Wednesday, December 30, 2015

Featured Book: The Treasure of Snake Island by Carole P. Roman

After a fierce battle with a storm, the crew goes in search of treasure. 

Alexander, that is, Captain No Beard uses a map to locate it on the ominous sounding Snake Island. 

Bravely they dig until they find the best treasure ever!


About the author:

Named to Kirkus Reviews' Best of 2012 for her first book, award winning author Carole P. Roman started writing as a dare from one of her sons. Using an imaginary game she played with her grandson as a base, Captain No Beard was born."Captain No Beard- An Imaginary Tale of a Pirate's Life" has not only been named to Kirkus Best of 2012, it received the Star of Exceptional Merit, and won the Pinnacle Award for 2012. "Pepper Parrot's Problem with Patience" Book 2 in the series, received 5 Stars from The ForeWord Review The Clarion Review. Strangers on the High Seas has won second place in the Rebecca's Reads Choice Awards 2013. It has followed with six more books to the series.



*This post may contain affiliate links*



Sunday, December 27, 2015

Featured Book: If You Were Me and Lived in France by Carole P. Roman

"If You Were Me and Lived in...France-A Child's Introduction to Culture Around the World" is the second book in Carole P. Roman's remarkable series about countries all over the globe. 

With each book covering a different nation, Roman opens up a world of wonder while highlighting the fact that underneath it all we are far more alike than we might have imagined. 

Focusing on what life would be like from a child's viewpoint, she examines the diversity of the people who make up our planet.


About the author:

Named to Kirkus Reviews' Best of 2012 for her first book, award winning author Carole P. Roman started writing as a dare from one of her sons. Using an imaginary game she played with her grandson as a base, Captain No Beard was born."Captain No Beard- An Imaginary Tale of a Pirate's Life" has not only been named to Kirkus Best of 2012, it received the Star of Exceptional Merit, and won the Pinnacle Award for 2012. "Pepper Parrot's Problem with Patience" Book 2 in the series, received 5 Stars from The ForeWord Review The Clarion Review. Strangers on the High Seas has won second place in the Rebecca's Reads Choice Awards 2013. It has followed with six more books to the series.



*This post may contain affiliate links*



Saturday, December 26, 2015

Featured Book: I Want to Do Yoga Too by Carole P. Roman

Hallie and her mother go to the yoga studio. 

Hallie wants to join her mom's yoga class, but she isn't allowed. 

She complains to the babysitter, who gently guides her through four yoga poses. 

Hallie learns that not only is yoga easy, but fun as well.


About the author:

Named to Kirkus Reviews' Best of 2012 for her first book, award winning author Carole P. Roman started writing as a dare from one of her sons. Using an imaginary game she played with her grandson as a base, Captain No Beard was born."Captain No Beard- An Imaginary Tale of a Pirate's Life" has not only been named to Kirkus Best of 2012, it received the Star of Exceptional Merit, and won the Pinnacle Award for 2012. "Pepper Parrot's Problem with Patience" Book 2 in the series, received 5 Stars from The ForeWord Review The Clarion Review. Strangers on the High Seas has won second place in the Rebecca's Reads Choice Awards 2013. It has followed with six more books to the series.



*This post may contain affiliate links*



Wednesday, December 23, 2015

Featured Book: Stuck in the Doldrums by Carole P. Roman

When the wind stops blowing, Captain No Beard and his crew, including First Mate Hallie, Linus the Lion, Fribbet the Frog, Mongo the Monkey and Polly the Parrot, are stuck on a desert island. Maroon with nothing to do, they begin to play and enjoy themselves. 

However, Captain No Beard has other ideas, bossing his crew around and making playtime cheerless for everyone. Soon, Captain No Beard decides he has had enough and storms off. 

When his ship is attacked by a giant squid, he realizes he needs his crew more than ever. Captain No Beard and his crew show young readers that's it's important to cooperate and share your belongings. 

The crew teaches us that if you want to have friends, then you must be a friend too.



