for Asia’s largest e-commerce platform solutions provider after being asked by the firm’s largest shareholder to help out. During the past 4-5 years, Harrison has also facilitated introductions for corporations around Asia to Chairmen and Presidents of Chinese State Owned Enterprises in Beijing, has introduced Managing Partners of hedge funds and private equity funds based in Hong Kong, Singapore and Bangkok to foreign deal partners and investors, and has sourced local joint venture partners for both European and American government-owned and private corporations.

In 2014, Harrison came up with the first value configuration for an Internet of Things economy when he published findings that led to the formulation of Factory Banking. Factory Banking is the creation of value via a series of transactions and services that happen simultaneously via an integrated value chain-shop-network configured platform. This value creation process is both cost-reductive and value-additive due to its integrated, immediate (or very fast) process and the potential that a supplier has to thus build in profit margin.

The theory is founded upon research conducted by Charles B. Stabell and Øystein D. Fjeldstad who used Michael Porter’s conception of the Value Chain to configure different models of value for a virtual economy in a 1998 paper they authored.

Factory Banking is the first value configuration to utilize a Blockchain technology, and is hypothesised to be the necessary method of understanding and interpreting value in an economy that runs on the Internet of Things. Harrison said in a June 2015 presentation where he unveiled the model for the second time, “The Internet of Things will be the Internet of Nothing without the Blockchain.”

Considered one of the first major mainstream millennial authors to have widespread success in publishing, Harrison has been described as “one to watch” by bestselling author Jeffrey Robinson.

His most recent publishing venture was founding the news site MarxRand, which has broken numerous stories mainstream media outlets have refused to cover. Before that in publishing Harrison helped build CoinSpeaker from an audience of just 10,000 readers per month when he started in 2014 to around 1 million readers per month today and a Google News headline site, making Coinspeaker the second largest bitcoin news source in the world.

Harrison has been widely quoted in mainstream media and journalism texts throughout the 2000s on many issues, including online media, finance and cross-cultural issues, and was highlighted in 2006 as one of the first professional champions of internet journalism in Dr. David Berry’s seminal classic “Journalism, Ethics and Society.”

In journalism, Harrison has written hundreds of articles for big name global news publications, including Forbes, Washington Post, Portfolio Magazine as well as newer online journals such as the Daily Dot. During 2007-2009 Harrison was the sole Asia correspondent for TheStreet, working between Hong Kong and New York. As Editor-in-Chief of Coinspeaker, he made the publication an overnight success story and he has consistently broken a number of major stories in the Bitcoin space, most notably the hazards with the Coindesk Bitcoin Price Index. A series of articles Harrison wrote that highlighted the vulnerability of the index to mis-pricing error prompted CoinDesk to readjust their index calibrations and reorganise the way they compile and present price data.

In 2015, Harrison published his first book BUTTERFLIES: The Strange Metamorphosis of Fact & Fiction In Today’s World, a combined tale of fiction interlaced with real journalism that explores the effects of millennial attitudes to a broad range of subjects, including spiritual belief and practice, financial spending, social interactions as well as other psychological and sexual habits of the generation. Dubbed by popular media as the first of the great millennial works of literature, the book received enormous praise from the mainstream press and readers alike.

Jeffrey Robinson, the popular financial crime journalist and bestselling author of New York Times bestselling books such as The Laundrymen, Criminal Intent and There’s A Sucker Born Every Minute, described Butterflies as “a brilliant book … required reading.” Writing in the prestigious Midwest Book Review, Diane Donovan, a heavyweight reviewer with more than 35 years experience and over 50,000 reviews to her credit, labelled the book “vivid” and “imaginative” and wrote “Butterflies is a book that every thinking American should consider”. Writing in The Huffington Post, leading millennial culture critic and former start-up CEO Azeem Khan called the book “reality TV for the novel” and wrote “I applaud the effort Harrison is making to try and make literature a place that is ultimately more connected and innovative as a place where ideas can be exchanged and discussed in a way that no else has done before. In that respect at least, this was easily the best book I have read this year.”

Readers on Amazon were equally full of enthusiasm for the upstart publishing debut, with a broad range of praise ranging from “one of the most thought provoking books that I think I’ve ever read” to “a rollicking good ride through all that’s right and wrong with today’s world … This book will open a lot of eyes” and “all in all this was an excellent read: a bleak, dismal, yet intricate portrayal of the financial times we live in.”

Due to the widespread press attention and high-octane, original and controversial nature of the book’s premise, Butterflies sold over 5000 copies in paperback and Kindle format in the first few months of publication.

Harrison has lived and grown up all over the world, including Scandinavia, Europe, Asia and the United States. He attended more than 8 separate schools before he begun his University education at St. Peter’s College, Oxford in the late 1990’s, where he studied Theology for one year before dropping out to start a hedge fund. The story of Harrison’s early days is narrated in the first chapter of How I Caused The Credit Crunch, a bestselling account of the financial world during the 2000s that has been described as “a vivid and personal account of 21st century banking excess”, written by a classmate of Harrison’s at Oxford who later went on to work for Goldman Sachs. Harrison holds an MBA from BI in Oslo, Norway.