About the author:

Named to Kirkus Reviews' Best of 2012 for her first book, award winning author Carole P. Roman started writing as a dare from one of her sons. Using an imaginary game she played with her grandson as a base, Captain No Beard was born."Captain No Beard- An Imaginary Tale of a Pirate's Life" has not only been named to Kirkus Best of 2012, it received the Star of Exceptional Merit, and won the Pinnacle Award for 2012. "Pepper Parrot's Problem with Patience" Book 2 in the series, received 5 Stars from The ForeWord Review The Clarion Review. Strangers on the High Seas has won second place in the Rebecca's Reads Choice Awards 2013. It has followed with six more books to the series.



*This post may contain affiliate links*



Tuesday, December 22, 2015

Excerpt: The Story of Jax and Dylan by Jamie Dean

Jamie Dean, author of The Story of Jax and Dylan, stopped by to share with us an excerpt from his book.






About the book:

Dylan and Jax were typical best friends, until Dylan fell for Jax and kissed him the night before senior prom. Dylan had to move away before they could talk about it, so he has spent ten years thinking Jax hated him for that kiss.

Reconnecting on Facebook allows them to meet again, and they quickly become as close as ever, spending most of their free time together. Dylan falls for Jax a second time, even though Jax has a girlfriend and appears to be straight.

Important secrets about Jax may lie hidden in the books he's written, but Jax has asked Dylan not to read them, and Dylan refuses to break his promise. When the truth finally surfaces, their lives will never be the same.



About the author:

Jamie Dean lives in the southwestern US with his long-time domestic partner, two dogs, two cats, and a selection of outdoor-dwelling lizards. For Jamie, writing is a way of life. He finds inspiration everywhere and sometimes can't sleep for all the ideas fighting for his attention. He's an activist, a feminist, a pansexual, and just generally a pain in the ass.

He has published two well-reviewed erotic gay romances, The Story of Jax and Dylan (Dreamspinner Press, April 2015) and The Art of Survival (JDW Press, July 2015).




Sunday, December 20, 2015

Featured Book: If You Were Me and Lived in South Korea by Carole P. Roman

Carole P. Roman takes you on a journey this time to Asia, landing in South Korea. 

Once again, children can learn how life is like for young people on the other side of the globe. 

From food to famous landmarks, they will learn that's it's easy to find something in common with people in different countries.


About the author:

Named to Kirkus Reviews' Best of 2012 for her first book, award winning author Carole P. Roman started writing as a dare from one of her sons. Using an imaginary game she played with her grandson as a base, Captain No Beard was born."Captain No Beard- An Imaginary Tale of a Pirate's Life" has not only been named to Kirkus Best of 2012, it received the Star of Exceptional Merit, and won the Pinnacle Award for 2012. "Pepper Parrot's Problem with Patience" Book 2 in the series, received 5 Stars from The ForeWord Review The Clarion Review. Strangers on the High Seas has won second place in the Rebecca's Reads Choice Awards 2013. It has followed with six more books to the series.



*This post may contain affiliate links*



Saturday, December 19, 2015

Featured Book: The Parts to Effective Psychology by Dr. Rev. Stephen Kunle Awoniyi

Counseling brings a change in a person's life, it digs deeper, and it seeks for great understanding and privilege. 

List of words that come to mind when I think of counseling and the process of change: 
  • A safe place 
  • A place where you believe in
  • A place of true honesty and genuineness
  • A place that another person is able to fight for you and with you
  • A place where there is hope of transformation
  • A place where there is hope of redemption and restoration
  • A place of reflection
  • A place to see truly who you are and what makes you-you
  • A place to process and find solutions
  • A place to dig deeper


About the author:

Rev. (Dr.) Stephen Kunle Awoniyi is a part-time lecturer at Simmons College of Kentucky. He is a counselor at mental health Institution: Central State Hospital, Louisville, KY. He also serve as the pastor of Evangelical Church Winning All (ECWA), Louisville, Kentucky; the Church he founded in 2001. He was the Pastor and Local Overseer at the ECWA Church in Kwara State, Nigeria for several years in early 1970%u2019s to 1990. Dr. Awoniyi received his Counseling & Psychology training from Campbellsville University, Louisville, KY with Master of Science in Counseling & Psychology. He received Doctor of Missiology, Master of Divinity: Pastor track, and Master of Arts in Christian Education from the Southern Baptist Theological Seminary, Louisville Kentucky. He is also the recipient of Bachelor of Arts in Biblical studies from Simmons Bible College, Louisville, Kentucky and Bachelor of Religious Education from ECWA Theological Seminary at Igbaja, Nigeria.



*This post may contain affiliate links*



Wednesday, December 16, 2015

Featured Book: Strangers on the High Seas by Carole P. Roman

Captain No Beard and the crew of the Flying Dragon welcome a new crew member, when Cabin Girl Cayla joins the ship. 

Responsible for his little sister, Captain No Beard is not very happy because he finds his newest charge a distraction. 

When faced with danger, the captain must find a way to escape. 

While learning valuable lessons about strangers, the crew realized not to judge somebody because they are young or small. Strength comes in all sizes!



About the author:

Named to Kirkus Reviews' Best of 2012 for her first book, award winning author Carole P. Roman started writing as a dare from one of her sons. Using an imaginary game she played with her grandson as a base, Captain No Beard was born."Captain No Beard- An Imaginary Tale of a Pirate's Life" has not only been named to Kirkus Best of 2012, it received the Star of Exceptional Merit, and won the Pinnacle Award for 2012. "Pepper Parrot's Problem with Patience" Book 2 in the series, received 5 Stars from The ForeWord Review The Clarion Review. Strangers on the High Seas has won second place in the Rebecca's Reads Choice Awards 2013. It has followed with six more books to the series. Motivated by her love of yoga, Roman has written a book that not only teaches four poses, but shows how easy and accessible yoga can be. Her new non fiction series, "If You Were Me and Lived in..." combines her teaching past with her love of exploration and interest in the world around us. The debut book in the series, "If You Were Me and Lived in...Mexico" has won the Pinnacle Award for Best in Children's Non Fiction 2012. France, South Korea, and Norway. Rebecca's Reads has given If You Were Me and Lived in...Norway an honorable mention in the 2013 Choice Awards. If You Were Me and lived in ...France won second place. ForeWord Review has nominated If You Were Me and Lived in...France for best in children's non fiction literature 2013. They will be followed with Kenya, Turkey, India, and Australia. She plans to do Portugal, Greece, and Argentina next year. Writing for children has opened up a whole second act for her. While she is still working in her family business, this has enabled her to share her sense of humor as well as love for history and culture with the audience she adores. Roman lives on Long Island with her husband and near her children.



*This post may contain affiliate links*



Saturday, December 12, 2015

Featured Book: Whaley's Big Adventure by Carole P. Roman

Join Whaley on his big adventure in the ocean as he meets Whales of all different sizes.

Written and illustrated by 5 year old Alexander Luke, and presented by his grandmother, award-winning children's author Carole P. Roman, this oceanic adventure of whale-sized proportions will teach youngsters about the different whales that live in the oceans.


About the author:

Named to Kirkus Reviews' Best of 2012 for her first book, award winning author Carole P. Roman started writing as a dare from one of her sons. Using an imaginary game she played with her grandson as a base, Captain No Beard was born."Captain No Beard- An Imaginary Tale of a Pirate's Life" has not only been named to Kirkus Best of 2012, it received the Star of Exceptional Merit, and won the Pinnacle Award for 2012. "Pepper Parrot's Problem with Patience" Book 2 in the series, received 5 Stars from The ForeWord Review The Clarion Review. Strangers on the High Seas has won second place in the Rebecca's Reads Choice Awards 2013. It has followed with six more books to the series.



*This post may contain affiliate links*



Thursday, December 10, 2015

Author Interview: Jamie Dean author of The Art of Survival

Jamie Dean, author of The Art of Survival, stopped by today for an interview.



Can you tell us a little bit about yourself?

Well, outside my writing obsession, I think I'm pretty boring. My animals, on the other hand, I could talk about them for days. Especially our new puppy...


What do you do when you're not writing?

I'm honestly not sure I'm ever not writing! When I'm not typing story up, I'm usually either editing or researching or plotting or talking about writing or thinking about one of those things, so... No, but the usual stuff, I suppose? I read a lot. I cook and draw and spend time with Jay and my family and my animals. Try new beers. Help friends through crises. I listen to music and watch sci-fi television and comic book movies. I take road trips. Lots of little road trips.


When did you first start writing?

I was around 4 years old the first time I wrote something, I think? I couldn't spell anything, my mother had to spell it all out for me, but an idea caught my attention and I felt a compulsion to tell a story about it. As for knowing I was a writer, or at least wanted to be a writer, I was around 12-13. My creative writing teacher was amazing and she helped me get a poem published in an anthology. When that happened I absolutely knew that I wanted to publish a book one day.


Is there any particular author or book that influenced you in any way either growing up or as an adult?

Stephen King and Clive Barker both had huge influences on me, I'd say. Really the way King talks about what it's like to be a writer (and how to be a better one) more than just his books - although I love those too. He's also so open-minded and I've no doubt he helped make me the free-thinker I am today. Clive Barker's book Imajica, where he explores the idea of a third gender, well, that book just captivated me. His books, being some of the first books I ever read where gay relationships were explored in a positive, normal way, probably have a bigger impact on me than I even realize.


What inspired you to write this particular book?

I was taking a little road trip with my sister MB. She and I were just throwing out ideas for things, little writing prompts. We made a list and then I sort of left it for a while. Weeks or months, I'm not sure. Then one day, I was blocked, so I was skimming the list. For some reason, this idea - one that I'd really liked but hadn't felt inspired by at the time - caught my eye again. It's gotten a lot of editing and rewriting since then, but I think I wrote the original draft in a couple of weeks? It was the first time I tried to make chapters a specific length, I think. That went out the window later, but the first draft I used that method.


What was your favorite chapter (or part) to write and why?

I think probably the part where Trevor finally gets his shit together and decides to give them a chance. Though I really, really like writing angst...


What is best writing advice you can give?

Read a lot. Write a lot. Try to join a writing community. Talking to other writers can be so helpful, you wouldn't believe. It's a lot easier to accept feedback from people who know what they're doing.


Is there anything else you'd like your readers to know about the book?

I'm no Les Stroud. Don't try to survive based on techniques mentioned in my book. I did a lot of research, but there were times when artistic license took precedent, so if you want to learn real survival, look elsewhere.



Trevor Wilson has been a survivalist for about ten years. Training people no longer pays the bills, though, so he's been supplementing his income for a few years by taking bored rich people on Survival Safaris - and he hates it.

Enter one Grantland DeLourde. When the independently wealthy Grant books a series of safaris, Trevor is forced to question everything about his life, from his career to his romantic choices to his family obligations.

Grant makes Trevor feel things he has long buried and he won't let himself give in without a fight.

Art of Survival will be 34% off for 24 hours only, starting on 12/10 at 6am PST!



About the author:

Jamie Dean lives in the southwestern US with his long-time domestic partner, two dogs, two cats, and a selection of outdoor-dwelling lizards. For Jamie, writing is a way of life. He finds inspiration everywhere and sometimes can't sleep for all the ideas fighting for his attention. He's an activist, a feminist, a pansexual, and just generally a pain in the ass.

He has published two well-reviewed erotic gay romances, The Story of Jax and Dylan (Dreamspinner Press, April 2015) and The Art of Survival (JDW Press, July 2015).




Wednesday, December 9, 2015

Featured Book: The Centurions by Jean Larteguy

The military cult classic with resonance to the wars in Iraq and Vietnam—now back in print 

When The Centurions was first published in 1960, readers were riveted by the thrilling account of soldiers fighting for survival in hostile environments. They were equally transfixed by the chilling moral question the novel posed: how to fight when the “age of heroics is over.” As relevant today as it was half a century ago, The Centurions is a gripping military adventure, an extended symposium on waging war in a new global order, and an essential investigation of the ethics of counterinsurgency. Featuring a foreword by renowned military expert Robert D. Kaplan, this important wartime novel will again spark debate about controversial tactics in hot spots around the world. 

For more than sixty-five years, Penguin has been the leading publisher of classic literature in the English-speaking world. With more than 1,500 titles, Penguin Classics represents a global bookshelf of the best works throughout history and across genres and disciplines. Readers trust the series to provide authoritative texts enhanced by introductions and notes by distinguished scholars and contemporary authors, as well as up-to-date translations by award-winning translators.



About the author:

Jean Larteguy (1920-2011) is the penname of Jean Pierre Lucien Osty, who served as a soldier in Korea and North Africa before becoming a distinguished journalist and novelist.



*This post may contain affiliate links*



Sunday, December 6, 2015

Featured Book: Blue as Blue Can Be by Robert Kendall

This book recounts the experiences of Alpheus Fairbanks, a Civil War soldier as seen from his letters home. 

He offers an inside view of the conflicting attitudes of the two sides during his service, mostly in Kentucky. Do it my way vs We're in it together--Two divergent cultural attitudes characterized the two sides in this civil war. 

In the south everyone wanted to do things his own way. Theirs was an 'every man for himself 'culture. The north saw themselves as a unified whole in spite of differences 'a 'we're in it together" culture. The behavior of officers and men on both sides betray these differences. 

The differences are behind incidents Fairbanks relates, from building defenses for Cincinnati, repairing railroad bridges, chasing small parties of raiders from Tennessee near Lexington, rebuilding a bridge on the Tennessee River south of Knoxville, getting shot at during an engagement near Somerset, KY, encountering two women "night walkers" [prostitutes] who had $300 in good money, and his being captured in a battle at Philadelphia, TN. 

Imprisoned at first in Richmond, VA's Belle Isle prison, transferred to Andersonville; early prisoners there faced Confederate cannons where the stockades were unfinished. With little food, mostly cornhusks, on April 25, 1864 he was the 176th prisoner to die at Andersonville. He was 31.



About the author:

Robert Kendall was born on a farm in Kansas and escaped the Great Depression and Dust Bowl to the Yakima Valley of Washington State. He grew up in Hermiston, Oregon, where he delivered the Walla Walla Union Bulletin and worked as a drug store soda jerk, as a school janitor helper; and as an assembler of furniture. On Butter Creek Ranch, he worked as a ranch-hand bailing and stacking hay. He graduated from College in Eugene, Oregon, while working evenings on a log pond at a sawmill. Kendall earned a PhD from Indiana University in Bloomington. He was a Journalism Professor at the University of Florida for more than 20 years, where he taught Journalism, Mass Communications, and Public Relations courses. He is the author of two editions of a textbook, Public Relations Campaign Strategies. After retiring, he has pursued his long-term interest in history, particularly the Civil War.


*This post may contain affiliate links*



Saturday, December 5, 2015

Featured Book: Awaken Your Third Eye by Susan Shumsky, DD

Usually, you perceive the world by using your five senses: sight, taste, smell, touch, and hearing. 

But there is a sixth sense, an inner eye that can open the gateway to subtler realms of existence. 

Developing this inner eye will enable you to view a previously invisible world of multiple dimensions, spiritual planes filled with light, and alternate realities of indescribable wonders. 

This eye of wisdom, knowledge, illumination, and intuition is aptly named the third eye. 

Using the methods in Awaken Your Third Eye, you will learn how to develop supersensory perception, and how to use your third eye in your everyday life to receive guidance, healing, wisdom, inspiration, creativity, and spiritual awakening.



About the author:

Susan Shumsky, DD, has dedicated her life to helping people take command of their lives in highly effective, powerful, and positive ways. She is an award-winning author of 11 books including The Power of Chakras, The Power of Auras, and Ascension. For 22 years, her mentor was Maharishi Mahesh Yogi, guru of the Beatles and of Deepak Chopra. She served on Maharishi's personal staff for seven years. A pioneer in the human potential field and a highly respected spiritual teacher for nearly 50 years, she is the founder of Divine Revelation®--a unique, field-proven technology for contacting the divine presence, hearing and testing the inner voice, and receiving clear divine guidance. Her Website is www.drsusan.org.



*This post may contain affiliate links*



Thursday, December 3, 2015

Review: Mistakes Are Proof That You Are Trying: Coloring Book by Samantha Snyder

Color Your Way to Fun, Inspiration, and Relaxation.

Mistakes Are Proof That You Are Trying shares 50 doodle art images of inspiring sayings, quotes, and words printed on one side of the page for all ages to color.

Quotes from famous authors include Aristotle, Ralph Waldo Emerson, Benjamin Franklin, Florence Nightingale, William Shakespeare, Walt Whitman, and more. The book also includes sayings and words from Discover and It takes a big heart to shape little minds to Remain Curious and To teach is to touch a life forever.

Each doodle art image has been carefully selected to provide plenty of enjoyment, inspiration, and relaxation.

Coloring isn't just for the kids anymore! There is something for everyone, so take a minute, explore the magic of it all, and live a colorful life!

Explore the Magic of Doodle Art.



Received for review

I’m the first to admit that I have zero artistic talent and while I’ve wanted to try those new coloring books for adults that seem to be popping up everywhere I’ve been a bit intimidated. They’re scary! I don’t want to color in something uber complicated like a mandala, I just want to have fun! This is why I was thrilled to come across this adorable book!

As soon as I received it I made a trip to Staples and picked up a basic set of Crayola colored pencils and settled in for some fun. And it really was fun! The pictures are easy to fill in with various colors and are just intricate enough to be engaging without totally overwhelming and discouraging you. I also felt like I could be as creative (or not) as I wanted without feeling bad. I colored in the entire page of Failure is Impossible in orange simply because I could and it was incredibly freeing.

The entire coloring process is remarkably calming and is a great way to ease stress and just let yourself be for a while. It’s almost like mediation in settling your mind and now I remember why I so enjoyed coloring as a child!

Overall, this is an incredibly entertaining book with a nice variety of designs and quotes that will leave your day better for having interacted with it. This is the first book I’ve tried in the series and I can’t wait to try the others as well. I certainly highly, highly recommend this!

★★★★★= Loved It



*This post may contain affiliate links*



Wednesday, December 2, 2015

Featured Book: How the Grandmas and Grandpas Saved Christmas Again by Richard J. Gausselin

THEM: Thoughtless, Heartless, Emotionless Machines. 

At the North Pole, Santa is quickly realizing that children's toy preferences are changing to electronic gadgets and gizmos-and the days of traditional wooden toys "made with hands and hearts" may be over. Kids want toys that talk, walk, play games, and do their homework, and Santa does not want any disappointed children on Christmas morning. 

In order to keep up with the demand, Santa must purchase "THEM"-thoughtless, heartless, emotionless machines-to help build the electronic gadgets. The problem? The machines are well beyond the elves' technology and capabilities, and they'll need help from the grandmas and grandpas. 

With only seventeen weeks to Christmas Eve, there is much work to do, and it'll take a team of grandmas, grandpas, and elves working at a feverish pace to get things running as smoothly as a spinning top. But such a toy-changing decision does not come without challenges and problems, and "problem" is one word Santa does not want to hear. 

Hang on to your hat-it's going to be a wild ride in elfdom in How the Grandmas & Grandpas Saved Christmas, Again-dedicated to those who believe in the spirit of giving, the magic of Christmas, and Santa Claus himself.



*This post may contain affiliate links*



Tuesday, December 1, 2015

Review: What School Never Taught Me About Money by Angelia Kinston

Money – we all want it and need it and work hard to obtain it. Yet, many people have trouble managing it effectively. Let’s face it, if everyone were good at it, everyone would be retired living on an island. All individuals have challenges when it comes to money and its management.

Young adults are taught many things in school, but simple home economics concepts like creating a spending plan and tracking expenses are often overlooked.

Not so young adults get caught up when life happens and are sometimes forced to make hard and bad decisions that threaten or ruin their financial health and stability.

Without a plan, it’s nearly impossible to meet the savings goals individuals and families need to reach their financial freedom and enjoy life.

Whether you are 15 or 50, this book will get you started into personal money management; breakdown saving, spending, credit and investment; get you on a fiscally responsible track; clarify the sometimes confusing financial jargon and help you succeed and get the financial freedom that we all dream about.



Received for review

This slim volume might be overlooked by those used to giant tomes on personal finance but it is just what you need to present the basics of budgeting, saving, and investing without any unnecessary complicated phrasing or examples.

The author does a very good job of presenting the information in a clear, concise manner that is easy to read and assimilate. She reiterates ideas that we have probably all heard but may not actually implement in a way that is calm and encouraging.

Overall, this is an excellent read whether you are new to budgeting and saving game or an old pro who needs a refresher course. Everyone who reads this should be able to take away at least a few pieces of valuable information that will help improve their financial lives. I certainly highly recommend it.

★★★★ = Really Liked It



*This post may contain affiliate links*